Veterinary Technology
Selected resources available through UMass and 5 Colleges for Students in the Mount Ida Vet Tech Program or other Animal and Biological Sciences programs at UMass Amherst. Resources include topical selections, general information, and career materials.
eBooks
Atlas of Equine Ultrasonography by
The only visual guide to equine ultrasonography based on digital ultrasound technology. Atlas of Equine Ultrasonography provides comprehensive coverage of both musculoskeletal and non-musculoskeletal areas of the horse. Ideal for practitioners in first opinion or referral practices, each chapter features normal images for anatomical reference followed by abnormal images covering a broad range of recognised pathologies. The book is divided into musculoskeletal, reproductive and internal medicine sections and includes positioning diagrams demonstrating how to capture optimal images. With contributions from experts around the world, this book is the go-to reference for equine clinical ultrasonography. Key features include: Pictorially based with a wealth of digital ultrasound images covering both musculoskeletal and non-musculoskeletal areas and their associated pathologies. Each chapter begins with a discussion of normal anatomy and demonstrates how to obtain and interpret the images presented. A video library of over 50 ultrasound examinations is available for streaming or download and viewing on-the-go. Access details are provided in the book.
ISBN: 9781118798126Publication Date: 2014-03-19
Atlas of Small Animal CT and MRI by
Atlas of Small Animal CT & MRI is a highly illustrated diagnostic imaging guide to common clinical disorders of dogs and cats. Contains over 3,000 high quality CT, MRI and related diagnostic images Offers a unique approach emphasizing comparative imaging and pathologic correlation Focuses on important imaging features relevant to imaging diagnosis of disease in dogs and cats Written by internationally renowned experts in the field
Call Number: SF757.8 .A853 2015ebISBN: 9781118446140Publication Date: 2015-02-24
Atlas of Small Animal Ultrasonography by
Atlas of Small Animal Ultrasonography, Second Edition is a comprehensive reference for ultrasound techniques and findings in small animal practice, with more than 2000 high-quality sonograms and illustrations of normal structures and disorders. Provides a comprehensive collection of more than 2000 high-quality images, including both normal and abnormal ultrasound features, as well as relevant complementary imaging modalities and histopathological images Covers both common and uncommon disorders in small animal patients Offers new chapters on practical physical concepts and artifacts and abdominal contrast sonography Includes access to a companion website with over 140 annotated video loops of the most important pathologies covered in each section of the book
ISBN: 9781118397329Publication Date: 2015-08-03
Feline Diagnostic Imaging by
This book offers a comprehensive resource for imaging the feline patient, with an emphasis on the unique considerations of imaging cats. It focuses on radiology and ultrasound, with some coverage of advanced imaging such as computed tomography and magnetic resonance imaging. Incorporating more than 1750 high-quality images, it is an invaluable reference for any veterinary practitioner with a significant feline caseload. Feline Diagnostic Imaging begins with information on the radiographic evaluation of the thorax, abdomen, and musculoskeletal structures, including normal anatomy and pathology, followed by a review of common echocardiographic and abdominal ultrasound findings and abnormalities. Advanced imaging of the skull using computed tomography and magnetic resonance imaging cases of brain and spinal disease are also included. The book: Provides imaging information specifically tailored to the particular needs of cats Emphasizes the modalities most commonly used in general practice, with some discussion of advanced imaging Gives a complete overview of diagnostic imaging for the feline patients Includes tips and tricks for the unique considerations of working with cats Presents essential information for any practitioner treating feline patients Offering a feline focus not found in other imaging books, Feline Diagnostic Imaging is an essential purchase for veterinarians wishing to improve their diagnostic imaging skills in cats. It's also an excellent guide for veterinary radiologists, and veterinary students and residents.
ISBN: 9781118840894Publication Date: 2020-02-20
Focused Ultrasound Techniques for the Small Animal Practitioner by
Focused Ultrasound Techniques for the Small Animal Practitioner offers a highly practical guide to incorporating abbreviated ultrasound exams into the veterinary practice. Focused point-of-care exams are an effective way to quickly detect conditions and complications not readily apparent through the physical exam, laboratory diagnostics, or radiographic findings. Encompassing all the information needed to begin performing these techniques, Focused Ultrasound Techniques for the Small Animal Practitioner is a useful tool for improving patient outcomes in clinical practice. Covering focused exams in all body systems, the book also outlines the principles of interventional radiology, medical documentation, and the basic fundamentals of using an ultrasound machine. A companion website offers 87 video clips of AFAST, TFAST, and Vet Blue examinations with normal, abnormal, and incidental findings at www.wiley.com/go/lisciandro/ultrasound. Focused Ultrasound Techniques for the Small Animal Practitioner is an essential purchase for veterinary practitioners and specialists wanting to implement these techniques in their veterinary practice.
