Veterinary Technology

The anatomy and physiology of animals by J. Ruth Lawson Veterinary nurses need to have a firm grasp of the normal structure of an animal's body and how it functions before they can understand the effect diseases and injuries have and the best ways to treat them. This book describes the structure of the animal body and the way in which it works. Animals encountered in normal veterinary practice are used as examples where possible.

Comparative Anatomy and Histology by Piper M. Treuting (Editor); Suzanne M. Dintzis (Editor); Kathleen S. Montine (Editor) Aimed at the new rodent investigator as well as medical and veterinary pathologists who need to expand their knowledge base into comparative anatomy and histology. It guides the reader through normal mouse and rat anatomy and histology using direct comparison to the human. The side by side comparison of mouse, rat, and human tissues highlight the unique biology of the rodents, which has great impact on the validation of rodent models of human disease.

The Encyclopedia of Farm Animal Nutrition by M. F. Fuller (Editor); Roger F. E. Axford (Contribution by); N. Benevenga (Contribution by); Santosh Lall (Contribution by); Kelvin McCracken (Contribution by); Hussain Omed (Contribution by) The Encyclopedia of Farm Animal Nutrition deals with the whole of farm animal nutrition, embracing a wide range of disciplines, including physiology, biochemistry, veterinary medicine and feed technology. The encyclopedia contains approximately 2000 entries from 90 contributors. These entries range from short definitions to more discursive articles, all entries are fully cross-referenced to aid further research. The encyclopedia covers every type of farm animal found in both developing and developed countries....

Feeding in Domestic Vertebrates by V. L. Bels The aim of this volume is to provide advanced students and researchers with a review of current knowledge of feeding in domestic mammals and birds. The first few chapters cover feeding structures and mechanisms in birds and mammals. The rest of the book then presents chapters on feeding behavior in particular species. The scope is wide, covering not only ruminants and pigs, but also more specifically horses, rabbits and ostrich.

The inner bird: anatomy and evolution by Gary W. Kaiser "The Inner Bird introduces readers to the avian skeleton, then moves beyond anatomy to discuss the relationships between birds and dinosaurs and other early ancestors. Gary Kaiser examines the challenges scientists face in understanding avian evolution."--Jacket.

A Practical Guide to the Feeding of Organic Farm Animals by Robert Blair Authored by renowned animal scientist Robert Blair, A Practical Guide to the Feeding of Organic Farm Animals aims to translate the science of feeding organic livestock and distill it into practical guidance for farmers and producers. The latest research is broken down into a practical approach to on-the-farm feeding, providing applied methodology backed up by scientific research. There is also advice on making the transition from conventional to organic farming systems regarding feeding.

Primate Anatomy by Friderun Ankel-Simons Primate Anatomy synthesizes the taxonomy, anatomy, physiology, and genomics of extant primates, including humans. It takes a holistic approach to describing primate skeletal, muscular, and organ structure and function, providing the tools to understanding the fundamentals. This work introduces its audience to the history and objectives of the field of primatology. It enumerates and profiles extant primates before delving into detailed descriptions of primate skulls, brains, teeth, skeletons, musculature, organs, blood groups, reproduction, and development. In addition, the book highlights recent advances in primate genomics, including new genera and species assignments, and concludes with a glance at the future of the field. It will serve as an excellent reference for technical and non-technical audiences, including primatologists, anatomists, paleontologists, anthropologists, conservationists, and naturalists.

Clinical Radiology of the Horse by Paul W. Poulos; Janet A. Butler; Christopher M. Colles; Sue J. Dyson; Svend E. Kold

Textbook for the Veterinary Assistant by Kara M. Burns; Lori Renda-Francis

Illustrated Veterinary Anatomical Nomenclature Latin-English by Oskar Schaller Depicts and defines more than 6500 structures named in the "Nomina Anatomica Veterinaria" (NAV), aiding the user in understanding anatomy and in clarifying its concepts. This book focuses on the gross anatomical structures of the cat, dog, pig, ox, sheep, goat, and horse.

Textbook of Veterinary Histology by Jo Ann Eurell (Editor); Horst-Dieter Dellmann; Brian L. Frappier (Editor) This edition continues the student-friendly tradition originated by Dr. Dellman, presenting the basics of histology including cytology and microscopic anatomy. The Sixth Edition focuses on the most current knowledge of cell, tissue and organ structure and function. All information has been fully revised and updated by the authors, both experts in their fields. Written with first year veterinary students in mind.

Veterinary Anatomy by Michael J. Shively; Sharon Ashby (Illustrator) An accurate, readable summary of the essentials of veterinary anatomy. Written in particular for veterinary students, who are frequently bewildered by anatomic texts in which the essential facts are camouflaged by trivial details. (from preface)

Applied Veterinary Anatomy by Alexander De Lahunta; Robert E. Habel Reviews the anatomical basis for the solution of everyday clinical veterinary problems. Chapters are organized by body region and oriented toward clearly defined practical objectives. Detailed line drawings demonstrate the anatomical features that form the basis for diagnostic, medical, surgical, obstetric, and post-mortem procedures.

Clinical Anatomy and Physiology for Veterinary Technicians by Thomas P. Colville; Joanna M. Bassert Examine the diverse ways animal bodies function at both the systemic and cellular levels with this vital resource. It brings you clear coverage essential to understanding the clinical relevance of anatomical and physiological principles. Clinical application boxes help you sharpen your skills and apply principles to practice. Test Yourself boxes throughout chapters emphasize important study points. (Publisher).

Clinical Anatomy and Physiology for Veterinary Technicians by Thomas P. Colville; Joanna M. Bassert Veterinary technicians must have a solid grasp of the underlying science in their field, and anatomy and physiology is a key component of the veterinary technology curriculum. The first comprehensive work designed to cover clinically relevant A&P content. Written by veterinary technician educators at a level appropriate for students, it covers dogs, cats, horses, and cattle, integrated throughout each chapter. A separate chapter at the end of the book is devoted to birds.