Veterinary Technology
Selected resources available through UMass and 5 Colleges for Students in the Mount Ida Vet Tech Program or other Animal and Biological Sciences programs at UMass Amherst. Resources include topical selections, general information, and career materials.
eBooks and Interactive Media
Crow and Walshaw's Manual of Clinical Procedures in Dogs, Cats, Rabbits and Rodents by
Provides practical, up-to-date information on common veterinary procedures for gerbils, hamsters, guinea pigs, dogs, cats and rabbits with detailed line drawings and photographs that demonstrate not only pertinent anatomical relationships, but also operational motions. A classic veterinary clinical manual. Companion website offering interactive multiple choice questions and answers, and images from the text in PowerPoint.
ISBN: 9781118985717Publication Date: 2016-03-10
Haschek and Rousseaux's Handbook of Toxicologic Pathology by
A key reference on the integration of structure and functional changes in tissues associated with the response to pharmaceuticals, chemicals and biologics. The 3e has been expanded by a full volume, and covers aspects of safety assessment not discussed in the 2e. Completely revised with many new chapters, it remains the most authoritative reference on toxicologic pathology for scientists and researchers studying and making decisions on drugs, biologics, medical devices and other chemicals, including agrochemicals and environmental contaminants.
ISBN: 9780124157651Publication Date: 2013-05-01
Laboratory Procedures for Veterinary Technicians by
Covers the broad spectrum of laboratory procedures that veterinary technicians need to perform effectively in the practice setting. Comprehensive content presents the fundamentals of microbiology, hematology, urinalysis, immunology, and cytology, along with the laboratory procedures used to perform the most widely used tests such as complete blood count, urinalysis, and immunologic assays.
Call Number: REF SF 772.6 .L32 2015ISBN: 9780323169301Publication Date: 2014-04-28
Veterinarian's Guide to Maximizing Biopsy Results by ISBN: 9781119226277Publication Date: 2016-07-12
Print resources available through UMass Amherst
The Clinical Chemistry of Laboratory Animals by
Designed to aid laboratory animal veterinarians, clinical chemists, toxicologists, clinical pathologists and other biomedical investigators to select and interpret clinical chemistry studies on specimens from laboratory animals. Additionally, this comprehensive reference guides the investigator in the evaluation of organs and systems of laboratory animals.
Call Number: SF996.5 .C55 1999ISBN: 1560327170Publication Date: 1999-12-02
Fundamentals of Veterinary Clinical Pathology by
Developed from a comprehensive set of highly regarded veterinary lecture notes used in basic and clinical science courses. Provides in depth information about common laboratory testing procedures that are used to evaluate animals, including what the assays measure and what the results tell veterinarians about the physiologic and pathophysiologic processes that may be occurring in their patients.
Call Number: SF772.6 .S76 2002ISBN: 9780813825618Publication Date: 2002-10-04
Laboratory Procedures for Veterinary Technicians by
Ensure you're at your clinical best! Laboratory Procedures for Veterinary Technicians, 7th Edition covers the broad spectrum of laboratory procedures that veterinary technicians need to perform effectively in the practice setting. Comprehensive content presents the fundamentals of microbiology, hematology, urinalysis, immunology, and cytology, along with the laboratory procedures used to perform the most widely used tests such as complete blood count, urinalysis, and immunologic assays. This thoroughly updated edition includes an expanded Quality Control and Record Keeping chapter along with the latest advances in veterinary clinical procedures to prepare you for real-life laboratory work. Comprehensive coverage gives you a solid foundation in the fundamentals of microbiology, hematology, urinalysis, immunology, and cytology, along with the laboratory procedures used to perform related tests. Provides the latest information needed to successfully perform a broad spectrum of laboratory tests, including complete blood count, urinalysis, and immunologic assays. Step-by-step procedure boxes offer quick access to the skills you must perform during your educational program, as well as procedures that are commonly performed by vet techs in private practice. A comprehensive glossary of terms at the end of the text offers accurate, concise definitions. Vet Tech Threads provide you with introductions, suggested readings, boxed technician notes, learning objectives, chapter outlines, key terms, and a glossary for easy navigation through chapters and more focused learning. NEW! Completely updated content throughout reflects the latest advances in veterinary clinical laboratory procedures for improved patient service and higher practice revenue. NEW! Thoroughly updated and expanded Quality Control and Record Keeping chapter ensures you have the most current information in this vital area. UPDATED! Immunology section includes the latest information in this fast-growing veterinary technology area.
Call Number: SF772.6 .L32 2020ISBN: 0323595383Publication Date: 2019-03-01
Laboratory Profiles of Small Animal Diseases by
Despite the growing role of imaging technologies such as ultrasound and CT, clinical pathology remains one of the most important and economical diagnostic tools in veterinary medicine. The 3rd Edition of this trusted resource helps readers to obtain optimal diagnostic value from today's many clinical and laboratory testing options. It includes approximately 80 new tests...a new section on dynamic laboratory testing...and many other important updates. Spanish version also available, ISBN: 84-8174-574-X
Call Number: SF772.6 .S62 2001ISBN: 0323009565Publication Date: 2000-10-30
Veterinary Clinical Pathology by
Unique among current literature as a rich source of clinical case material, this book can be used by veterinary students as a reader-friendly introduction to the subject and as the primary textbook in clinical pathology coursework. With its multitude of cases and images, the book is also a useful resource for faculty members to enhance instruction. Veterinary Clinical Pathology: An Introduction aims to provide the veterinary student with a clear, concise overview of basic mechanisms without being overwhelming. Clinical cases enhance the learning experience. Having evolved from the reading assignments for veterinary medical courses in clinical pathology, this text aids in providing students with a sound knowledge base with which to work. Reader-friendly textbook Features innovative case-based approach Provides clear and concise overview of basic mechanisms Practical text for veterinary students, instructors and clinicians alike Students, instructors, and veterinary clinicians seeking a concise, practical handbook will find Veterinary Clinical Pathology: An Introduction invaluable.
Call Number: SF772.6 .J33 2007ISBN: 9780813821405Publication Date: 2007-01-23Veterinary Clinical Pathology by Emphasizes the judgemental elements of interpretation in clinical pathology, hematology, clinical chemistry, and cytology. Features over 100 case histories covering all species. Each chapter, exclusive of those on technique, has a brief introduction followed by case discussions. Cases presented exemplify laboratory alterations associated with the disease affecting the system under review, and some cases can be used for self-evaluation.
Call Number: SF772.6 .C65 1986ISBN: 0721618286Publication Date: 1986-01-01
