Veterinary Technology
Selected resources available through UMass and 5 Colleges for Students in the Mount Ida Vet Tech Program or other Animal and Biological Sciences programs at UMass Amherst. Resources include topical selections, general information, and career materials.
eBooks
Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult Clinical Companion: Small Animal Endocrinology and Reproduction by
Want access to this book online? The full book content is also available as part of VetConsult, an online subscription platform with a powerful search function. Find out more at www.wiley.com/learn/vetconsult and subscribe today at https://vetconsult.wiley.com/subscription. Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult Clinical Companion: Small Animal Endocrinology and Reproduction is a highly practical, clinically oriented guide to endocrine and reproductive disorders in small animals, ideally formatted for fast access in the veterinary practice. Provides a complete yet practical clinical manual on endocrine and reproductive problems in small animals Draws on the endocrinology and theriogenology sections of Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult: Canine and Feline, supplying a greater depth of information in a similar quick-reference format Presents expanded information, additional topics, and color images throughout Arranged alphabetically for easy searching and reference Includes access to a companion website with client handouts in Word, which can be downloaded, edited, and used in practice
ISBN: 9781119135111Publication Date: 2017-02-22
Dentistry in Rabbits and Rodents by
Dentistry in Rabbits and Rodents is a practical guide aimed at helping clinicians successfully diagnose and treat dental problems in rabbits and rodents within their own surgeries. With over two-thirds of small mammals presenting with tooth related problems, there is great potential to enhance the treatment offered to the owners of these species. Focusing on innovative diagnostics using normal radiographic machines as well as specific positioning techniques, radiographs are presented with reference lines and detailed annotations. Richly illustrated with high quality photographs, pathological findings are described before selection of appropriate therapy and treatment is discussed. Key features include: Covers the dental anatomy and physiology of all small mammal species commonly kept as pets. Intraoral radiography and innovative positioning for imaging the guinea pig and chinchilla dentitions are described, enabling the practitioner to visualize each tooth in detail. Once a diagnosis has been reached, selection of different treatments and the advantages and disadvantages of each surgical technique are discussed. Offers helpful directives for approaching and treating dental disease without the need for referral to a specialist or the use of expensive equipment.
Call Number: SF867 .B46 2015ebISBN: 9781118802571Publication Date: 2015-02-26
Errors in Veterinary Anesthesia by
Errors in Veterinary Anesthesia is the first book to offer a candid examination of what can go wrong when anesthetizing veterinary patients and to discuss how we can learn from mistakes. Discusses the origins of errors and how to learn from mistakes Covers common mistakes in veterinary anesthesia Provides strategies for avoiding errors in anesthetizing small and large animal patients Offers tips and tricks to implement in clinical practice Presents actual case studies discussing errors in veterinary anesthesia
Call Number: SF914 .L833 2017eb E-BookISBN: 9781119259725Publication Date: 2016-09-27
Farm Animal Anesthesia: cattle, small ruminants, camelids, and pigs by
Farm Animal Anesthesia: Cattle, Small Ruminants, Camelids, and Pigs presents practical guidance on using anesthetic and analgesic drugs to prevent pain caused by surgery or disease. This cohesive resource offers complete coverage of anesthetics and anesthetic techniques in farm animals with a focus on practical applications. Providing thorough information on pain management and residues, the book also covers specific techniques for common surgical procedures and considerations for animals with pathophysiological conditions. The book includes chapters on preanesthetic considerations, anesthetic drugs, chemical restraint and standing sedation, injectable anesthesia, inhalant anesthesia, local techniques, specific procedures, pain management, residues, and euthanasia. Farm Animal Anesthesia is a useful guide for farm animal practitioners, veterinary students, and researchers working with these species.
