Veterinary Technology
Selected resources available through UMass and 5 Colleges for Students in the Mount Ida Vet Tech Program or other Animal and Biological Sciences programs at UMass Amherst. Resources include topical selections, general information, and career materials.
Websites
- American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) The AVMA is the nation's leading advocate for the veterinary profession. Representing more than 99,500 members, we protect, promote and advance the needs of all veterinarians and those they serve.
- Avian Influenza (USGS website) Since 2006, USGS has partnered with agencies around the world to monitor the spread of highly pathogenic (HPAI) avian influenza. In 2014, USGS scientists detected three HPAI viruses for the first time in wild birds in North America: H5N2, H5N8, and a recombinant H5N1.
- Centers for Disease Control (CDC) Parasites CDC’s Division of Parasitic Diseases and Malaria (DPDM) works to protect the health of Americans and others around the world from parasitic diseases, including malaria, through evidence-based public health action.
- PubChem PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.
eBooks
Animal Health at the Crossroads by
The confirmed case of "mad cow" disease (BSE) in June 2005 illustrates the economic impact of disease outbreaks, as additional countries closed their markets to U.S. beef and beef products. Emerging diseases also threaten public health-11 out of 12 of the major global disease outbreaks over the last decade were from zoonotic agents (that spread from animals to humans). Animal Health at the Crossroads: Preventing, Detecting, and Diagnosing Animal Diseases finds that, in general, the U.S. animal health framework has been slow to take advantage of state-of-the-art technologies being used now to protect public health; better diagnostic tests for identifying all animal diseases should be made a priority. The report also recommends that the nation establish a high-level, authoritative, and accountable coordinating mechanism to engage and enhance partnerships among local, state, and federal agencies, and the private sector.
ISBN: 9780309533386Publication Date: 2005-11-17
Diagnostic Parasitology for Veterinary Technicians by
Recognize and treat the parasites seen in veterinary practice! Diagnostic Parasitology for Veterinary Technicians, 5th Edition features clear and concise discussions of the most commonly encountered internal and external parasites. Chapters are organized by parasite group - including nematodes, cestodes, trematodes, protozoans, arthropods, and leeches - and include a detailed description of the group, with special emphasis on morphology, life cycle, and important parasites. Then in each chapter, material is conveniently organized by host species: dogs, cats, horses, ruminants, swine, birds, lab animals, fish, and reptiles. Written by noted educators Charles Hendrix and Ed Robinson, this full-color, spiral-bound book provides the knowledge that veterinary technicians need to collect samples, perform lab procedures, and communicate with clients and other members of the veterinary team. Clear, concise coverage simplifies information on the most commonly encountered internal and external parasites, preparing you for credentialing exams and the veterinary clinic. More than 470 full-color photos show exactly what ova, adult parasites, and parasitic diseases look like, so you can identify them more easily when viewing lab samples. Step-by-step guidelines in the Laboratory Procedures chapter describe how to gather samples and how to perform the laboratory techniques used in identifying parasites. Emphasis on the zoonotic potential of parasites helps you alert clients and other health care workers to the significance of zoonotic parasites and shows ways in which you can prevent transmission of a zoonotic parasite, condition, or syndrome from animals to humans. Logical chapter organization follows the sequence of parasitology classes, beginning with a basic overview of external parasites, internal parasites, and nematodes, followed by chapters that go into detail of the parasites by host species. An appendix lists the parasites of each species and shows their location in the text, making information easy to find. Heartworm section helps you recognize and treat heartworms with an in-depth discussion of the performance and interpretation of diagnostic tests for this major parasite. Summary tables show how to categorize parasites, and include such categories as body systems affected, taxonomic grouping, host species, and location in host. Table of parasites at the front of the book is arranged by host species and includes page numbers for cross-reference throughout the book. Vet Tech Threads design makes learning easier with chapter outlines, chapter objectives, key terms, and Technician Notes in every chapter. Chapter on terminology familiarizes you with the basic language and classification scheme of parasitology for more effective communication with clients and colleagues. Flash cards on the Evolve companion website help you learn and memorize key facts about the major parasites, including audio pronunciations. Workbook/textbook format provides immediate review tools through matching exercises and questions for thought and discussion at the end of each chapter. NEW case studies provide more opportunities to apply what you have learned, and bring to life a subject that can be dry and difficult. UPDATED information throughout provides the most up-to-date coverage of the parasites most often seen in veterinary practice. NEW! End-of-chapter matching exercises and online activities make study and review easier.
