Veterinary Technology
Selected resources available through UMass and 5 Colleges for Students in the Mount Ida Vet Tech Program or other Animal and Biological Sciences programs at UMass Amherst. Resources include topical selections, general information, and career materials.
Websites
- Biosafety in Microbiological and Biomedical Laboratories (BMBL) 6th Edition Biosafety in Microbiological and Biomedical Laboratories (BMBL) has served as the cornerstone of biosafety practice in the United States since its initial release in 1984.
- The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)Providing National and World Leadership to Prevent Workplace Illnesses and Injuries
eBooks
The Behavior of the Laboratory Rat by
This book contains a wide range of information of huge complexity on rat behavior. The book has three objectives. The first objective is to present an introduction of rat behavior. In choosing the rat as the subject species, the book has made the assumption that this species will remain, as it has in the past, the primary subject used the laboratory investigations of behavior. The second objective is to describe the organization and complexity of rat behavior. The major theme emerging from many lines of research on rat behavior is that understanding the rules of behavioral organization will be central in understanding the structural basis of behavior. The third objective is to update, as much as is possible, previous compendiums of rat behavior.
Publication Date: 2005
Guide for the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals by
The Guide incorporates new scientific information on common laboratory animals, including aquatic species, and includes extensive references.. The Guide sets the framework for the humane care and use of laboratory animals.
ISBN: 9780309154017Publication Date: 2010-12-27
Guidelines for the Humane Transportation of Research Animals by
Arranging the transportation of animals at research facilities is often an ordeal. There is a confusing patchwork of local, national, and international regulations; a perceived lack of high-quality shipping services; a dearth of science-based good practices; and a lack of biosafety standards. It’s a challenge —and an impediment to biomedical research. Guidelines for the Humane Transportation of Research Animals identifies the current problems encountered in the transportation of research animals and offers recommendations aimed at local and federal officials to rectify these problems. This book also includes a set of good practices based on the extensive body of literature on transportation of agricultural animals, universal concepts of physiology, and a scientific understanding of species-specific needs and differences.
Call Number: SF406.7 .G85 2006ISBN: 0309101107Publication Date: 2006Handbook of Laboratory Animal Science by While replacing and reducing the use of laboratory animals are integral parts of the 3Rs--replace, reduce, refine--which form the cornerstones of laboratory animal science, biomedical research involving animals remains absolutely essential for the advancement of the medical, veterinary, agricultural, and biological sciences. Building upon the bestselling previous edition, the Handbook of Laboratory Animal Science, Volume III, Third Edition: Animal Models complements volumes I and II of the third edition by completing the task of providing a comprehensive overview of animal models in all biomedical disciplines. The three Rs have been integrated throughout this handbook to promote efficient and humane experimental work with animals. Written by international experts, each chapter focuses on an important subdiscipline of laboratory animal science and can be used as a stand-alone text. This volume contains new chapters for six additional disease animal models: spinal cord injury, cardiovascular diseases, sudden infant death syndrome, developmental disorders, eye diseases, and human cancer. It also presents a new chapter on applying reduction and refinement to animal models. This handbook can be used for undergraduate and postgraduate laboratory animal science courses, and as a handbook for scientists who work with animals in their research, for university veterinarians, for regulators, and for other specialists in laboratory animal science.
ISBN: 9781466555136Publication Date: 2013-12-26
The IACUC Handbook by
Ever since its establishment by USDA regulation in the mid-1980s, the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC) has evolved as the premier instrument of animal welfare oversight within research institutions in the United States. As biomedical research continuously grows, the role and impact of the IACUC has increased in scope and complexi
ISBN: 9781498703710Publication Date: 2014-05-20
Laboratory Animal Anaesthesia by
Laboratory Animal Anaesthesia, Fourth Edition provides a basic guide to anaesthesia for a very diverse audience needing content, with straight-forward, structured style of writing. Updated with effects of anaesthetics in different laboratory species, including sources of dose rates will be incorporated into tabular material. New information on pain assessment and pain management will be covered, and an increased emphasis on rats and mice for anaesthesia and perioperative care. With newly revised, full color illustrations to facilitate best learning, Laboratory animal Anesthesia, Fourth Edition provides procedures, key points and invaluable advice from a well-known and respected veterinary anesthetist and scientist with over 30 years of experience in the field.
