Afro American Studies

Seven nineteenth-century African American newspapers in full text, including advertising, 1827-1902.

68,000 tracks of historical recordings of jazz, blues, gospel and other genres, 1890's-1970's.

Journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews, many in full text, relating to United States and Canadian history and prehistory, 1954-present.

Combines key indices (Schomburg, IIBP, etc) to scholarship and primary sources in Afro-American studies.

Collection of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the African American community from 1700s to 1975.

Full-text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic communities in the United States. In several languages, 1965-present.

One of the leading newspapers of the African American community in the U.S., with coverage from 1911-2010.

The HistoryMakers is a national 501 (c)(3) non-profit video oral history archive headquartered in Chicago, Illinois. The HistoryMakers is dedicated to preserving African American history as the missing link in American history. Focused on American history, oral history and education in general and more specifically on African American history, education, music, law, the arts, science, technology, media, medicine, entertainment, fashion & beauty, business, the military, politics and sports, The History Makers is a combination archive, library, museum, stock footage collection, on-line educator and educational PBS/TV programming. Its topics include but are not limited to African American organizations and associations, slavery, reconstruction, the labor movement, the civil rights movement and black authors."