Call Number: SF910.P34 .F376 2014eb E-BookISBN: 9781118474365Publication Date: 2014-04-03
Handbook of Small Animal Regional Anesthesia and Analgesia Techniques by
This is a concise visual guide to the major techniques of regional anesthesia and analgesia for small animal practitioners, with complete coverage of the relevant physics, physiology, and pharmacology. Provides straightforward advice and easy-to-implement strategies for general veterinary practitioners without specialist training who want to incorporate regional anesthesia into their practice Features an accessible design with plenty of diagrams and photos and a convenient and robust spiral-bound format that lays flat for use during procedures Broken into sections which explain techniques by limb or body part and by species Details important anatomy (nerves, bones, and vessels), as well as possible side effects and complications
Call Number: SF910.P34 .H363 2016ebISBN: 9781118741801Publication Date: 2016-01-04
High-Quality, High-Volume Spay and Neuter and Other Shelter Surgeries by
This comprehensive reference provides veterinarians with everything they need to know about performing surgeries such as spaying and neutering in busy animal shelters. It includes surgical and anesthetic techniques, perioperative procedures, reproductive medicine, and program management regarding dogs, cats, rabbits, and other small mammals. With more than 550 full-color images, High-Quality, High-Volume Spay and Neuter and Other Shelter Surgeries provides spay-neuter and shelter veterinarians with information on the most current clinical techniques. Dozens of veterinary experts offer their expert advice and knowledge on perioperative care, surgery instrumentation, infectious disease control, anesthesia protocols, CPR, the fundamentals of HQHVSN, and more. Covers all aspects of common shelter surgeries, including surgical and anesthetic techniques, perioperative procedures, reproductive medicine, and program management Provides coverage of dogs, cats, rabbits, and other small mammals Written by leaders in the field with experience in surgery, medicine, spay-neuter practice, teaching, and research High-Quality, High-Volume Spay and Neuter and Other Shelter Surgeries is an excellent resource for veterinarians, veterinary technicians, and students, as well as clinic and shelter owners.
Call Number: SF911 .H544 2020eb E-BookISBN: 9781118810873Publication Date: 2020-01-03
Laboratory Animal Anaesthesia by
Laboratory Animal Anaesthesia, Fourth Edition provides a basic guide to anaesthesia for a very diverse audience needing content, with straight-forward, structured style of writing. Updated with effects of anaesthetics in different laboratory species, including sources of dose rates will be incorporated into tabular material. New information on pain assessment and pain management will be covered, and an increased emphasis on rats and mice for anaesthesia and perioperative care. With newly revised, full color illustrations to facilitate best learning, Laboratory animal Anesthesia, Fourth Edition provides procedures, key points and invaluable advice from a well-known and respected veterinary anesthetist and scientist with over 30 years of experience in the field.
ISBN: 0128000368Publication Date: 2015-10-05
Laser Surgery in Veterinary Medicine by
This book is a state-of-the-art reference to using surgical lasers to treat animal patients. Encompassing theory and practice, it emphasizes procedures, techniques, and equipment, with specific recommendations for laser settings. While most of the procedures emphasize surgeries on dogs and cats, this practical guide also dedicates chapters to equine, small mammal, avian, aquatic animal, and reptile surgeries, making it an excellent clinical reference for any busy veterinarian. The book begins with background information on the theory and science of laser surgery, then details specific surgical procedures with step-by-step instructions and accompanying photographs. The next section provides practical guidance for incorporating lasers into the veterinary practice, and the final section offers a look at the future of lasers in veterinary medicine and surgery. A companion website features video clips of surgery procedures. Presents a state-of-the-art guide to using laser surgery in veterinary practice, from theory and procedures to techniques and equipment Focuses on dogs and cats, including specialties such as ophthalmic laser surgery, laser neurosurgery, and photodynamic therapy, with chapters on equine, small mammal, avian, aquatic animal, and reptile surgeries Draws on the experience of more than 20 experts in various areas Provides practical advice for incorporating laser surgery into the veterinary practice, with the heart of the book devoted to specific surgical procedures Includes specific recommendations for laser settings and techniques for the procedures discussed Offers video clips demonstrating surgical techniques on a companion website Laser Surgery in Veterinary Medicine is an essential resource for anyone using surgical lasers in veterinary medicine, including veterinary students, practitioners, and specialists.