ISBN: 9780323389822Publication Date: 2016-10-05
Dogs, Zoonoses, and Public Health by
Both domestic and wild dogs are potential carriers of many disease organisms that can infect humans and hence constitute a risk to public health. This book addresses this issue on a international basis.
ISBN: 9780851999623Publication Date: 2000
Laser Surgery in Veterinary Medicine by
This book is a state-of-the-art reference to using surgical lasers to treat animal patients. Encompassing theory and practice, it emphasizes procedures, techniques, and equipment, with specific recommendations for laser settings. While most of the procedures emphasize surgeries on dogs and cats, this practical guide also dedicates chapters to equine, small mammal, avian, aquatic animal, and reptile surgeries, making it an excellent clinical reference for any busy veterinarian. The book begins with background information on the theory and science of laser surgery, then details specific surgical procedures with step-by-step instructions and accompanying photographs. The next section provides practical guidance for incorporating lasers into the veterinary practice, and the final section offers a look at the future of lasers in veterinary medicine and surgery. A companion website features video clips of surgery procedures. Presents a state-of-the-art guide to using laser surgery in veterinary practice, from theory and procedures to techniques and equipment Focuses on dogs and cats, including specialties such as ophthalmic laser surgery, laser neurosurgery, and photodynamic therapy, with chapters on equine, small mammal, avian, aquatic animal, and reptile surgeries Draws on the experience of more than 20 experts in various areas Provides practical advice for incorporating laser surgery into the veterinary practice, with the heart of the book devoted to specific surgical procedures Includes specific recommendations for laser settings and techniques for the procedures discussed Offers video clips demonstrating surgical techniques on a companion website Laser Surgery in Veterinary Medicine is an essential resource for anyone using surgical lasers in veterinary medicine, including veterinary students, practitioners, and specialists.
Call Number: SF911 .L374 2019eb E-BookISBN: 9781119486022Publication Date: 2019-05-14
Pathologic Basis of Veterinary Disease by
The 4th edition of this textbook, now in full color, presents both general pathology and special pathology in one comprehensive resource. Coverage includes a brief review of basic principles related to anatomy, structure and function, followed by congenital and functional abnormalities and discussions of viral, bacterial, and parasitic infections and neoplasia. Logically organized chapters discuss normal functions of the body system, followed by pathologic conditions found in domestic and companion animals. While focusing primarily on diseases in North America, the text also includes pathologic conditions found in other parts of the world, as well as those being brought into this country, such as West Nile virus, through the importation of cattle, sheep, and other animals. Contributors are recognized in their area of expertise and are well known in research and education. Now in full color throughout with vivid new illustrations that clarify difficult concepts. Includes six new chapters covering general pathology that discuss topics such as cellular and tissue responses to injury, vascular disorders, inflammation, and tumor biology. All chapters emphasize mechanisms of disease (organ, tissue, cell, and molecular injury). Features sequential presentations of disease processes (portal of entry * target cells * cellular injury * visual appearance of injury * resolution of injury * clinical outcomes). Emphasizes portals of entry for microbes and injurious agents. Focuses on defense mechanisms against microbes and injurious agents.
