Afro American Studies
Your Research Guide to Black Springfield Matters
This is your library research guide to AFROAM 297A (#10570)
Black Springfield Matters
An Introduction to New Afrikan Urban Studies
A course taught by Amilcar Shabazz
Thomas Thomas (left) stands in the doorway of his restaurant on Worthington Street with Mrs. Mary Ann Jones Jenkins and Edgar Lee.
From the Springfield Picture Collection of the Museum of Springfield History, Springfield, MA More at Our Plural History
Library Guide by Isabel Espinal
Research Tools for Viewing Social Issues via Geography
Policy Map is map-creation tool for visualizing many categories of data: income, housing, quality of life, federal guidelines, and more. Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Check out this tutorial on creating 3 layer maps:
Similar to PolicyMap, "ArcGIS is a geographic information system (GIS) for working with maps and geographic information. It is used for: creating and using maps; compiling geographic data; analyzing mapped information; sharing and discovering geographic information; using maps and geographic information in a range of applications; and managing geographic information in a database.The system provides an infrastructure for making maps and geographic information available throughout an organization, across a community, and openly on the Web." (Wikipedia) The basic featuers of ArcGIS do not require a UMass account.
Databases for articles, reports and more
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews, many in full text, relating to United States and Canadian history and prehistory, 1954-present. - Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles on architecture, planning, landscape architecture, interior design, and historic preservation, from journals published worldwide. Date coverage varies by title; some 1912-present. - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, and conference papers on sociology and related disciplines, 1960-present. - Massachusetts NewsBank This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Massachusetts Daily Newspapers: Amherst Bulletin, Daily Hampshire Gazette, Springfield Republican, Greenfield Recorder, Valley Advocate, and five more Massachusetts city newspapers. 1990's to present.
- Springfield Republican and Springfield Union: Online IndexIndex only; the newspaper itself is available in microfilm (A36). Coverage: 1844-1989. See Massachusetts Newsbank, above, for full text articles 1988-present.
CENSUS data
Citation Management
Use a citation manager, such as RefWorks to keep track of your research.
Put all your references in RefWorks, create quick and easy bibliographies, build your knowledgebase.
For help on RefWorks, check out the online guides and webinars or Ask a Librarian.
If you're looking for another citation management option to RefWorks, try Zotero.
More Databases
FOR MORE HISTORICAL DATABASES - GET A FREE eCARD FROM THE BOSTON PUBLIC LIBRARY
The
Boston Public Library (BPL) and the Massachusetts Board of Library
Commissioners (MBLC) offer all Massachusetts residents remote access to
proprietary databases. This includes historical newspapers, government information, and geneaology sources.
Connect to databases for Massachusetts residents at http://www.bpl.org/electronic/.
Subject Guide
University of Massachusetts
Office hours Wednesdays 3-4:30, room 325, New Africa house. Also available by appointment. I can meet via phone, Zoom, or other online venue. To request an online appointment or get any other help, please email iespinal@library.umass.edu or call:
