Journalism

International Newspapers in Library Databases

The following resources link to digital library collections of current and historic international newspapers many of which can only be found here.

AllAfrica This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News stories from a full range of local newspapers from all over the African continent, 1997-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
African Newspapers: World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
African colonial newspapers in European and African languages, late 19th and early 20th centuries.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, New World Slavery and more through 18th and 19th century Caribbean newspapers. Contains 66 newspaper titles from 22 islands between 1718-1876.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Historical Chinese Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
English-language newspapers published in China. Coverage spans 1832-1953, with most content from 1910-1940.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Japan Times Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized issues of The Japan Times, The Japan Advertiser, The Japan Times & Mail, The Japan Times and Advertiser (Morning ed.) , Japan Times and Advertiser (Evening ed.) and the Nippon Times; includes all issues since March 22, 1897.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Latin American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thirty five searchable newspapers from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere, 1805-1922.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News, business and legal sources
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Middle East Newsstand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 30 current, full text newspaper French and English language newspapers from the Arab world, Israel, and the subcontinent.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Naver News Library This link opens in a new window
Four major Korean newspapers: Dong-A ilbo, 1920-1999; Kyunghyang Shinmun, 1946-1999; Maeil Business Newspaper, 1966-1999; and The Hankyoreh, 1988-1999. Displays in original text, Korean version text, and original images.
Content is freely available for use by all.
People's Daily (Ren Min Ri Bao) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Chinese newspaper of record, 1946-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
On the landing page, you will use the “click here” link underneath “People’s Daily – Renmin Ribao (1946-present)" to access the database.
There is a maximum of two (2) simultaneous users for this database.
Yomidasu Rekishikan ヨミダス歴史館 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Japan's largest newspaper, Yomiuri Shinbum, in full text, 1874-present. Includes English edition, Daily Yomiuri, 1989-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

International Newspapers on the Web

ALJAZEERA America
Newspaper Map
Provides access to 10,000 newspapers from around the world.

Journalism

Your Librarian

International Newspapers in Library Databases

International Newspapers on the Web