This is the "Home" page of the "Afro American Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Afro Am 133: Afro-American History, Civil War to 1954Afro Am 170/171: The Multicultural Experience in American Life and CultureAfro Am 188: Introduction to African American LiteratureAfro Am 290c/753: The BluesAfro Am 331: The Life and Writings of W.E.B. Du BoisAfro Am 365: Composition: Style and Organization (Junior Year Writing)Afro Am 491C: Cuba: A Social History Afro Am 605/History 797S: African Americans and the Movement to Abolish SlaveryAfro Am 652/234: Literature of the Harlem RenaissanceAfro Am 691C: Historiographical Methods in Afro-American StudiesAfro Am 692G: African American Women's NarrativeEnglish 891BB: African American Women Playwrights

Afro American Studies  Tags: afro_american african_american black_studies junior_year_writing  

A general guide to library research in Afro American Studies.
Last update: Jan 27th, 2010 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/afroam  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Librarian in New Africa House

Due to construction, I won't be doing office hours in New Africa House for a while.

 

Give us your feedback!

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
    Extremely
useful
 

Keep your research organized

 

RefWorks

Put all your references in RefWorks, create quick and easy bibliographies, build your knowledgebase.

 
 

Disaster in Haiti - A Research and Information Guide

In response to the earthquakes in Haiti, the UMass Amherst Libraries have compiled a list of resources for the campus community and the public. This list is available at http://guides.library.umass.edu/haiti. The web page includes links to local/international news coverage of this tragedy, local events and organizations that are providing assistance, as well as library resources for background information.

Article Databases

 

Students at computer

Try out these databases, comment on them and rate them too. (Click on the stars to give your rating.)

Check out the ones with 5-stars:

  • African American Biographical Database  
      
    Full-text books on African American lives and culture.
  • African American Newspapers: The 19th Century  
      
    Seven nineteenth-century African American newspapers in full text, including advertising, 1827-1902.
  • African American Song  
      
    Audio database which documents African American music, including jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, from the Document Records label. Browse by category of music, region, genre, instrument, artist, ensemble, and time period. A playli
  • America: History and Life  
      
    Citations and abstracts for journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews relating to United States and Canadian history. Citations can exported directly to RefWorks.
  • Black Studies Center  
      
    Combines several resources for research in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago Defender, and the Black Literature Index.
  • Black Thought and Culture  
      
    Contains hundreds of sources authors which includes the nonfiction published works of leading African Americans. Includes many writers of the Harlem Renaissance.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch  
      
    Full-text articles from the newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic communities in the United States. Citations can be exported directly to RefWorks.
  • More...  
      
 

Librarian

Profile ImageIsabel Espinal


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
University of Massachusetts
154 Hicks Way
Amherst, MA 01003

413-545-6817

iespinal@library.umass.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Afro American Studies, Native American Indian Studies, Information Literacy

About Me
I do Reference and Research Consultations: Spring 2010 - Mondays 10:30-12:30 & Wednesdays 4-6, Reference & Research Assistance Desk, Learning Commons, W.E.B. Du Bois Library. And by appointment.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait