New Books!
Titles recently acquired in the Five College Libraries, on African American history.

Librarian in New Africa House

When I get back from sabbatical, in Spring 2012, I hope to do office hours in New Africa House again.
Keep your research organized
Put all your references in RefWorks, create quick and easy bibliographies, build your knowledgebase.
Give us your feedback!
Guides for Specific Courses
![]()
Afro Am 365: Composition: Style and Organization (Junior Year Writing)
Afro Am 605/History 797S: African Americans and the Movement to Abolish Slavery
Afro Am 652/234: Literature of the Harlem Renaissance
Afro Am 691C: Historiographical Methods in Afro-American Studies
History 494T: Rethinking the Civil Rights Movement
History 593K: African Americans in Antebellum New England (Junior Year writing)
History 594Z: Black Women’s Political Activism (Junior Year Writing)
Databases

Try out these databases, comment on them and rate them too. (Click on the stars
to give your rating.)
Check out the ones with 5-stars:
- African American Biographical Database
Full-text books on African American lives and culture. - African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
Seven nineteenth-century African American newspapers in full text, including advertising, 1827-1902. - African American Song
Audio database which documents African American music, including jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, from the Document Records label. Browse by category of music, region, genre, instrument, artist, ensemble, and time period. A playli - America: History and Life
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews relating to United States and Canadian history. Citations can exported directly to RefWorks. - Black Studies Center
Combines several resources for research in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago Defender, and the Black Literature Index. - Black Thought and Culture
Contains hundreds of sources authors which includes the nonfiction published works of leading African Americans. Includes many writers of the Harlem Renaissance. - Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text articles from the newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic communities in the United States. Citations can be exported directly to RefWorks. - Historical Pittsburgh Courier
The leading newspaper of the African American community in twentieth-century U.S. Covers 1911-2002. - More...

Disaster & Building in Haiti - A Research and Information Guide
HAITI
In response to the earthquakes in Haiti, the UMass Amherst Libraries have compiled a list of resources for the campus community and the public. This list is available at http://guides.library.umass.edu/haiti. The web page includes links to local/international news coverage of this tragedy, local events and organizations that are providing assistance, as well as library resources for background information.
Librarian |
Contact Info W.E.B. Du Bois Library University of Massachusetts 154 Hicks Way Amherst, MA 01003 413-545-6817 iespinal@library.umass.edu Send Email About Me: Reference & Research Assistance Desk hours, Spring 2012: Mondays 12:30-2 & Fridays 11-1. Also available by appointment. |
Find Us on Facebook
Do you "like" the Libraries?
Do you want to stay updated with the ever-changing information resources and research strategies from the UMass Amherst Libraries?
Click here, then click
and easilly incorporate the Libraries into your Facebook routine!








Loading...
