Last Updated: Dec 11, 2012
- UMass Interlibrary Loan
Borrow books from libraries outside of the Five Colleges or request copies of articles and materials from any library.
A citation management service for storing and formatting bibliographic references.
- Journalism Program
UMass Amherst's Journalism Department.
Journalism from independent media.
- American Civil Liberties Union
National organization advocating individual rights.
- Center for Investigative Reporting
Founded in 1977, the Center for Investigative Reporting is the nation's oldest nonprofit investigative news organization, producing multimedia reporting that has impact and is relevant to people's lives.
- Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting
National journalism watchdog group.
- Federal Communications Commission
Organization regulating communication systems.
Stock, archival, and news footage search engine.
- Freedom of Information Act
Department of Justice's page containing information about the Freedom of Information Act.
- Journalist's Toolbox
A website of the Society of Professional Journalists.
The official website of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.
Interactive museum about the news.
- Poynter Institute
The Poynter Institute is a school for journalists, future journalists, and teachers of journalists.
- Project Censored
Tracks stories that are marginalized, ignored, misrepresented, or censored by the mainstream media.
- Project for Excellence in Journalism
From the Pew Research Center.
- Well Connected Project of the Center for Public Integrity
Technology has created a chessboard of corporate and government interests in telecommunications and media. The players battle it out in Congress, at the Federal Communications Commission and in state houses. The "Well Connected" Project tracks this inside influence game.
RSS Feeds from BBC, CNN, Fox, MSNBC and NPR
- Academic Search Premier
A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.
Hundreds of U.S. alternative newspapers.
- Biography in Context
Full-text articles providing extensive biographical information.
Abstracts on communication theory, interpersonal communication, mass communication, advertising and marketing, broadcasting, journalism, public opinion, and public relations.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete
Abstracts and full-text articles from core journals in communication, journalism, etc.
- CQ Researcher
Noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Interdisciplinary fulltext database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
- Facts on File World News Digest
Reports and articles from magazines and scholarly journals concerning masculinity, feminism, homosexuality, and gender roles, 1970-present.
- Left Index
Citations to articles in scholarly and non-scholarly periodicals with a leftist perspective.
- LexisNexis Academic
Massive database of US and international newspapers; case and statutory law and law reviews; business periodicals, 1980-present.
- LexisNexis Statistical Insight
References to statistical reports from federal, state and local governments, private organizations, and intergovernmental agencies, 1973-present.
- PAIS International
Public and social policy literature in political science, international relations, social sciences. Articles, government documents, reports, 1972-present.
- Westlaw Campus Research
Legal encyclopedias, law reviews, and legal treatises; case, statutory, and regulatory law; newspapers and magazines; business data, 1980's-present.
Research and Liaison Services
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
(413) 577-1536 (fax)Send Email
, Film Studies
, German and Scandinavian Studies
, Library Science
, Medieval Studies
, Religious Studies
, Slavic and East European Studies