Call Number: SF911 .L374 2019eb E-BookISBN: 9781119486022Publication Date: 2019-05-14
Pain Management for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses by
Pain Management for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses guides readers through the important concepts of animal pain management, providing specific approaches to managing pain in a wide variety of veterinary conditions. Emphasizing the technician's role in advocating for the patient, the book equips technicians with the knowledge needed to manage pain in dogs, cats, horses, livestock, exotics, and zoo animals. Logically and comprehensively covering this difficult subject, Pain Management for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses provides both introductory material on the tenets of pain management and specific techniques to apply in the clinical setting. With information on recognizing and understanding pain, the physiology of pain, pharmacology, and analgesia in different settings, the book outlines how to practice good pain management as an integral part of nursing care. Pain Management for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses provides both basic and advanced information, allowing students, practicing veterinary technicians and nurses, and veterinary staff alike to take a more active role in pain management and develop a more thorough understanding of this complex subject.
ISBN: 9781118811016Publication Date: 2014-09-29
Questions and Answers in Small Animal Anesthesia by
Questions and Answers in Small Animal Anesthesia provides practical and logical guidance for a wide range of anesthesia questions commonly faced in veterinary medicine. * Gives concrete answers to questions about anesthesia likely to be faced in small animal practice * Explains why experienced anesthesiologists make the choices they do * Provides concise yet comprehensive coverage of anesthetic management using an engaging question-and-answer format * Covers dogs, cats, small mammals, and birds * Focuses on practical, clinically relevant information
ISBN: 9781118912935Publication Date: 2015-10-09
Small Animal Anesthesia Techniques by
Small Animal Anesthesia Techniques provides a quick reference to protocols for anesthetizing canine, feline, and exotic animal patients in veterinary practice. This portable companion provides complete information on anesthetic procedures, from the basics of pharmacology, physiology, and equipment to handling challenging procedures and the compromised patient. A companion website features videos, images, and worksheets for calculations. The book offers an overview of the anesthetic process, with tips on how to anticipate and avoid complications, with example protocols for specific patients. Veterinarians and veterinary technicians will find this how-to guide to providing anesthesia to be an ideal resource for fast access to drug dosages, anesthesia protocols, and special considerations for specific procedures.
Call Number: SF914 .S545 2014ebISBN: 9781118810835Publication Date: 2014-01-15
Veterinary Anaesthesia by
This comprehensive textbook covers the key principles of veterinary anaesthesia and encompasses a wide range of species. Information is summarised in a simple, reader-friendly format, while still providing the detail you need for an advanced level of study. The easy-reference structure is designed to help you identify and access topics of interest quickly. Over 180 photographs and line drawings illustrate the scientific principles, equipment and the techniques you need to know. A self-test section at the end of every chapter helps you to learn and revise each topic. As well as the technical and species-based chapters, you will find useful chapters that you can refer to as part of your daily practice: Quick Reference Guide to Analgesic Infusions Trouble-shooting for common problems encountered in anaesthetised patients Anaesthetic Machine Checks Canine, Feline and Equine Emergency Drug Dose Charts Designed specifically for veterinary students and those preparing to take advanced qualifications in veterinary anaesthesia. It is also a useful reference for veterinarians in practice and advanced veterinary nurses and technicians.
ISBN: 140519247XPublication Date: 2010-06-01
Veterinary Anesthesia and Analgesia by
Veterinary Anesthesia and Analgesia: the Fifth Edition of Lumb and Jones is a reorganized and updated edition of the gold-standard reference for anesthesia and pain management in veterinary patients. Provides a thoroughly updated edition of this comprehensive reference on veterinary anesthesia and analgesia, combining state-of-the-art scientific knowledge and clinically relevant information Covers immobilization, sedation, anesthesia, and analgesia of companion, wild, zoo, and laboratory animals Takes a body systems approach for easier reference to information about anesthetizing patients with existing conditions Adds 10 completely new chapters with in-depth discussions of perioperative heat balance, coagulation disorders, pacemaker implantation, cardiac output measurement, cardiopulmonary bypass, shelter anesthesia and pain management, anesthetic risk assessment, principles of anesthetic pharmacology, and more Now printed in color, with more than 400 images
Call Number: SF914 .V484 2015eb E-BookISBN: 9781118526200Publication Date: 2015-03-16
Veterinary Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology by