Call Number: SF769 .P343 2007ISBN: 9780323028707Publication Date: 2006-08-29
Text Book on Systemic Pathology of Domestic Animals by
Chapter 1 Diseases of Cardiovascular System Chapter 2 Diseases of Haemopoieitc system Chapter 3 Diseases of Respiratory System Chapter 4 Diseases of Digestive System Chapter 5 Urinary System Chapter 6 Pathology of Female Reproductive System Chapter 7 Diseases of Male Genital System Chapter 8 Diseases of Nervous System Chapter 9 Diseases of Endocrine System Chapter 10 Musculoskeletal System Chapter 11 Diseases of Integument, Skin, Ear, Hoof, Nail and Horn Index
Call Number: E-Book SF769 .R36 2010ebISBN: 818189507XPublication Date: 2010-01-01
Veterinary Clinical Parasitology by Call Number: REF SF81.A3 S58 2012ISBN: 9780813820538Publication Date: 2012-02-20
Veterinary Pharmacology and Therapeutics by
Veterinary Pharmacology and Therapeutics, Tenth Edition is a fully updated and revised version of the gold-standard reference on the use of drug therapy in all major veterinary species. Provides current, detailed information on using drug therapies in all major domestic animal species Organized logically by drug class and treatment indication, with exhaustive information on the rational use of drugs in veterinary medicine Includes extensive tables of pharmacokinetic data, products available, and dosage regimens Adds new chapters on pharmaceutics, ophthalmic pharmacology, food animal pharmacology, and aquatic animal pharmacology Includes access to a companion website with the figures from the book in PowerPoint
ISBN: 9781118855775Publication Date: 2017-11-29
Infectious Diseases of Wild Mammals by
Infectious Diseases of Wild Mammals, Third Edition presents the latest information on the diagnosis and treatment of infectious disease in both free-ranging and captive wild mammals. Editors Elizabeth Williams and Ian Barker have recruited 71 contributors, all noted experts in their fields, to update this new edition. This reference provides valuable information on each disease, including Etiology History Distribution Epidemiology Clinical signs Pathology Immunity Diagnosis Treatment Control This latest edition is a leading reference book for Wildlife biologists, managers, and rehabilitators Biology students Conservationists Public health workers
ISBN: 9780470344811Publication Date: 2008-02-28
Print resources available through UMass Amherst
Jubb, Kennedy, and Palmer's Pathology of Domestic Animals by
The 5th edition of Jubb, Kennedy, and Palmer's Pathology of Domestic Animals continues the long tradition of this classic set of volumes as the most comprehensive reference book published on the topic of pathology of the common domestic mammals, with emphasis on disease conditions of cattle and small ruminants, swine, horses, dogs and cats. Using a body systems approach, recognized authorities in their fields provide overviews of general characteristics of the system, reactions to insult, and disease conditions broken down by type of infectious or toxic insult affecting the anatomical subdivisions of each body system. Since the publication of the 4th edition in 1993, much has changed. Disease agents, such as Bovine viral diarrhea virus (BVDV) type 2, Porcine reproductive and respiratory syndrome virus (PRRSV), Porcine circovirus 2, Hendra virus, and Leptospira spp., have emerged or further evolved. Molecular-based testing, including polymerase chain reaction (PCR) and in-situ hybridization, have allowed further understanding of pathogenesis of disease, and have greatly furthered our diagnostic capabilities. Thoroughly revised text, including new or evolving pathogens and new diagnostic techniques. Over 100 new illustrations. Maintains the currency of the text, assists the reader in putting new conditions into perspective. Updating of the Bibliography on each subject gives readers new entry points into the rapidly expanding literature on each subject. Illustrations of new conditions or agents. Reader-friendliness improved through highlighting of text, bullet-point lists, italics, diagnostic hints.
Call Number: SF769 .P345 2007ISBN: 9780702027857Publication Date: 2007-04-13
Laboratory Procedures for Veterinary Technicians by
AVAILABLE AT MOUNT IDA CAMPUS.
"This very practical book tells you all you need to know in order to be as efficient as possible in your clinic's lab." Reviewed by Fabienne Dethioux on behalf of Vet Nurses Today, March 2015 Comprehensive coverage gives you a solid foundation in the fundamentals of microbiology, hematology, urinalysis, immunology, and cytology, along with the laboratory procedures used to perform related tests. Step-by-step procedure boxes offer quick access to the skills you must perform during your educational program, as well as procedures that are commonly performed by vet techs in private practice. Provides the latest information needed to successfully perform a broad spectrum of laboratory tests, including complete blood count, urinalysis, and immunologic assays. Completely updated content throughout reflects the latest advances in veterinary clinical laboratory procedures for improved patient service and higher practice revenue. A comprehensive glossary of terms at the end of the text offers accurate, concise definitions and phonetic pronunciation guides. NEW! Streamlined chapters are shorter and easier to digest with expanded coverage of essential material to prepare you for real-life laboratory work. NEW! Full-color photos bring concepts to life, sequentially arranged to illustrate step-by-step procedures for all commonly performed diagnostic tests in the clinical laboratory. NEW! Companion Lab Manual (sold separately) includes multiple-choice questions, fill-in-the-blank exercises, photo quizzes, labeling exercises, crossword puzzles, and other activities to help you master and apply key concepts and procedures in clinical situations. NEW! Special emphasis on the significance of abnormal results of key lab tests, zoonoses, and hematology. NEW! Vet Tech Threads provide you with introductions, suggested readings, boxed technician notes, learning objectives, chapter outlines, key terms, and a glossary for easy navigation through chapters and more focused learning.
