Afro American Studies
Your Research Guide to Black Springfield Matters
Thomas Thomas (left) stands in the doorway of his restaurant on Worthington Street with Mrs. Mary Ann Jones Jenkins and Edgar Lee.
From the Springfield Picture Collection of the Museum of Springfield History, Springfield, MA More at Our Plural History
Library Guide by Isabel Espinal
Research Tools for Viewing Social Issues via Geography
Policy Map is map-creation tool for visualizing many categories of data: income, housing, quality of life, federal guidelines, and more. Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Check out this tutorial on creating 3 layer maps:
Similar to PolicyMap, "ArcGIS is a geographic information system (GIS) for working with maps and geographic information. It is used for: creating and using maps; compiling geographic data; analyzing mapped information; sharing and discovering geographic information; using maps and geographic information in a range of applications; and managing geographic information in a database.The system provides an infrastructure for making maps and geographic information available throughout an organization, across a community, and openly on the Web." (Wikipedia) The basic featuers of ArcGIS do not require a UMass account.
Databases for articles, reports and more
Use a citation manager, such as RefWorks to keep track of your research.
Put all your references in RefWorks, create quick and easy bibliographies, build your knowledgebase.
For help on RefWorks, check out the online guides and webinars or Ask a Librarian.
If you're looking for another citation management option to RefWorks, try Zotero.
FOR MORE HISTORICAL DATABASES - GET A FREE eCARD FROM THE BOSTON PUBLIC LIBRARY
Boston Public Library (BPL) and the Massachusetts Board of Library
Commissioners (MBLC) offer all Massachusetts residents remote access to
proprietary databases. This includes historical newspapers, government information, and geneaology sources.
Connect to databases for Massachusetts residents at http://www.bpl.org/electronic/.
University of Massachusetts
Available by appointment. I can meet via phone, Zoom, or other online venue. To request an online appointment or get any other help, please email email@example.com or call:
- Last Updated: Feb 9, 2024 5:43 PM
- URL: https://guides.library.umass.edu/afroam
- Print Page
LibGuides are created independently by library staff and are neither reviewed nor endorsed by library administration or the university. UMass Amherst is one of 5,800 institutions using LibGuides, and the LibGuides at UMass Amherst are among more than 900,000 LibGuides worldwide.