ISBN: 0128000368Publication Date: 2015-10-05
Laboratory Animal Medicine by
Offers thorough coverage of the biology, health, and care of laboratory animals. The book is organized by species, with new inclusions of chinchillas, birds, and program and employee management, and is written and edited by known experts in the fields. Users will find gold-standard guidance on the study of laboratory animal science, as well as valuable information that applies across all of the biological and biomedical sciences that work with animals.
ISBN: 9780124095274Publication Date: 2015-09-02
Recognition and Alleviation of Pain in Laboratory Animals by
FILE "M" FOR MURDER. . . . Champion of the mystery section at a small-town Minnesota library, Karen Nash is about to embark on a dream trip to London-a literary tour inspired by every murderous intrigue, wily suspect, and ingenious crime found in the pages of the British mysteries that she devours. But she's clueless why the love of her mid-life, Dave, would dump her hours before takeoff-until she spies him at the airport with a young honey on his arm! She decides the best revenge (for now) is to get on that plane anyway . . . and entertain schemes for Dave's untimely demise while crossing the pond. After touching ground in the hallowed homeland of Christie, Sayers, and Peters, she checks into a cozy B & B run by charming bibliophile Caldwell Perkins. Soon she's spilling tears in her pint at the corner pub, sharing her heartbreak saga with a stranger. That night, a B & B guest drops out of circulation-permanently. And when Dave and his cutie turn up in London, Karen realizes they are an assassin's target. With the meticulous attention to detail that makes her a killer librarian, Karen sleuths her way through her own real-life mystery-in which library science meets the art of murder.
ISBN: 9780309128353Publication Date: 2009-12-14
What Animals Want: expertise and advocacy in laboratory animal welfare policy by
Larry Carbone, a veterinarian who is in charge of the lab animal welfare assurance program at a major research university, presents this scholarly history of animal rights. Biomedical researchers, and the less fanatical among the animal rights activists will find this book reasonable, humane,and novel in its perspective. It brings a novel, sociological perspective to an area that has been addressed largely from a philosophical perspective, or from the entrenched positions of highly committed advocates of a particular position in the debate.
ISBN: 9780195161960Publication Date: 2004-04-01
Flynn's Parasites of Laboratory Animals by
Prepared under the auspices of the American College of Laboratory Animal Medicine, this second edition has been thoroughly updated and revised to improve utility and readability. The book is now organized by vertebrate host species, with parasites presented phylogenetically within chapters. Additional highlights of this edition include introductory chapters on modern diagnostic techniques and parasite biology, and a new appendix features a complete drug formulary. The well-presented and extensively illustrated volume addresses all aspects of laboratory animal parasites. Regarded as the most comprehensive and authoritative work available on the topic, this book is an essential reference for veterinary parasitologists, clinicians, students and laboratory animal scientists.
ISBN: 9780470344170Publication Date: 2008-02-28
Print Resources Available Through UMass Amherst
Anesthesia and Analgesia in Laboratory Animals by
Anesthesia and Analgesia in Laboratory Animals focuses on the special anesthetic, analgesic, and postoperative care requirements associated with experimental surgery. Fully revised and updated this new edition provides the reader with agents, methods, and techniques for anesthesia and analgesia that ensure humane and successful procedural outcomes.