Call Number: SF772.6 .L32 2015ISBN: 9780323169301Publication Date: 2014-04-28
Manual of Canine and Feline Cardiology by
The most effective, practical approach to the recognition and management of cardiovascular and cardiopulmonary medicine, MANUAL OF CANINE AND FELINE CARDIOLOGY, 4th Edition takes a user-friendly approach to the challenges and conditions you encounter in everyday practice. This completely revised and updated edition includes vital information on diagnostic modalities and techniques, therapeutic options, surgical procedures, and pharmaceutical management of the dog and cat cardiac patient. This invaluable, practical reference covers the full breadth of canine and feline cardiology diagnosis and management in a straightforward and clinically focused format. Covers common cardiovascular disorders and practical treatment methods for cardiac failure, cardiac arrhythmias, conduction disturbances, cardiopulmonary arrest, as well as procedures for resuscitation. Includes numerous reproductions of electrocardiograms, thoracic radiographs, and pressure curves Vibrant, full-color format helps important material stand out and includes vivid illustrations to aid in diagnosis and treatment. A user-friendly format with bullet points, tables, key points, and boxes offers at-a-glance access to key information. Cardiac Surgery chapter provides illustrated, step-by-step coverage of cardiovascular surgical procedures and techniques. Chapters on Pacemaker Therapy and Cor Pulmonale and Pulmonary Thromboembolism expand the scope of coverage A completely updated drug formulary presents the most current therapies used to pharmacologically manage cardiovascular disease. Twenty-nine expert contributors share their knowledge and clinical exposure to ensure you are using the most trustworthy and up-to-date information available.
Call Number: SF992.C37 M36 2008ISBN: 9781416023982Publication Date: 2007-12-14
Pathology and Parasitology for Veterinary Technicians by
This text is a great introduction for veterinary technicians who need pertinent information about pathology and parasitology, laying the groundwork for further study and practice. Clear-cut descriptions, case studies and methodologies prepare technicians well for what they will experience in the practical setting. Students will gain a thorough understanding of technical procedures, parasite life cycles, zoonotic potential, and diagnosis and treatment. Key words and chapter objectives give them a sense for what should be gleaned from each chapter, and practical case studies and evaluation questions enable them to apply what is learned. Extensive color images on the accompanying CD-ROM Image Library provide a detailed look at parasites and various pathologies. Additionally, this combined pathology and parasitology text will become an invaluable reference for students in their future work setting.
Call Number: SF769 .S46 2005ISBN: 9781401837457Publication Date: 2004-07-14
Plumb's Veterinary Drug Handbook by
Now in a fully updated seventh edition, Plumb's Veterinary Drug Handbook remains the most complete source of drug information relevant for animals available. Providing referenced dosing recommendations in each monograph, this book offers doses for a wide range of species, including dogs, cats, exotic animals, and farm animals, in a single resource. The book also includes detail on key aspects for appropriate use of each drug, including pharmacology, pharmacokinetics, contraindications, adverse effects, safety during pregnancy or nursing, overdoses, drug interactions, monitoring, chemistry and stability, storage, compatibility, and available products. The seventh edition adds 22 new drug monographs, as well as updated dosages and information for existing drugs. A noteworthy feature is the Prescriber Highlights section found at the beginning of each monograph that allows readers a quick method of finding important information for that drug. This is the 8 ½ x 11-inch desk size, offering enhanced readability and ease of use; Plumb's Veterinary Drug Handbook is also available in the convenient 5 by 8-inch pocket size and as a mobile version. Plumb's exhaustive one-volume coverage of drugs approved for veterinary species and non-approved (human) drugs that are used in veterinary practices today make this book an essential reference for veterinarians, veterinary technicians, veterinary pharmacologists, pharmacists with veterinary patients, animal research or zoological facilities, and libraries that serve these groups.
Call Number: SF917 .P58 2011ISBN: 9780470959640Publication Date: 2011-07-26
Shelter Medicine for Veterinarians and Staff by
The National Shelter Outreach Program estimates there are at least 4000-6000 animal shelters in the U.S. This book is the first ever to involve principles of herd health management in companion animal species. As the United States moves to becoming a nation that is reducing the number of animals it euthanizes in its shelters, access to informed medical care and sound management procedures becomes increasingly critical. In addition to issues of epidemiology and zoonoses; this book also addresses issues like feral cat programs, basic sanitation, shelter design, cruelty investigations and euthanasia this book is literally for every staff member working in any type of shelter situation.
