Veterinary Technology
Selected resources available through UMass and 5 Colleges for Students in the Mount Ida Vet Tech Program or other Animal and Biological Sciences programs at UMass Amherst. Resources include topical selections, general information, and career materials.
Online Resources
- Plumb's Veterinary Drugs This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Find the drug interactions, dosages, and adverse effects for veterinary drugs.
eBooks
Comparative and Veterinary Pharmacology by
The human-animal bond has evolved and diversi?ed down the ages. Dogs, cats and even horses, have long ful?lled the role of faithful companion and indeed, as exempli?ed by the introduction of seeing and hearing dogs, there may be a critical level of co-dependency between the species. In the twenty-?rst century, the animal types that are kept as pets in many parts of the world are extensive ranging from reptiles through rodents to ruminants and beyond. As would be predicted by the nature of the relationship, the approach to treatment of a companion animal is often closely aligned to that which would have been offered to their owner. However, an increasing awareness of welfare issues, such as the recognition that animals expe- ence pain and the proven bene?ts of disease prevention in intensive farming units, together with the growth in zoos and wildlife parks, has increased the likelihood of food producing and non-domesticated animals receiving medicinal products during their life-time. Although many of the individual drugs or classes of drugs administered to animals are the same as, or derived from, those given to man, the safe and effective use of drugs in animals often cannot be achieved by simply transposing knowledge of drug action on, or behaviour in, the body from one species to another. The impact of the anatomical, physiological and pathophysiological variability that spans the animal kingdom can often profoundly alter drug response.
ISBN: 9783642103247Publication Date: 2010-03-10
Drug Therapy for Infectious Diseases of the Dog and Cat by
Drug Therapy for Infectious Diseases of the Dog and Cat provides fast access to all the information needed to effectively and responsibly treat infectious disease in dogs and cats, with easy searching by either drug or organism. Provides fast access to essential information on prescribing antibiotics, antifungals, antiparasitics, and antivirals Offers alphabetical searching by either drug or organism Focuses on clinically relevant information Covers information on each drug using a common format for ease of use Presents a reliable quick reference to the correct use of antibiotics in veterinary practice
Call Number: SF991 .W543 2015eb E-BookISBN: 9781118557457Publication Date: 2015-05-11
Equine Pharmacology by
Equine Pharmacology combines highly practical therapeutic guidance with reliable scientific background information to provide a clinically relevant resource. Taking a body systems approach to the subject, the book offers the equine clinician fast access to drug options for a given disease, with additional information available for reference as needed. Logically organized to lead the reader through the clinical decision-making process, Equine Pharmacology is a user-friendly reference for pharmacological information on the horse. The book begins with a general review section presenting the principles of antimicrobials, anesthesia, analgesics, anti-parasitics, foals, fluid therapy, and drug and medication control programs. The remainder of the book is devoted to a body systems approach to therapeutics, allowing the reader to search by affected system or specific disease to find detailed advice on drug therapy. Equine Pharmacology is an invaluable addition to the practice library for any clinician treating equine patients.
Call Number: SF951 .E685 2015eb E-BookISBN: 9781118845189Publication Date: 2014-09-03
Pain Management for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses by
Pain Management for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses guides readers through the important concepts of animal pain management, providing specific approaches to managing pain in a wide variety of veterinary conditions. Emphasizing the technician's role in advocating for the patient, the book equips technicians with the knowledge needed to manage pain in dogs, cats, horses, livestock, exotics, and zoo animals. Logically and comprehensively covering this difficult subject, Pain Management for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses provides both introductory material on the tenets of pain management and specific techniques to apply in the clinical setting. With information on recognizing and understanding pain, the physiology of pain, pharmacology, and analgesia in different settings, the book outlines how to practice good pain management as an integral part of nursing care. Pain Management for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses provides both basic and advanced information, allowing students, practicing veterinary technicians and nurses, and veterinary staff alike to take a more active role in pain management and develop a more thorough understanding of this complex subject.
ISBN: 9781118811016Publication Date: 2014-09-29
Textbook for the Veterinary Assistant by
Textbook for the Veterinary Assistant offers a comprehensive guide to the NAVTA-approved curriculum for veterinary assisting programs. Written by leaders in the profession and copublished with NAVTA, the book covers the complete list of NAVTA Veterinary Assistant Essential Skills. Specifically tailored for veterinary assistants and veterinary assistant students, the book uses an engaging writing style to provide a concise, user-friendly approach to the material. With chapters on medical terminology, clinical skills, office procedures, client communication, and more, the book equips veterinary assistants with all the information they need to succeed. A companion website offers interactive multiple-choice questions, the figures from the book in PowerPoint, teaching activities, breed study guides, and a sample cover letter. Textbook for the Veterinary Assistant is a must-have resource for all veterinary assistant students and those studying for the Approved Veterinary Assistant certification exam, and serves as a useful refresher for veterinary assistants in practice.