Call Number: SF996.5 .A54 2008ISBN: 9780123738981Publication Date: 2008-07-21
CRC Handbook of Laboratory Safety by
Expanded and updated, The CRC Handbook of Laboratory Safety, Fifth Edition provides information on planning and building a facility, developing an organization infrastructure, planning for emergencies and contingencies, choosing the correct equipment, developing operational plans, and meeting regulatory requirements. Still the essential reference tool, the New Edition helps you organize your safety efforts to adhere to the latest regulations and use the newest technology. Thoroughly revised, the CRC Handbook of Laboratory Safety, Fifth Edition includes new OSHA laboratory safety standards, the 1994 NRC radiation safety standards, guidelines for X-ray use in hospitals, enforcement of standards for dealing with blood-borne pathogens, OSHA actions covering hazardous waste operations and emergency response, and the latest CDC guidelines for research with microbial hazards. Every word on every page has been scrutinized, and literally hundreds of changes have been made to bring the material up to date. See what's new in the New Edition New figures and tables illustrating the new material Internet references in addition to journal articles Changes in the Clean Air Act regarding incineration of hospital, medical, and infectious waste Obsolete articles removed and replaced - over one hundred pages of new material New information on respiratory protection guidelines
Call Number: QD51 .C73 2000ISBN: 9780849325236Publication Date: 2000-04-12
Laboratory Animal Medicine by
This combination text and lab manual provides clinically relevant coverage of laboratory animal medicine and procedures. It covers a variety of species, including rats, mice, guinea pigs, hamsters, rabbits, gerbils, ferrets, nonhuman primates, and in a separate chapter, nontraditional lab animals, such as swine, chinchillas, armadillos, reptiles, amphibians, bats, farm animals, and dogs and cats. Coverage of each species is presented in a consistent format that includes taxonomy, anatomy and physiology, uses in biomedical research, reproduction, behavior, husbandry, restraint and handling, identification methods, injection techniques, medication administration and anesthesia, blood collection, common diseases, and euthanasia. Other key topics include the laboratory setting, regulatory guidelines, and ethical considerations. The lab manual portion of the book features a variety of exercises and observation sheets. Comprehensive coverage of a variety of topics such as animal species, the laboratory setting, regulatory guidelines, and ethical considerations prepares readers for a career in laboratory animal medicine Familiarizes readers with the handling, behavior, nutrition, and lab and treatment procedures for a large variety of common and nontraditional laboratory animals The consistent organization of each species chapter makes it easy for readers to quickly identify similarities and differences among various laboratory animals Laboratory exercises are included in a perforated section at the end of the book, allowing users to apply their knowledge and develop job skills Features a wealth of user-friendly features such as a two-color design, learning objectives, key points, and review questions Provides detailed information on specific legal and ethical requirements of lab animal care and use, including the ethics of pain management Convenient boxes and tables provide quick access to important anatomic and physiologic data for each species Discusses specific uses of each species in biomedical research, providing readers with a perspective on animal use that allows them to explain the benefits of animal use as required by veterinary technology program accreditation procedures
Call Number: SF996.5 .S57 2005ISBN: 9780323019446Publication Date: 2004-11-23
The Laboratory Fish by
This reference series provides researchers of all kinds with comprehensive practical information on different species of laboratory animals, for daily laboratory use. Each title in the series in devoted to a different species. and draws together all available data in one easily accessible source. Each has similar format, with sections on the strains available, their husbandry and special diets. This leads to sections on gross anatomy, endocrinology and reproduction, followed by more detailed sections on neuroanatomy, vasculature, cell biology and histology of particular organs and structures, and a section on molecular biology. High quality illustrations are included throughout, with copious color histology microphotographs.
Call Number: SF407.F5 O78 2000ISBN: 0125296509Publication Date: 2000-08-22
The Laboratory Primate by
A volume in the Handbook of Experimental Animals series, The Laboratory Primate details the past and present use of primates in biomedical research, and the husbandry, nutritional requirements, behaviour, and breeding of each of the commonly used species. Practical information on regulatory requirements, not available in other texts, is covered. Sections on experimental models cover the major areas of biomedical research, including AIDS, cancer, neurobiology and gene therapy. Assisted reproductive technology, tissue typing, and minimum group sizes for infectious disease/vaccine studies are also included.
Call Number: SF407.P7 L33 2005ISBN: 9780120802616Publication Date: 2005-09-19
Management of Laboratory Animal Care and Use Programs by
The management of biomedical research using animals has become increasingly complex due to new technology, increased regulatory oversight, and recognition of the need for animals free of disease and distress. Within this changing environment, individuals charged with the management of laboratory animal facilities have a substantial responsibility to the institution, the public, and the animals. Management of Laboratory Animals Care and Use Programs provides both factual and theoretical information drawn from the substantial experience of authors who are noted experts in the field. This book will provide individuals with the basic knowledge and information necessary to meet typical professional challenges. A co-publication with the American Association for Laboratory Animal Science, this valuable book serves as the text for the Certified Manager Animal Resources (CMAR) exam.
Call Number: SF406 .M36 2001ISBN: 0849322871Publication Date: 2001-11-28
Manual of Animal Technology by
Manual of Animal Technology is a comprehensive and authoritative guide to the care of animals used in scientific procedures. Legal and welfare issues are covered as well as the husbandry of mammals and birds used in scientific studies. individual chapters have been written by leading experts explains the law governing scientific procedures using animals describes best practice in breeding and husbandry of laboratory animals outlines the care of animals during and following experimental procedures specifically designed to be a student text and a reference manual clearly illustrated sponsored by the Institute of Animal Technology
Call Number: SF406 .I56 2007ISBN: 0632055936Publication Date: 2007-05-14
