Skip to main content
UMass Amherst Libraries

Afro American Studies

A general guide to library research in Afro American Studies.

Senior Honors Theses

Senior Honors Theses

are available in Special Collections and Archives, 25th floor. Arranged by year, by department or alphabetically by name. These cannot be checked out.

Spotlight on...

Dr. Stephanie Evans received her PhD from the UMass Amherst Department of Afro American Studies in 2003.

Her dissertation, Living legacies : Black women, educational philosophies, and community service, 1865-1965, is available for checkout and online.

How to Find Dissertations

Doctoral Theses in Afro American Studies

 

UMass Dissertations

To identify individual doctoral dissertations, use the Library Catalog author, title, subject or keyword search. To browse all Afro American Studies dissertations, use the general subject heading: Theses -- Afro American Studies -- Doctoral The Library keeps physical copies of UMass doctoral theses, and provides online access to recently completed dissertations:

  1. UMass Amherst Afro-American Studies Dissertations Collection in ScholarWorks. Online PDF.
  2. On the 20th floor. All call numbers start with LD3234.M267, followed by the year of the thesis. These can be checked out.
  3. In the Five College Depository. Library use only.
  4. Older dissertations also available in Microforms. Library use only.

Dissertations from other Universities

Use the database Dissertations and Theses, which now provides full text of recent doctoral and some masters theses, mostly completed in colleges and universities of the United States and Canada. (In instances when full text is not available, try requesting through Inter-Library Loan.)

Spotlight on...

Two books by graduates of the Afro American Studies department were selected as Choice Outstanding Academic Titles for 2008. Both books began as dissertations in the W.E.B. Du Bois Department of Afro-American Studies, University of Massachusetts, Amherst.

Recent Dissertations

Recent dissertations in Afro American Studies at UMass Amherst

Loading ...