Call Number: SF761 .T49 2014eb E-BookISBN: 9781118813959Publication Date: 2014-04-17
Veterinary Pharmacology and Therapeutics by
Provides current, detailed information on using drug therapies in all major domestic animal species. Exhaustive information on the rational use of drugs in veterinary medicine Includes extensive tables of pharmacokinetic data, products available, and dosage regimens Adds new chapters on pharmaceutics, ophthalmic pharmacology, food animal pharmacology, and aquatic animal pharmacology Includes access to a companion website with the figures from the book in PowerPoint
ISBN: 9781118855775Publication Date: 2017-11-29
Print resources available through UMass Amherst
Applied Pharmacology for Veterinary Technicians 5th edition by
Designed specifically for veterinary technicians, this essential resource offers detailed guidance on key topics such as managing medication inventory, dispensing veterinarian prescribed drugs, calculating drug dosages, administering medications to animals, and educating clients about drug side effects and precautions. Up-to-date drug information is presented in a consistent, easy-to-use format that includes pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics, clinical uses, dosage forms, and adverse side effects. Illustrated, step-by-step procedures demonstrate proper administration techniques for common drug forms. Illustrated, step-by-step procedures demonstrate proper administration techniques for common drug forms. Body systems organization provides a logical sequence of study, followed by anti-infectives, antiparasitics, anti-inflammatory agents, and others. Dosage calculation exercises provide practice immediately after new information is presented. Proprietary drug names are listed with generic drug names, highlighting drugs with generic options. Review questions reinforce understanding of key concepts, with answers located in the back of the book. An Evolve companion website provides drug administration videos, drug calculators with accompanying word problems, photos of drug labels, animations of pharmacologic processes, and dosage calculation exercises. Key terms, chapter outlines, and learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter make studying easier. Technician Notes provide useful hints and important reminders to help you avoid common errors and increase your efficiency. UNIQUE Pharmacy Management and Inventory Control chapter offers practical tips relating to vendor types, communicating with sales representatives, and using veterinary practice management software. Now in full color, UPDATED drug information keeps you current with the latest pharmacologic agents and their uses, adverse side effects, and dosage forms. NEW coverage of stem cell treatment in Immunologic Drugs chapter addresses scientific advances in this area. UPDATED fluid therapy chapter explains the role of parenteral fluids, oral fluids, and nutritional products in drug therapy.
Call Number: SF915 .W36 2015ISBN: 9780323186629Publication Date: 2014-03-27
Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics for the Veterinary Technician 3rd edition by
In order to facilitate a better understanding of the "how's" and "why's" behind current drug therapies administered in the veterinary field, this text takes a comprehensive look at therapeutic agents in use today. Following a unique body systems organization method, this text clearly identifies and rationalizes the effects of veterinary medication treatments that will allow better anticipation of a patient's response to various remedies. A variety of review methods including self-tests, summary tables, and critical thinking questions aid the reader's understanding of material presented and allow for practical application in the veterinary world. Covers fundamental principles of pharmacology in a manner appropriate for both veterinary technicians and students. Provides strong introductory content on safety, terminology, pharmaceutical procedures, drug handling, dosage calculations, and pharmacokinetics. Systematically organized, using chapter outlines for ease of pinpointing desired material, key terms, and learning objectives to better focus readers' learning. Summarizes ideas presented using review questions to better facilitate comprehension, and integrated Pharm Facts boxes highlighting important points within the text. Contains the latest OSHA requirements of safe drug and chemical handling in professional environments. New and updated information is presented on all drug categories including new types, applications of existing drugs, and descriptions of previous methods employed. The original, modern design features using a full-color format, new artwork, and a visually engaging design. "Clinical Applications" vignettes included in the text emphasize concepts related to how problems have arisen with individual drugs or therapies, and what can be learned to avoid similar situations. Self-test questions have been added to the end of each chapter, to help readers prepare for national and state credentialing examinations, as well as classroom work.
Call Number: SF915 .B55 2006ISBN: 0323011136Publication Date: 2006-06-13
Exotic Animal Formulary by
The 2nd Edition of this very popular pocket guide provides quick, convenient access to essential pharmacology information. Fully updated, it presents the latest medications and dosages for fish, reptiles, birds, rodents, amphibians, primates, and other exotic species. What's more, appendices offer biologic and physiologic norms, antibiotic classifications and indications, and conversion tables.
Call Number: SF917 .C27 2001ISBN: 9780721683126Publication Date: 2000-10-27
Pain Management, an Issue of Veterinary Clinics: Food Animal Practice by
A comprehensive review of pain management and anesthesia for the food animal practitioner! Topics include assessment and management of pain, regulatory considerations for approving analgesic drugs, review of analgesic compounds, assessment and management of pain associated with castration in cattle, extra-label use of analgesic compounds in cattle, visual assessment of pain and sickness, telemetric assessment of pain and health, assessment and management of pain during surgery, anesthesia and chemical restraint, economics of pain management, and much more!
Call Number: SF601 .V535 2013 v.29 no. 1ISBN: 9781455773497Publication Date: 2013-03-01