Veterinary Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology focuses on methods for establishing a diagnosis and set of differential diagnoses. Provides the only text dedicated solely to veterinary oral and maxillofacial pathology Guides the pathologist through the thought process of diagnosing oral and maxillofacial lesions Focuses on mammalian companion animals, including dogs, cats and horses, with some coverage of ruminants, camelids, and laboratory animal species Features access to video clips narrating the process of histological diagnosis on a companion website
Call Number: SF867 .M877 2020eb E-BookISBN: 9781119221265Publication Date: 2019-09-04
Wiggs's Veterinary Dentistry by
Wiggs's Veterinary Dentistry: Principles and Practice, Second Edition is a fully updated and expanded new edition of the classic comprehensive reference for veterinary dentistry. Provides current, comprehensive information on veterinary dentistry Encompasses rudimentary tenets of the field as well as advanced techniques Presents the state-of-the-art in veterinary dentistry, with all topics fully updated, revised, and expanded to reflect current knowledge Written by leading veterinary dental specialists and edited by luminaries in the field Includes more images and color throughout to support the text "The second edition of Wiggs's Veterinary Dentistry: Principles and Practice is an updated and comprehensive guide to all things related to the assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of the oral cavity in canine and feline patients....Overall, this book will be a good resource for any small animal practice or practitioner who performs veterinary dentistry." - JAVMA Vol 255 No. 6
ISBN: 9781118816165Publication Date: 2018-12-11
Print resources available through UMass Amherst
Anaesthesia of Exotic Pets by
Anaesthesia of Exotic Pets provides a unique and quick reference guide for all those working in veterinary practice. The book covers the common species seen and includes: the basic approach to the case, equipment required, drug doses, and anaesthetic induction and maintenance as well as anaesthetic monitoring techniques. Peri-anaesthetic nursing care, such as husbandry, fluid and nutritional support, is discussed for each species. Written by experienced practitioners, the book provides a common sense and practical approach to anaesthesia to enable a variety of techniques to be performed confidently. Covers practical information on anaesthesia for a successful outcome: how to assess and prepare the patient, lists of equipment required, how to perform the anaesthetic, husbandry, fluids and nutritional support Discusses commonly seen pathological conditions and their effect on the choice of anaesthetic and patient prognosis Provides an overview of the relevant anatomy and physiology in each species as this improves understanding of effects of anaesthesia and techniques used Describes both basic nursing and more advanced anaesthesia techniques, catering for all abilities and knowledge Contains tables of drug doses by species giving a quick reference for the busy practitioner
Call Number: SF914 .L66 2008ISBN: 0702028886Publication Date: 2008-04-10
An Atlas of Surgical Approaches to the Bones and Joints of the Dog and Cat by
AVAILABLE AT MOUNT IDA CAMPUS
This well-illustrated atlas provides detailed coverage of the surgical anatomy of the skeletal system of dogs and cats. It's a great learning and teaching tool for small animal surgery that contains highly detailed and clearly labeled drawings of bones and joints. The comprehensive coverage and vivid detail allow surgeons to explore a variety of approaches to fit each unique clinical situation. Each illustration has been created by an expert artist and conveys substantial clarity, realism, and detail A consistent presentation, with text on left side of the page and illustration plates on right, provides easy access to key material Full pages are dedicated to each plate with descriptive titles and detailed labeling Cross references allow for easy comparison of approaches to the same area or the combination of approaches to treat multiple injuries Each approach has one plate number, no matter how many parts, and thus can be referenced by the plate number rather than by the page number Primary indications are listed for each approach References are organized in one section at the back of the book Anatomic labels have been modified to make each section of a plate independent by making the labels cumulative Contains more than 20 updated illustrations Step-by-step procedure descriptions have been expanded with more detailed coverage of patient positioning, anatomic landmarks, potential dangers, and increasing exposure Features a new section in the introductory chapter on planning for an approach, including 4 new radiographs
Call Number: SF981 .P54 2004ISBN: 9780721687070Publication Date: 2004-01-07
Clinical Veterinary Dentistry, an Issue of Veterinary Clinics: Small Animal Practice by
AVAILABLE AT MOUNT IDA CAMPUS
Current, important information on clinical veterinary dentistry for all small animal practitioners! This issue will present articles on standards of care, therapeutic decision making, oral and dental imaging equipment and techniques, radiographic imaging, oral inflammation, exodontics, oral and maxillofacial surgery, surgical equipment for oral surgery, laser and electro/radiosurgery in the oral cavity, anesthesia and pain management, and more!
