Veterinary Technology
Selected resources available through UMass and 5 Colleges for Students in the Mount Ida Vet Tech Program or other Animal and Biological Sciences programs at UMass Amherst. Resources include topical selections, general information, and career materials.
eBooks
Animal Care and Management at the National Zoo by
This report follows up on an interim report released in February 2004 that focused on immediate needs in the areas of animal care and management, recordkeeping, and pest control. The report finds that the zoo has made good-faith efforts to correct deficiencies noted in the interim report and has made some noticeable improvements in the past year in zoo operations and animal care. However, problems in areas such as staff training, workplace culture, and strategic planning still need to be addressed. Specifically, the report recommends that the zoo immediately develop and implement animal-care training programs to ensure that people who are directly responsible for the well-being of its animal collection are adequately prepared and competent. The report commends a zoo-initiated strategic planning process as a positive step, but recommends it contain a more detailed, comprehensive strategy of how it will meet short-term goals and that it should link plans to upgrade facilities with those to acquire animals. The zoo should also focus on improving communication among keepers, veterinarians, nutritionists, senior managers, and curators.
ISBN: 9780309095839Publication Date: 2005-11-27
Infectious Diseases of Wild Mammals and Birds in Europe by
Infectious Diseases of Wild Mammals and Birds in Europe is a key resource on the diagnosis and treatment of infectious diseases in European wildlife that covers the distinctive nature of diseases as they occur in Europe, including strains, insect vectors, reservoir species, and climate, as well as geographical distribution of the diseases and European regulations for reporting, diagnosis and control. Divided into sections on viral infections, bacterial infections, fungal and yeast infections, and prion infections, this definitive reference provides valuable information on disease classification and properties, causative agents, epidemiology, pathogenesis, and implications for human, domestic and wild animal health. KEY FEATURES: Brings together extensive research from many different disciplines into one integrated and highly useful definitive reference. Zoonotic risks to human health, as well as risks to pets and livestock are highlighted. Each disease is covered separately with practical information on the animal species in which the disease has been recorded, clinical signs of the disease, diagnostic methods, and recommended treatments and vaccination. Wildlife vaccination and disease surveillance techniques are described. Examines factors important in the spread of disease such as changing climate, the movement of animals through trade, and relaxations in the control of wild animal populations. Written by a team of pathologists, epidemiologists and clinicians from across Europe, this is the definitive resource for infectious diseases of wild mammals and birds in Europe. It will be an invaluable reference for veterinarians, conservation biologists, epidemiologists, and wildlife researchers, managers, rehabilitators and students.
ISBN: 9781118342428Publication Date: 2012-07-05
Life at the Zoo by
Seasoned veterinarian Phillip T. Robinson shares his remarkable stories of working at the world-famous San Diego Zoo. In vivid detail he describes encounters with foulmouthed parrots, gum-chewing chimps, and stinky flamingoes, and the sometimes dangerous consequences of both human and animal interactions. He relates insider stories such as escaping the affections of a leopard who wanted to be a lap cat, training a gorilla to hold her newborn baby gently (instead of scrubbing the floor with it), operating on a semi-anesthetized elephant, and figuring out how to feed koalas in captivity, as well as why the zoo's polar bears were turning green. Robinson's wildly entertaining tales illuminate the hazards and rewards of a world in which the "natural" and "unnatural" can collide, insightfully tracing the evolution of zoos from banal menageries to important conservation institutions.
ISBN: 9780231507196Publication Date: 2004-09-08
Infectious Diseases of Wild Mammals by
Infectious Diseases of Wild Mammals, Third Edition presents the latest information on the diagnosis and treatment of infectious disease in both free-ranging and captive wild mammals. Editors Elizabeth Williams and Ian Barker have recruited 71 contributors, all noted experts in their fields, to update this new edition. This reference provides valuable information on each disease, including Etiology History Distribution Epidemiology Clinical signs Pathology Immunity Diagnosis Treatment Control This latest edition is a leading reference book for Wildlife biologists, managers, and rehabilitators Biology students Conservationists Public health workers
ISBN: 9780470344811Publication Date: 2008-02-28
Print resources available through UMass Amherst
Exotic Animal Formulary by
The 2nd Edition of this very popular pocket guide provides quick, convenient access to essential pharmacology information. Fully updated, it presents the latest medications and dosages for fish, reptiles, birds, rodents, amphibians, primates, and other exotic species. What's more, appendices offer biologic and physiologic norms, antibiotic classifications and indications, and conversion tables.
Call Number: SF917 .C27 2001ISBN: 9780721683126Publication Date: 2000-10-27
Exotic Animal Medicine for the Veterinary Technician by
Exotic Animal Medicine for the Veterinary Technician, Second Edition is a comprehensive yet clear introduction to exotic animal practice for technicians in the classroom and clinic setting alike. With an emphasis on the exotic species most likely to present to a veterinary practice, the book offers easy-to-follow descriptions of common procedures and techniques. Covering information ranging from anatomy, restraint, and common diseases to radiology, surgical assisting, and parasitology, Exotic Animal Medicine for the Veterinary Technician provides technicians with all the information necessary to confidently and competently treat exotic patients. This book's companion Web site includes review questions and figures for download in PowerPoint at www.wiley.com/go/ballard.
Call Number: SF997.5.E95 C44 2010ISBN: 9780813822068Publication Date: 2010-05-04
Laboratory Medicine: Avian and Exotic Pets by
Here's the first reference devoted exclusively to laboratory testing for avian and exotic animals. 31 leading experts thoroughly describe how to select, perform, and interpret diagnostic tests for pet birds, common reptiles, rabbits, and ferrets. They also discuss pathophysiology, where appropriate, to help readers understand what various test results mean.
Call Number: SF994 .L33 2000ISBN: 9780721676791Publication Date: 1999-10-08
Reptiles, Amphibians and Invertebrates: an identification and care guide by
Hobbyists will appreciate this pictorial identification guide and basic husbandry manual covering more than 250 species, subspecies, and color morphs of reptiles, amphibians, and invertebrates. All animals shown in this volume can be purchased at pet stores and other outlets. The authors advise on the do's and don'ts of purchasing, proper caging, and correct feeding. Each animal profile includes the species' place of origin, its size from hatchling to adult, lifespan, and general behavior traits. A wide array of animals are covered--snakes, lizards, skinks, geckos, turtles and tortoises, frogs, toads, salamanders, tarantulas, scorpions, mantids, crabs--and even cockroaches. 269 color illustrations.
Call Number: SF459.R4 B37 2001ISBN: 9780764116506Publication Date: 2001-05-01
Parasites in Marine Systems by
The sea is host to most of the Earth's biodiversity. However, in the case of parasites and their hosts, little is known of the interactions among the organisms. This important volume covers many aspects of these interactions, including the co-evolution and biogeography of different marine systems, and their applied impact on commercially important host species. Topics discussed include species interactions in such well-studied systems as larval trematodes in gastropods and ectoparasites on fish. The effects of parasites in ecosystems extend to commercial, economic concerns, particularly in aquaculture. The volume presents an easy-to-read account of recent advances in this important topic.
ISBN: 9780521534123Publication Date: 2004-05-06
