Women, Gender, Sexuality Studies

General guide for library research in Women, Gender, Sexuality Studies

Research Databases: Women & History

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews, many in full text, relating to United States and Canadian history and prehistory, 1954-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Primary and secondary source materials, focusing on women's history.

Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
US and Canadian dissertations and theses from 1861 to present. Mostly full-text 1997 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Five College Archives & Manuscript Collections
Historical records including letters, diaries, photographs, maps, artifacts and more housed at the 5 College Libraries
Harvard Schlesinger Library
The Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America exists to document women's lives and endeavors. Its wealth of resources reveals the wide range of women's activities at home in the United States and abroad from the early nineteenth century to the present day.

Historical Abstracts Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, many in full text, and citations to books and dissertations on world history from 1450, published 1954-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source material for life as it was lived by 1,325 women in North America, 1675-1950.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

UMass Amherst Special Collections & University Archives
Search tool of historical records housed in the UMass Amherst Libraries Special Collections & University Archives

Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary and secondary sources on women's involvement in historical events in the United States. Includes books, pamphlets, papers, and articles.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Women and Social Movements International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Women activists' letters and diaries, conference proceedings, and other primary and secondary sources 1840-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.