Call Number: SF745 .S46 2004ISBN: 0813824486Publication Date: 2004-05-31
Slatter's Fundamentals of Veterinary Ophthalmology by
Recognize, diagnose, and manage a vast range of common and important ocular conditions with the latest edition of this trusted reference. Extensively revised and updated by a team of internationally respected contributors, this edition provides a comprehensive, yet practically oriented, diagnostic guide to ophthalmic disease, covering structure and function, ocular development, pathology, examination and diagnosis, pharmacology, and emergency management for a wide variety of small and large animal species. Clinical focus addresses vital information for evaluating, diagnosing, managing, and monitoring patients. Logical organization based on anatomic region makes information easy to locate. Fully updated diagnostic methods, pharmacologic therapies, and surgical procedures help you provide the most current, effective care. Extensively updated content reflects the clinical expertise of three new, internationally respected veterinary ophthalmologists. Full-color format with nearly 1000 photographic images and step-by-step, illustrated procedures helps you recognize, diagnose and treat ocular conditions medically and surgically. A new chapter on the ophthalmology of birds and other exotic species provides expert guidance in the care of these increasingly popular companion species. A new chapter on ocular manifestations of systemic disease in large and small animals helps you utilize the ophthalmologic examination to more accurately diagnose and treat diseases and disorders affecting other body systems. Hardcover format adds durability for frequent reference.
Call Number: SF891 .S53 2008ISBN: 9780721605616Publication Date: 2007-10-02
Veterinary Medical Terminology by
Organized by body system, this user-friendly textbook helps you quickly gain a solid understanding of veterinary terminology. Essential word parts and terms are presented in the context of basic anatomy, physiology, and disease conditions, enabling you to immediately apply new terms to practical clinical situations. A companion Evolve website features interactive exercises that reinforce your master of veterinary terminology, as well as audio clips to help you learn proper pronunciation. Crossword puzzles at the end of each chapter test your knowledge, challenging you to go beyond simple memorization and become fluent in the language of veterinary medicine. A logical body-systems approach and consistent chapter format make it fun and easy to learn veterinary terminology. Goals, objectives, and self-study sections at the beginning of each chapter help you focus your study time and allow you to check your recall and understanding of key facts and terminology. Crossword puzzles at the end of each chapter reinforce important concepts and correspond to an answer key at the end of the book where you can check your responses and assess your progress. A complete glossary of word parts gives you quick access to the spelling and meaning of every prefix, suffix, root, and combining form covered in the book. An Evolve website offers interactive games and audio pronunciations to help reinforce your understanding of key word parts and terms. The engaging full-color format includes nearly 230 illustrations that clearly demonstrate key anatomy and physiology concepts and terminology. Expanded coverage of ruminant anatomy and physiology enhances your knowledge of these species and related terminology. Crossword puzzles at the end of each chapter test your knowledge and challenge you to use newly learned terms.
Call Number: SF610 .C48 2009ISBN: 9780721697260Publication Date: 2008-03-31
Veterinary Procedures and Emergency Treatment by
This thoroughly updated 8th edition comprehensively covers the management of emergency conditions, as well as hundreds of diagnostic and treatment challenges in small animals. The user-friendly format provides instant access to vital information, making it an ideal resource in emergency situations. Includes a section dedicated to the clinical evaluation of patients using both organized body systems and problems list approaches. It also offers guidance on clinical signs and symptoms, laboratory tests, diagnosis, and treatment. Offers a wealth of proven, successful methods for recognizing and treating emergency problems, as well as core information for everyday practice. Provides essential information for the rapid assessment of patients and treatment planning. Coverage includes practical advice and solutions; how to examine the small animal patient, using a body systems and problems list approach; and a review of basic diagnostic procedures used in daily practice. Offers helpful recommendations for accurate and complete medical records management to help ensure quality care and legal compliance. New 2-color, user-friendly format offers instant access to key information. Covers the latest vaccination guidelines and recommended protocols. Provides clear and concise guidelines for evaluating clinical signs and laboratory test data. Offers step-by-step instructions for all major emergency and non-emergency clinical procedures. Features a rapid reference guide to management of the emergency patient on the inside cover. Includes a comprehensive drug formulary with emergency medications flagged for fast reference. Provides expanded coverage of pain assessment, prevention, and treatment. Includes a new section on managing poisonings and toxicological emergencies.
Call Number: SF748 .B57 2006ISBN: 9780721601380Publication Date: 2005-12-27
