Afro American Studies
A general guide to library research in Afro American Studies.
Librarian
Isabel Espinal
Contact:
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
University of Massachusetts
Office hours Wednesdays 3-4:30, room 325, New Africa house. Also available by appointment. I can meet via phone, Zoom, or other online venue. To request an online appointment or get any other help, please email iespinal@library.umass.edu or call:
University of Massachusetts
Office hours Wednesdays 3-4:30, room 325, New Africa house. Also available by appointment. I can meet via phone, Zoom, or other online venue. To request an online appointment or get any other help, please email iespinal@library.umass.edu or call:
413-545-6971
Website
Edit-a-thon 2017
 |
Improve Wikipedia's Coverage of Underrepresented Groups Topic: Black Women Suffragists |
Getting Started with Wikipedia
This set of modules helps students get started with Wikipedia.
Black Women Suffragists in USA History
Image: Ida B. Wells
Here is a list of black women suffragists by Alexander Street Press
Where to search
Be sure to search in:
- African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Seven nineteenth-century African American newspapers in full text, including advertising, 1827-1902. - America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews, many in full text, relating to United States and Canadian history and prehistory, 1954-present. - Ancestry Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Premier genealogical resource. Census forms/schedules and many other historical tools. Birth, marriage, and death records; early passport applications; passenger lists; military and immigration records; city/school directories; Sears catalogs; and more. - Black Abolitionist Papers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Papers and articles of 300 US and European anti-slavery activists of color, 1830-1865.
- Colored Conventions ProjectFrom 1830 until well after the Civil War, free and fugitive Blacks came together in state and national political "Colored Conventions." This project seeks to not only learn about the lives of these male delegates, the places where they met and the social networks that they created but to also account for the crucial work done by Black women in the broader social networks that made these conventions possible.
- Five Colleges Library CatalogLooks for biographies of the women themselves or biographies of famous people they were associated with. Or books about movements or organizations they were involved with.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary and secondary sources on women's involvement in historical events in the United States. Includes books, pamphlets, papers, and articles.
Where else you can search
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combines key indices (Schomburg, IIBP, etc) to scholarship and primary sources in Afro-American studies.
You can also try:
- Books on Black SuffrageSome of these are online and some are in paper. Some are UMass books and others are in libraries all over the world.
- American National Biography OnlineTwo- to three-page biographies of 17,500 Americans from earliest history to current day, with occupation and birthplace searching and some pictures, 1600-present.
- Historical Newspaper: New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of The New York Times, with coverage from 1851 to three years ago.
- ArchiveGridFrom the creators of WorldCat, ArchiveGrid is a collection of over two million archival material descriptions. It provides access to detailed collection descriptions and contact information for the institutions where the collections are kept.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The international scholarly literature of political science, including articles, books, chapters, and reports, 1975-present.
- WorldCatBooks, videos and more from libraries all over the world. If items are not in the Five Colleges, you may request via Inter-Library Loan.
