Afro American Studies
- Theses & Dissertations
- Course Guides
- Afro Am 117: Survey of African American Literature I
- Afro Am 118: Survey of African American Literature II
- Afro Am 170/171: The Multicultural Experience in American Life and Culture
- AFRO AM 222 Black Church In America
- Afro Am 236: History of the Civil Rights Movement
- Afro Am 290c/753: The Blues
- Afro Am 293B: THE AFRICAN DIASPORA AND THE WAR ON DRUGS (Afro American Studies 293B
- Afro Am 297A: Black Springfield Matters
- Afro Am 326: Black Women in U.S. History
- Afro Am 331: The Life and Writings of W.E.B. Du Bois
- Afro Am 365: Composition: Style and Organization (Junior Year Writing)
- Afro Am 491C: Cuba: A Social History
- AFROAM 494DI: The W.E.B. Du Bois Senior Seminar
- Afro Am 605/History 797S: African Americans and the Movement to Abolish Slavery
- Afro Am 652/234: Literature of the Harlem Renaissance
- Afro Am 691C: Historiographical Methods in Afro-American Studies
- Afro Am 691C: Historiographical Methods in Afro-American Studies
- Afro Am 692G: African American Women's Narrative
- Afro Am 692U: Dynamics of Race and the Law
- Afro Am 701 & 702: Major Works in Afro American Studies
- English 891BB: African American Women Playwrights
- History 591FG: First Generation-Urbanism and Breaking Baseball's Color Barrier
- History 593K: African Americans in Antebellum New England
- History 594Z: Black Women’s Political Activism
- Black Women Suffragists
- Educ 218: Hip Hop Nation Language and Literacy Practices
- Journalism 395M: The African American Freedom Struggle and the Mass Media
- More resources...Toggle Dropdown
- How else are we going to do research when the library is closed?
Reference materials are a great way to start your research. Most of these sources are located in the Reference Department's collection on the Main floor of the Du Bois Library (one flight down from the entry level).
- Africana: the Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience Ref DT14 .A37435 1999
- Afro-American Writers from the Harlem Renaissance to 1940 Ref PN451 .D5 v. 51
- Black American Writers: Bibliographical Essays Ref PS153 .N5 B55
- Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History Ref E185 .E542 2001
- Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance Ref NX512.3.A35 E53 2004 Table of Contents is online.
- The Harlem Renaissance: an Annotated Reference Guide for Student Research Ref Z5956.A47 R64 1998
- W.E.B. Du Bois: An Encyclopedia Ref E185.97.D73 W164 2001
- Who's Who in African-American History Ref E185.96 .W46 1994
- See also Afro American Studies Reference Materials and English Reference Materials for even more reference sources.
- UMass Library Catalog Searches at the Five Collges Library Catalog or UMass Library Catalog (they are linked!). Use the broad categories below to browse for sub-topics or to limit (by date, words in subject or words in title) for more focussed results.
Use a Subject search to find books about W.E.B. Du Bois. For example:
- Du Bois, W. E. B. (William Edward Burghardt), 1868-1963
- Du Bois, W. E. B. (William Edward Burghardt), 1868-1963 - Criticism and interpretation
- Du Bois, W. E. B. (William Edward Burghardt), 1868-1963 - Philosophy
- Du Bois, W. E. B. (William Edward Burghardt), 1868-1963 - Political and social views
- Du Bois, W. E. B. (William Edward Burghardt), 1868-1963. Souls of Black Folk
Use an Author search to find books written by W.E.B. DuBois:
Other sample searches:
- Online Books:
- Digital Du Bois - Home for e-books and articles by Du Bois and links to other digital resources in SCUA and elsewhere.
- Net Library
- Black Thought and Culture - for more online books.
- WorldCat and Other Library Catalogs for searching other catalogs
- W.E.B. Du Bois: a Biography in Four Voices UM Media DVD 907
- The Black Scholar In the Library in print (E185.5 .B5), microfilm (Microfilm A 831) and online (1988 to present).
- Callaloo - A Journal of African American and African Arts and Letters (both in the Library and online)
- The Crisis 1910-1996 Per E185.5 .C92 (some missing issues; 1996-2003 changed name to The New Crisis; 2003-present changed back to The Crisis; recent years are online)
- The Griot Per E185.5 .G75
- Journal of Black Studies (both in the Library and online)
- Journal of Negro History (both in the Library and online.)
- Messenger Per E185.5 .M4
- Opportunity; Journal of Negro Life Per E185.5 .O6
- See also Journals and Periodicals for Afro American Studies webpage
Databases (journal indexing and online journals for searching)
Tips for Databases:
- Academic Search Premier - (includes full-text journal articles) Good for scholarly journal articles.
- African American Biographical Database
- America: History and Life
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index (in ISI Web of Science)
- Black Studies Center - combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago Defender, and the Black Literature Index. IIBP provided indexing and abstracting of 150 African, American and Caribbean periodicals, with full text of forty core journals. The Chicago Defender was at one point the most widely-read black newspaper in the country, with more than two thirds of its readership based outside Chicago.
- Black Thought and Culture - a single source for the published works of numerous historically important black leaders. Along with well-known works, the collection features approximately 5,000 pages of unique, fugitive, and never-before-published materials. Contains 619 sources with 246 authors. Includes hundreds of writings by W.E.B. Du Bois.
- Biography Resource Center
- MLA International Bibliography - for literature research.
- Sociological Abstracts
- Du Bois Central - Links to resources in the Department of Special Collections and University Archives at UMass Amherst relating to W.E.B. Du Bois, his life, and legacy as well as on the Internet.
- The W. E. B. Du Bois Global Resource Collection - Being developed as a comprehensive and expanding collection of materials and information by and about scholar, teacher, and activist W. E. B. Du Bois.
- See also Afro American Studies Internet Links pages.
Click here for Reserve Books and Paper Copies of Articles and eReserve articles for Afro American Studies 331 (when available).
Please take a few minutes to fill out this anonymous evaluation form. You can help improve the quality of instruction by letting us know what you liked, what might be improved and what you would like to see in the future.
Prepared for Afro American Studies 331, Spring 2007 Professor Bill Strickland.
Library guide by Isabel Espinal, Afro American Studies Librarian
- Last Updated: Apr 18, 2023 4:59 PM
- URL: https://guides.library.umass.edu/afroam
- Print Page