Afro Am 117: Survey of African American Literature IAfro Am 118: Survey of African American Literature IIAfro Am 133: Afro-American History, Civil War to 1954Afro Am 170/171: The Multicultural Experience in American Life and CultureAfro Am 188: Introduction to African American LiteratureAfro Am 236: History of the Civil Rights MovementAfro Am 290c/753: The BluesAfro Am 331: The Life and Writings of W.E.B. Du BoisAfro Am 365: Composition: Style and Organization (Junior Year Writing)Afro Am 391A: The Political Thought of Malcolm X and Martin Luther King, Jr.Afro Am 491C: Cuba: A Social HistoryAfro Am 605/History 797S: African Americans and the Movement to Abolish SlaveryAfro Am 652/234: Literature of the Harlem RenaissanceAfro Am 691C: Historiographical Methods in Afro-American StudiesAfro Am 692G: African American Women's NarrativeAfro Am 701 & 702: Major Works in Afro American StudiesEnglish 891BB: African American Women PlaywrightsHistory 494T: Rethinking the Civil Rights MovementHistory 591FG: First Generation-Urbanism and Breaking Baseball's Color BarrierHistory 593K: African Americans in Antebellum New EnglandHistory 594Z: Black Women’s Political ActivismJournalism 395M: The African American Freedom Struggle and the Mass MediaAFROAM 494DI: The W.E.B. Du Bois Senior Seminar
Librarian for Afro American StudiesDatabase Searching / Research LogReference sources
This is the "Home" page of the "Afro American Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Afro American Studies   Tags: african_american, afro_american, black_studies, junior_year_writing  

A general guide to library research in Afro American Studies.
Last Updated: Nov 18, 2015 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page

New online encyclopedias

Thanks to Professor Kym Morrison's suggestion, the library has purchased 2 new online encyclopedias.

Try them out! Let me know if you  have connection or access problems to the content.

New Books!

Titles recently acquired in the Five College Libraries, on African American history.


Keep your research organized



Put all your references in RefWorks, create quick and easy bibliographies, build your knowledgebase.



Students at computer

Try out these databases, comment on them and rate them too. (Click on the stars to give your rating.)

Check out the ones with 5-stars:

  • African American Biographical Database
    Full-text books on African American lives and culture.
  • African American Newspapers: The 19th Century  
    Seven nineteenth-century African American newspapers in full text, including advertising, 1827-1902.
  • African American Song
    Audio database which documents African American music, including jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, from the Document Records label. Browse by category of music, region, genre, instrument, artist, ensemble, and time period. A playli
  • America: History and Life
    Citations and abstracts for journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews relating to United States and Canadian history. Citations can exported directly to RefWorks.
  • Black Studies Center  
    Combines several resources for research in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago Defender, and the Black Literature Index.
  • Black Thought and Culture
    Contains hundreds of sources authors which includes the nonfiction published works of leading African Americans. Includes many writers of the Harlem Renaissance.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Full-text articles from the newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic communities in the United States. Citations can be exported directly to RefWorks.
  • Historical Pittsburgh Courier
    The leading newspaper of the African American community in twentieth-century U.S. Covers 1911-2002.
  • More...

Disaster & Building in Haiti - A Research and Information Guide


In response to the earthquakes in Haiti, the UMass Amherst Libraries compiled a list of resources for the campus community and the public. This list is available at The web page includes links to local/international news coverage of this tragedy, local events and organizations that are providing assistance, as well as library resources for background information.


Profile Image
Isabel Espinal
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
University of Massachusetts
154 Hicks Way
Amherst, MA 01003

Send Email
About Me:
Reference & Research Assistance Desk hours, Summer 2015: Wednesdays 12-2. During academic year in New Africa House: Tuesdays 1-2:30, room 323. Also available by appointment.

Librarian in New Africa House

I have office hours in New Africa House every Wednesday, 1-2:30 pm, room 323. Fall 2015.


Give us your feedback!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:

Your Email:

© 2015 University of Massachusetts Amherst.

Loading  Loading...