Call Number: SF601.V523 2013 v43 no 3ISBN: 9781455773527Publication Date: 2013-05-09
Handbook of Veterinary Anesthesia 4th edition by
AVAILABLE AT UMASS AMHERST BY REQUEST
Handbook of Veterinary Anesthesia, 4th Edition is a convenient, complete, and practical resource for administering safe and effective anesthesia to small and large animals, including exotic pets. Long valued by students and practitioners alike, this handbook features all the practical and applied aspects of veterinary anesthesia, including patient evaluation, preanesthetic medications, local anesthesia and anesthetic techniques, and more. The book describes drugs used perioperatively and their clinical applications in detail and pays special attention to complementary and integrative approaches to pain management. Key points and special considerations are now called out in boxes to highlight the most important and critical information for immediate access. Comprehensive yet concise quick reference offers on-the-go, indispensable advice for anesthetic situations. Dogs and cats each have their own chapter, and the special needs and considerations of each species are expanded for more comprehensive coverage. Old and outdated drugs have been eliminated, so the focus is not on the history of veterinary anesthesia but on important, current concepts and techniques. Completely updated drug information and new pain management techniques. A new chapter discusses the unique anesthetic considerations in cats and their clinical applications. The latest information on local anesthesia drugs and techniques. Expanded coverage of post-anesthetic care, monitoring, and analgesic considerations. Covers anesthetic protocols for common procedures in each species. Includes new coverage of the use of constant rate infusion perioperatively. Expanded coverage of euthanasia includes the most current AVMA guidelines for euthanasia techniques.
Call Number: SF914 .M85 2007ISBN: 9780323046787Publication Date: 2006-12-04
Minor Veterinary Surgery by
AVAILABLE AT MOUNT IDA CAMPUS
This title is directed primarily towards health care professionals outside of the United States. It brings together all the information needed for a veterinary nurse to confidently approach minor surgical procedures in small animals. Based on a thorough grounding of surgical principles, the book takes a hands-on approach and focuses on applying theory to practice. The author has included clear instructions for performing a number of minor surgical techniques and offers practical advice in the form of handy hints and tips making this a highly accessible and user-friendly text.
Call Number: SF911 .H56 2006ISBN: 0750688076Publication Date: 2006-07-13
Small Animal Anesthesia by
AVAILABLE AT MOUNT IDA CAMPUS
This volume emphasizes the expanded roles of the technician in the anaesthesia process. The chapters cover: patient evaluation, selection of the anaesthetic protocol, patient care; personal safety considerations; anaesthetic emergencies and special techniques.
Call Number: SF991 .M27 1994ISBN: 9780801679612Publication Date: 1994-05-01
Small Animal Anesthesia and Analgesia by
AVAILABLE AT UMASS AMHERST BY REQUEST
This book provides concise yet comprehensive information aboutanesthetic equipment, anesthetic and analgesic drugs andtechniques, and monitoring. Particular emphasis is placed onindications and contraindications for drugs and techniques.Anesthesia with concurrent conditions and for chronic pain is alsocovered. Text boxes in each section contain key points. Veterinary students, veterinary technician students,anesthesiology residents, practicing small animal veterinarians andnon-veterinarian researchers will find this book invaluable. "Effectively dispels the notion that 'one size fits all'anesthetic regimes or techniques can be used on every patient, andwill enhance the reader?s knowledge and thus ability tosafely anesthetize animals, whilst also providing for theircomfort." --Alicia Karas, author of foreword Key Features An enormous amount of information distilled into one easy touse text Information for troubleshooting problems and "pearls" ofwisdom Provides background and evidence for facts Includes a chapter on physical medicine technique to complementstandard medical pain therapy
Call Number: SF914 .S63 2008ISBN: 9780813802305Publication Date: 2008-02-19
Small Animal Surgical Nursing by
AVAILABLE AT MOUNT IDA CAMPUS
