Afro American Studies
A general guide to library research in Afro American Studies.
Library Guide for Afro American Studies 222:
The Black Church in America
Taught by Professor Amilcar Shabazz, Fall 2016
Library Guide by Isabel Espinal
*Special focus: Sustainability and the Black Church
Vashti Murphy McKenzie is the first female elected as bishop in the history of the African Methodist Episcopal Church.
Featured Books
Go Tell It on the Mountain by Call Number: PS3552.A45 G62 2016ISBN: 9781101907610Publication Date: 2016Library has 1985 and other editions. If our copy is checked out, request through Inter-Library Loan via link above. Give it a few days to arrive.
Jesus, Jobs, and Justice: African American Women and Religion by Call Number: BR563.N4 C644 2010 And online (Only one reader at a time)ISBN: 9781400044207Publication Date: 2010-02-02
The Black Church in the Post-Civil Rights Era by Call Number: BR563.N4 P49 2002ISBN: 1570754233Publication Date: 2002
The Elusive Dream: The Power of Race in Interracial Churches by Call Number: BR563.N4 E39 2008Publication Date: 2008
Spotlight on Music Online: American Song
Music Online: African American Music Reference is a music history database that lets people hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes Gospel Music as well as other African American music.
Album examples:
When I Reach That Heavenly Shore: Unearthly Black Gospel, 1926 - 1936
Check out Track 7. Hiding Behind the Stuff from Vol. 1
Sister Rosetta Tharpe Vol. 1 (1938-1941)
Preachers And Congregations (Many volumes)
Rev. Kelsey And His Congregation (1947-1951)
- African American Music Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Brings together text reference, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. The database is constantly expanding to include comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
Databases for Scholarly Research on the Black Church
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews, many in full text, relating to United States and Canadian history and prehistory, 1954-present. - Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Arts and humanities journal literature from 1975 to present. Searches by author, topic, cited reference and more. - ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers journal articles, essays and book reviews that make up the research literature of all major religious faiths and denominations, 1949-present. - Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combines key indices (Schomburg, IIBP, etc) to scholarship and primary sources in Afro-American studies. - Contemporary Black Biography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biographies of thousands of African Americans. - Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Communication scholarly journals and trade journals, plus articles on communication topics from related disciplines, 1915-present. - Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search by topic and/or geography: agriculture, food, energy, pollution, economic development, social factors and in journals, magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias as well as primary sources. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines.Search by cited reference, topic, author, and more. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1900-present; and Science 1900-present.
Websites to check : Black Church and Sustainability
- National Black Church Initiative Environmental Initiative"The National Black Church Initiative (NBCI), a faith-based coalition of 34, 000 churches comprised of 15 denominations and 15.7 million African Americans dedicated to the eradication of racial disparities around the world is urging all religious communities to join together in the promotion of peace. Our Black leadership partners - 66,000 churches nationwide – are called upon to use the full force of our combined 100,000 churches to draw attention to the problem of global warming, the concept of which the Black church has accepted for over 20 years."
- Green the Church"Black Churches Are Going Green. Green The Church engages congregations in the fight against climate change, and helps churches serve as centers of resilience that ensure their communities survive—and thrive—in the face of disasters."
Citation Management
Use a citation manager such as Zotero to keep track of your research.
Put all your references in one place, create quick and easy bibliographies, build your knowledgebase for the rest of your career. For help, check out the online guides and webinars or Ask a Librarian.
