Journalism
Your Librarian
Jeremy Smith
he, him, his
Contact:
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
154 Hicks Way
Amherst, MA 01003
154 Hicks Way
Amherst, MA 01003
413-545-6729
Subjects: Journalism
Newspapers
The library maintains significant collections of current and historical newspapers from the dawn of print journalism to today. These collections can be found in four locations:
- digital, in library databases
- on microfilm, viewable on a microfilm machine
- in bound volumes, on library shelves.
- in the Current Periodicals area of the Learning Commons on the Lower Level
"Newspapers B&W (1)" by Jon S. is licensed under CC BY 2.0
In addition to the many library databases (see additional pages of this Guide), there are many resources that are freely available on the web. Below are a few of those places.
Web and Print Resources for Newspapers
- Gale directory of publications and broadcast mediaContains listings for radio and television stations and cable companies. Print media entries provide address; phone, fax numbers, and e-mail addresses; key personnel, including feature editors; and much more. Broadcast media entries provide address; phone, fax, and e-mail addresses; key personnel; owner information; hours of operation; networks carried and more. Scope includes U.S., Canadian, and international media.
- Library of Congress Newspaper & Current Periodical Reading RoomThe Serial & Government Publications Division of the Library of Congress maintains one of the most extensive newspaper collections in the world. It is exceptionally strong in US newspapers, with 9,000 titles covering the past three centuries. With over 25,000 non-US titles, it is the largest collection of overseas newspapers in the world. Beyond its newspaper holdings, the Division also has extensive collections of current periodicals (70,000 titles) comic books (over 7,000 titles) and government publications (1 million items). Although most of this material is only available in Washington, D.C., the Chronicling America website has many pre-1923 newspapers.
- Newspaper CatNewspaper Cat provides access to more than 1,500 full-text newspapers on the open web.
- UlrichsWeb Global Serials DirectoryTop source for information about current domestic and international magazines, journals and newspapers.
- Who Owns WhatA guide to what news sources media companies own.
