Libraries Information Literacy Modules
- Overview
- Module LinksToggle Dropdown
- Pre-Test
- Introduction to Information Literacy
- Introduction to the Research Process
- Starting Your Research
- Types of Research Materials Lite
- Types of Research Materials Advanced
- Peer Review
- Search Strategies Lite
- Search Strategies Advanced
- How to Read Scholarly Materials
- Bias in Research
- Evaluating Information
- Synthesizing Information
- Evaluating & Synthesizing Information
- Fake News
- Anatomy of a Research Paper
- Digital Privacy
- Annotated Bibliography
- Preparing for Presentations
- Citations (APA 6th)
- Citations (APA 7th)
- Citations (MLA 7th)
- Citations (MLA 8th)
- Citations (Turabian)
- Citations (Harvard)
- Citations (Chicago 17th)
- Academic Integrity & Plagiarism
- Visual Literacy
- Using & Evaluating Quantitative Data
- Evidence-based Reasoning
- Introduction to Cultural Issues in Research
- Civic Engagement
- Post-Test
Getting Started Using Library Information Literacy Modules
Ask a Librarian
Need assistance finding the appropriate modules or integrating them into your course? Your library liaison can help!
- Text 413.650.6269
How can Faculty use Library Information Literacy Modules?
The Libraries' Information Literacy Modules are a set of online videos, text tutorials, and quizzes covering topics relating to information literacy. UMass Amherst Libraries are making available these standalone resources to Faculty to use independently in any of your classes. You can link this content wherever you like, and use as much or as little of this content with your students.
Overview of the Modules
The Libraries Information Literacy Modules contain 107 unique videos, tutorials, and quizzes on information literacy. We have organized these modules into 33 bundles that address topics across the spectrum of information literacy issues.
- Pre-Test (17-23 minutes)20 Questions that anticipate the information literacy content across the modules.
- Introduction to Information Literacy (35-47 minutes)Two modules discuss why information literacy is relevant today and the impact of the changing information landscape on finding and using information. Includes Pre-Test.
- Introduction to the Research Process (43-54 minutes)Five modules guide students through understanding the importance of background research, focusing a research question, understanding the role of Google and Wikipedia in gathering research, and developing a scholarly mindset.
- Starting Your Research (26-31 minutes)Six modules cover the review basic research strategies, including developing and narrowing a research focus and writing thesis statements.
- Types of Research Materials Lite (27-30minutes)Seven modules discuss the relationship between data, information, and knowledge and describe differences between source types.
- Types of Research Materials Advanced (61-75 minutes)Building on the "Types of Research Materials Lite" bundle, this set includes additional tutorials and quizzes on source types.
- Peer Review (8-11 minutes)The media in this bundle explain the process and purpose of peer review.
- Search Strategies Lite (77-95 minutes)Six modules guide students through the search process, from identify search needs and the appropriate databases, to using keywords and refining searches to get the best results.
- Search Strategies Advanced (96-121 minutes)Includes the same media as the Search Strategies Lite bundle, with additional tutorials and quizzes.
- How to Read Scholarly Materials (14-17 minutes)Three modules offer strategies for approaching and reading scholarly materials.
- Bias in Research (13-16 minutes)Four modules introduce the concepts of authority and bias in research, and guide students in recognizing bias when evaluating sources.
- Evaluating Information (53-58 minutes)Four modules encourage students to think critically and read laterally when evaluating sources.
- Synthesizing Information (41-49 minutes)Four modules introduce the principles and techniques of synthesizing information from multiple sources for research.
- Evaluating & Synthesizing Information (94-107 minutes)This bundle combines the Evaluating Information and Synthesizing Information modules.
- Fake News (76-85 minutes)Four modules introduce students to the characteristics of misinformation in research and journalism and encourage lateral reading to evaluate sources.
- Anatomy of a Research Paper (69-80 minutes)Seven modules cover the basics of academic writing, including the structure of an academic paper, strategies for writing an academic paper, and techniques for summarizing and paraphrasing.
- Digital Privacy (23 minutes)This module will introduce students to the idea of digital privacy and their responsibilities as information users.
- Annotated Bibliography (16-18 minutes)This module explains annotated bibliographies and the role annotations play in research and scholarship.
- Preparing for Presentations (5 minutes)Two modules encourage students to ask questions to help shape work that is presented or written.
- Citations (APA 6th) (40-49 minutes)Four modules review APA 6th Citation Style, including discussion of why citations are important.
- Citations (APA 7th) (47-58 minutes)Four modules review APA 7th Citation Style, including discussion of why citations are important.
- Citations (MLA 7th) (17-18 minutes)Two modules provide an overview of MLA 7th Citation Style; includes discussion of why citations are important.
- Citations (MLA 8th) (46-55 minutes)Four modules introduce MLA 8th Citation Style, including discussion of why citations are important.
- Citations (Turabian) (23-27 minutes)Three modules introduce the Turabian Citation Style, including discussion of why citations are important.
- Citations (Harvard) (17-18 minutes)These modules introduces students to the Harvard Citation Style, including discussion of why citations matter.
- Citations (Chicago 17th) (34-40 minutes)Five modules introduce students to the Chicago 17th Citation Style, including discussion of why citations are important.
- Academic Integrity & Plagiarism (16-19 minutes)Four modules guide students in understanding ethics in academic writing, including plagiarism and the appropriate use of intellectual property.
- Visual Literacy (16-19 minutes)Four modules cover the basics of visual literacy, including defining what visual literacy is and offering strategies for searching for and interpreting images.
- Using & Evaluating Quantitative Data (12-15 minutes)Three modules provide an introduction to using and interpreting quantitative data.
- Evidence-based Reasoning (49-54 minutes)Five modules discuss elements of critical thinking and logical thought, including evidence-based reasoning, inquisitiveness, and pattern-finding in an analytical mindset.
- Introduction to Cultural Issues in Research (12-15 minutes)These three modules address issues of cultural interconnectedness and makes distinctions between generalizations and stereotypes.
- Civic Engagement (12-15 minutes)Three modules define engaged citizenship and introduce steps for taking civic action.
- Post-Test (16-21 minutes)20 unique questions covering all concepts in the Library Information Literacy Modules.
- Last Updated: Aug 7, 2024 4:01 PM
- URL: https://guides.library.umass.edu/InfoLitModules
- Print Page
