Journalism
Your Librarian
Jeremy Smith
he, him, his
Contact:
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
154 Hicks Way
Amherst, MA 01003
154 Hicks Way
Amherst, MA 01003
413-545-6729
Subjects: Journalism
Guides and Handbooks
- First Amendment HandbookProvides information on laws affecting reporters’ rights to gather and disseminate news. Produced by the Reporters Committee for the Freedom of the Press.
- Freedom of Information ActDepartment of Justice's page containing information about the Freedom of Information Act.
- Journalists ToolboxA collection of resources from the Society of Professional Journalists on covering everything from fact checking to how to cover various topics.
- Open Meeting Law Guide (Massachusetts)The Attorney General Office's guide to regulations governing public meetings in Massachusetts. Outlines what topics government bodies can discuss in private.
Reporting on Numbers & Statistics
- Writing Well with NumbersFrom calculating percentage to distinguishing between mean and median, these resources provide journalists with essential math basics.
Reporting on Government Data, Statistics, & Demographics
- Census Bureau Economic IndicatorsIncludes data on key economic indicators including residential construction, home ownership, housing vacancies, new residential sales and construction spending.
- City-DataCompilation of statistics on US cities including real estate prices, crime statistics, cost of living, weather data and more.
- Compare 50Research how one state’s economy has performed over time as well as how it compared with other states, and to the United States as a whole.
- FedStatsFedStats supports a community of practice for over 100 agencies engaged in the production and dissemination of official federal statistics, and provides the public with a showcase of information, tools and news related to official federal statistics.
- Follow the MoneyProvides campaign contribution details for candidates, political parties and ballot measures.
- Kaiser State Health FactsFeatures health-related data and statistics for the United States.
- Massachusetts Political AlmanacA comprehensive directory of the Mass legislature, judicial and executive branches.
- Government InformationA project of the American Library Association's Government Documents Round Table (GODORT). These free resources were created by various GODORT committees or are sponsored by GODORT to help promote the use of and enhance access to government information in all formats.
Reporting on Science
- EurekAlert!From the American Association for the Advancement of Science includes background on scientific terms. Provides links to glossaries and dictionaries.
- Science Resources for JournalistsMetcalf Institute for Marine & Environmental Reporting features resources for scientific and environmental reporting.
- WhatIs.comA glossary of computer and technical terms run by TechTarget media.
Advocacy
- Committee to Protect JournalistsDubbed journalism's "Red Cross," CPJ is dedicated to promoting the freedom of the press and defending journalists' rights.
- Freedom ForumA nonpartisan, international foundation advocating free press and speech rights for all people. Features the First Amendment Center.
- Investigative Reporters and EditorsA grassroots nonprofit organization dedicated to improving the quality of investigative reporting.
- Reporters Committee for the Freedom of the PressA non-profit association that provides free legal assistance to journalists.
- The Student Press Law CenterAdvocates for student First Amendment rights, for freedom of online speech, and for open government on campus
A Few Books About Journalism
Mary Mcgrory by Call Number: PN4874.M4839 N67 2015ISBN: 9780525429715Publication Date: 2015-09-22"A wildly entertaining biography of the trailblazing Washington columnist and the first woman to win the Pulitzer Prize for commentary. Before there was Maureen Dowd or Gail Collins or Molly Ivins, there was Mary McGrory. She was a trailblazing columnist who achieved national syndication and reported from the front lines of American politics for five decades."
Bias by Call Number: PN4784.O24 G65 2002ISBN: 9780895261908Publication Date: 2001-11-01A veteran CBS reporter exposes how liberal bias pervades the mainstream media, arguing that fairness, balance, and integrity have disappeared from network television.
Edward R. Murrow and the Birth of Broadcast Journalism by Call Number: PN4874.M89 E38 2004ISBN: 9780471477532Publication Date: 2004-04-01Long before the era of the news anchor, the pundit, and the mini-cam, one man blazed a trail that thousands would follow. Edwards brings to life the great stories Murrow covered and brought into American living rooms for the first time--the rooftop reports of the London Blitz, bombing raids over Berlin, and the 1954 broadcast that helped bring down Senator Joe McCarthy--as well as the ups and downs of his career at CBS. Edwards reveals how Murrow dramatically impacted public opinion and how the high standards he lived by influenced an entire generation of broadcasters.