Covering the veterinary technician's role and responsibilities in small animal surgery, Small Animal Surgical Nursing: Skills and Concepts, 2nd Edition helps you gain exceptional clinical competency. Topics include asepsis, operating room protocol, instrumentation, sterile technique, suture materials, suturing techniques, wound management, surgical assistance, and pre- and postoperative care of animals. Full-color photographs show instruments and equipment, and help you develop skills in sterile technique, suturing techniques, and wound management. Written by noted educator Marianne Tear, this edition expands coverage of emerging issues and hot topics such as nutritional therapy and physical therapy. Complete coverage of small animal surgical nursing describes the roles and responsibilities of the veterinary technician. A focus on exceptional clinical skills and practice tips helps you gain clinical competency in small animal surgical technique. Clear, full-color photographs show instruments, equipment, sterile technique, suturing techniques, and wound management. Performance objectives at the beginning of each chapter and key points and review questions at the end of each chapter focus and reinforce learning. Practical appendices make it easy to look up dosage calculations, how to quickly set IV fluid drip rates, and how to make up various solutions of medications for constant rate infusions. More than a dozen new illustrated procedures are added to this edition. More real-world examples and best practices are added. Common complications are described for each surgical procedure, with discussions of how to avoid or prepare for these situations. A consistent organization discusses each surgery in terms of pre-op considerations, patient positioning and prep, equipment, the tech's role, and common complications. Instructions follow the order of the procedure: sterilization and gloving and gowning are located in Chapter 1. More rationales are included, covering topics such as different methods of sterilization and catheter placement. Increased coverage of nutritional therapy and physical therapy is added to the chapter on postoperative care. Key terms, chapter outlines, review questions, and a glossary make learning easier. The companion Evolve website includes instrument identification exercises and other workbook-like study activities.
Call Number: SF991 .B92 2012ISBN: 9780323077354Publication Date: 2011-07-13
Veterinary Laser Surgery by
Surgical and therapeutic use of lasers began in human medicine inthe early 1960s. Technology and equipment advanced rapidly. Overthe last ten years veterinarians have been exploring the manypotential advantages that various lasers provide their patients.Because laser light energy can be applied directly to target tissueor administered to distant lesions at a remote site throughfiberoptic components, laser surgery has become an invaluable andgrowing veterinary surgical resource. Unlike many medicaltechnologies, the size, reliability, and portability of lasers haveimproved so rapidly that they are now both economically andpractically feasible for the general and specialty veterinarian.Routine laser use in veterinary medicine stands poised to gainlarge-scale general acceptance for everyday routine and specialtyprocedures. Written by experts in the field, Veterinary Laser Surgery: APractical Guide strives to help general and specialtyveterinary practitioners understand, implement and expand the useof laser energy in safe and rational ways for both surgical andtherapeutic procedures to further improvement the veterinariansability to enhance the patient?s quality of life. PRACTICAL PICTORIAL GUIDE / ATLAS feature that includes 31 casestudies of the most common laser surgery procedures. Broad spectrumof specific laser information, including chapters covering basiclaser physics through specific laser surgery techniques and painmanagement. Special sections on CO2 and Diode laser wavelengths. Provides veterinarians with skills and techniques to improvethe comfort and quality of patients? lives throughappropriate laser use. User-friendly format makes referencing easy. A practical reference for specialty and generalveterinarians.
Call Number: SF913 .B47 2006ISBN: 9780813806785Publication Date: 2006-06-12
Veterinary Technician's Daily Reference Guide by
AVAILABLE AT MOUNT IDA AND UMASS AMHERST BY REQUEST
Veterinary Technician's Daily Reference Guide: Canine and Feline, Third Edition provides a quick reference to all aspects of a technician's daily responsibilities in clinical practice.nbsp; Retaining the tabular format for easy access, the Third Edition adds more in-depth skill descriptions, allowing the technician to reach an even higher level of care.nbsp; Coverage ranges from anatomy and preventative care to diagnostic and patient care skills, pain management, anesthesia, and pharmacology.nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; Now fully revised and updated, the book is designed to build on a veterinary technician's current knowledge, acting as a quick refresher in the daily clinic setting.nbsp; A companion website offers forms and worksheets, training materials, review questions, vocabulary flashcards, links to online resources, and the figures from the book in PowerPoint.nbsp; The Third Edition is an invaluable practical resource for increasing confidence and improving technical skills for veterinary technicians.
Call Number: SF748 .J33 2014ISBN: 9781118363508Publication Date: 2014-05-12