ISBN: 9781118403884Publication Date: 2013-11-06
Veterinary Image-Guided Interventions by
Veterinary Image-Guided Interventions is the only book dedicated to interventions guided by imaging technology. Written and edited by leading experts in the field, interventional endoscopy, cardiology, oncology and radiology are covered in detail. Chapters include the history and background of the procedures, patient work-up, equipment lists, detailed procedural instructions, potential complications, patient follow-up protocols, and expected outcomes. Split into body systems, the technical aspects of each procedure are presented using highly illustrated step-by-step guides. Veterinary Image-Guided Interventions is a must-have handbook for internists, surgeons, cardiologists, radiologists, oncologists and criticalists, and for anyone interested in cutting-edge developments in veterinary medicine. Key features include: A highly practical step-by-step guide to image-guided procedures Relevant to a wide range of veterinary specialists. Written and edited by respected pioneers in veterinary image-guided procedures A companion website offers videos of many procedures to enhance the text
Call Number: SF772.55 .V484 2015ebISBN: 9781118378274Publication Date: 2015-01-30
Clinical Radiology of the Horse by
Clinical Radiology of the Horse is the best-selling, practical guide to all areas of equine radiography and radiology written by an experienced group of clinicians with a broad range of backgrounds. Offers an atlas of normal and clinical images, as well as a comprehensive guide to techniques, equipment, positioning, and interpretation for general veterinary practitioners and specialists in imaging and orthopaedics Updates to this fourth edition fully reflect the move to digital imaging with many new figures in the book and major revisions to the chapters on the head, thorax, and abdomen Contains expanded coverage of the foot, pastern, and fetlock (now in separate chapters) Includes a password-protected website with all the images from the book as well as over 200 additional images with examples of more subtle lesions, more fractures, correct technique and positioning versus incorrect, immature horses, progression of disease, and pathological images
ISBN: 9781118912263Publication Date: 2016-11-21
Printed resources available at UMass Amherst
An Atlas of Radiographic Anatomy of the Horse by
To be proficient in the field of radiologic diagnosis, one must be familiar with radiographic anatomy. As an introduction into this special field is not possible without abundant illustrations, clinician and anatomist have cooperated to compile an Atlas of the Radiographic Anatomy of the Horse.
Call Number: SF757.8 .S3 2005ISBN: 3489502167Publication Date: 1986-10-01
Diagnostic Radiology and Ultrasonography of the Dog and Cat by
Interpret diagnostic images accurately with Diagnostic Radiology and Ultrasonography of the Dog and Cat, 5th Edition. Written by veterinary experts J. Kevin Kealy, Hester McAllister, and John P. Graham, this concise guide covers the principles of diagnostic radiology and ultransonography and includes clear, complete instruction in image interpretation. It illustrates the normal anatomy of body systems, and then uses numbered points to describe radiologic signs of abnormalities. It also includes descriptions of the ultrasonographic appearance of many conditions in dogs and cats. Updated with the latest on digital imaging, CT, MR, and nuclear medicine, and showing how to avoid common errors in interpretation, this book is exactly what you need to refine your diagnostic and treatment planning skills! Hundreds of detailed radiographs and ultrasonograms clearly illustrate principles, aid comprehension, and help you accurately interpret your own films. The normal anatomy and appearance for each body system is included so you can identify deviations from normal, such as traumatic and pathologic changes. Coverage of the most common disorders associated with each body system help you interpret common and uncommon problems. Coverage of radiographic principles and procedures includes density, contrast, detail, and technique, so you can produce the high-quality films necessary for accurate diagnosis. Clinical signs help you arrive at a clinical diagnosis. An emphasis on developing a standardized approach to viewing radiographs and ultrasonograms ensures that you do not overlook elements of the image that may affect proper diagnosis. Complete coverage of diagnostic imaging of small animals includes all modalities and echocardiography, all in a comprehensive, single-source reference. Discussions of ultrasound-guided biopsy technique help you perform one of the most useful, minimally invasive diagnostic procedures. Single chapters cover all aspects of specific body compartments and systems for a logical organization and easy cross-referencing. Coverage of different imaging modalities for individual diseases/disorders is closely integrated in the text and allows easier comprehension. A consistent style, terminology, and content results from the fact that all chapters are written by the same authors. An improved layout makes the material easier to read and comprehend. Over 450 new or improved illustrations cover topics with clear, high-quality images. Coverage of CT, MRI, and scintigraphy has been expanded. Updated chapters include the latest developments in diagnostic imaging and findings on new conditions. New computed tomography and digital radiography information in The Radiograph chapter includes help in recognizing artifacts on ultrasound. Expanded sections on ultrasound in The Thorax chapter include examples and more content on portosystemic shunts, including color Doppler images. Color flow and spectral Doppler images in The Abdomen chapter complement the descriptions of radiologic conditions, relevant information on CT imaging and thyroid scintigraphy. An expanded section on appendicular pathology and joint pathology is added to The Bones and Joints chapter. New and improved diagrams/line drawings with accompanying normal images of the brain and spine are added in The Skull and Vertebral Column chapter, including more MRI and CT to illustrate normal components and pathologic conditions. Update on new soft-tissue conditions appears in the Soft Tissues chapter.
