Journalism

Massachusetts Based Newspaper Collections in Library Databases

The following resources link to digital library collections of current and historic newspapers based in Massachusetts many of which can only be accessed through the library.

Boston Globe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Massachusetts' newspaper of record, 1980-present. Recent content is fully digitized from Jan 1, 2008 (Vol. 273) - present (delayed 3 months).

Users must limit their search to "full text" on the left side of the screen to make sure they only get results that include the Full Text. Without the limiter, the "abstracts" will be indexed as well.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Historical Newspaper: Boston Globe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Massachusetts' newspaper of record, 1872-1991. Additional content is added yearly.

Users must limit their search to "full text" on the left side of the screen to make sure they only get results that include the Full Text. Without the limiter, the "abstracts" will be indexed as well.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Massachusetts NewsBank This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Massachusetts Daily Newspapers: Amherst Bulletin, Daily Hampshire Gazette, Springfield Republican, Greenfield Recorder, Valley Advocate, and five more Massachusetts city newspapers. 1990's to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Springfield Newspapers
Link to all historic Springfield newspapers (Republican, Union News, Daily News) from 1844 to present