Call Number: SF991 .K43 2011ISBN: 9781437701500Publication Date: 2010-09-15
Lavin's Radiography for Veterinary Technicians by
Written by veterinary technicians for veterinary students and practicing technicians, Lavin's Radiography for Veterinary Technicians, 5th Edition, combines all the aspects of imaging - including production, positioning, and evaluation of radiographs -into one comprehensive text. Completely updated with all new vivid, color equipment photos, positioning drawings and detailed anatomy drawings, this fifth edition is a valuable resource for students, technicians and veterinarians who need information on the latest technology or unique positioning. Broad coverage of radiologic science, physics, imaging and protection provide you with foundations for good technique. Positioning photos, radiographic images and anatomical drawings presented side-by-side with text explanation for each procedure increases your comprehension and retention. Objectives, key terms, outlines, chapter introductions and key points help you organize information to ensure you understand what is most important in every chapter. NEW! More than 1000 new full-color photos and updated radiographic images visually demonstrate the relationship between anatomy and positioning. NEW! All-new color anatomy art created by an expert medical illustrator help you to recognize and avoid making imaging mistakes. NEW! Non-Manual restraint techniques including sandbags, tape, rope, sponges, sedation and combinations improve your safety and radiation protection. NEW! Chapter on dental radiography aids general veterinarian techs and those specializing in dentistry. NEW! Increased emphasis on digital radiography, including quality factors and post-processing, keeps you up-to-date on the most recent developments in digital technology.
Call Number: SF757.8 .L38 2014ISBN: 9781455722808Publication Date: 2013-05-30
Small Animal Diagnostic Ultrasound by
This book provides the basic physical principles of ultrasound, plus imaging artifacts and the use of ultrasonography by body system. Ultrasound is used extensively to diagnose pregnancy and it provides both normal and abnormal scans. The second edition is completely revised and updated, bringing forth current developments in this area. The purpose is to serve as a general source for students and form the basis of a more complete comprehensive reference for practitioners and trainees. Latest techniques in ultrasound are included. Outstanding chapter on cardiology ultrasound More emphasis on the dog and cat. Firm understanding of physical principles of ultrasound, instrumentation, and recognition of artifacts Organised by organ system for easy access to information Two completely new chapters: Non-cardiac Thoracic Ultrasonography and Musculoskeletal Ultrasonography, will better equip the practitioner to diagnose conditions in these areas. Cardiology chapter will begin at a more basic level enabling the reader to make a more accurate diagnosis. CT/MR Sections illustrating normal anatomy, intraoperative ultrasound, etc. are incorporated within each existing chapter. These modalities are used more frequently by practitioners. They are better diagnostic tools for the liver, pancreas and gastrointestinal tract. The genital chapter will now be entitled Reproductive, and the adrenal glands will be removed from the urinary tract, and become a new stand-alone chapter. New four-colour figures enhance the abdomen chapter.
Call Number: SF991 .V46 2002ISBN: 9780721677880Publication Date: 2001-12-10
Textbook of Veterinary Diagnostic Radiology by
This text contains information on diagnostic radiology of canine, feline and equine species. Also included are chapters on ultrasound, CT and MRI. Designed to present diagnostic radiology in a user-friendly approach, it starts with the physics of radiology and then moves into interpretation of the radiographs. Radiographic anatomy helps the reader formulate a diagnosis. Questions at the end of each chapter, with answers at the end of the book, reinforce important concepts and ensure that readers understand one concept before progressing to the next. Spanish version also available, ISBN: 84-8174-660-6
Call Number: SF757.8 .T48 2002ISBN: 9780721688206Publication Date: 2002-02-01
Veterinary Diagnostic Imaging: birds, exotic pets, and wildlife by
With a focus on birds, reptiles, and mammals, Veterinary Diagnostic Imaging: Avian and Exotic Pets discusses veterinary diagnostic imaging and new technologies for multiple modalities to help you accurately diagnose and pinpoint common injuries and disease. Divided into three sections - Birds, Mammals, and Reptiles - each section includes valuable information on positioning for specific structures, imaging findings, and more for each species with a wealth of photographs to provide real-life examples. Atlas-sized radiographs allow you to easily visualize the injury or indication of disease. Comparison radiographs display a normal image with an abnormal image to highlight differences and help you identify abnormalities in practice. "Telescopic" images provide close-up views of larger radiographs to help you identify salient points visible in the radiograph. Content tailored to each species highlights the common injuries and diseases for each avian and exotic species. Discussions of multiple modalities including ultrasound, MRI, and CT provide all the information you need for diagnostic imaging in one resource.
Call Number: SF757.8 .F37 2009ISBN: 0323025277Publication Date: 2008-05-28
