Women, Gender, Sexuality Studies

General guide for library research in Women, Gender, Sexuality Studies

Library Guide to WGSS 301: Theorizing Gender, Race, and Power

Library guide created by Isabel Espinal, Librarian for Women, Gender, Sexuality Studies, for Professor Beaudelaine Pierre, Fall 2024.

Citation Management

Use a citation manager, such as Zotero to keep track of your research.

Put all your references in one place, create quick and easy bibliographies, build your knowledgebase for the rest of your career. For help, check out the online guides and webinars or Ask a Librarian.

Some tips on using Chicago notation style with Zotero.

Peer reviewed articles

Many databases have a filter for peer reviewed articles.

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews, many in full text, relating to United States and Canadian history and prehistory, 1954-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Black Studies This link opens in a new window
Broad collection of Black history materials. Includes primary sources (newspapers, archival documents, interviews) and secondary sources (essays, government materials, videos), 1650-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combines key indices (Schomburg, IIBP, etc) to scholarship and primary sources in Afro-American studies.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Discovery Search This link opens in a new window
Find articles across a large number of library resources with just one search! Begin your generalized research here.
Free to use for anyone to find records. Some results, and detailed information such as PDFs and full text links, are available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic communities in the United States. In several languages, 1965-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from magazines and scholarly journals concerning masculinity, feminism, homosexuality, and gender roles, 1970-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Use to access many UMass online journal subscriptions.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

You can access Google Scholar with UMLinks buttons from outside the UMass Amherst IP range ("off campus") by two methods:

1. Access Google Scholar through the Library web site by using this link.
2. Go to generic Google Scholar.
a. Click on "Settings."
b. Click on Library links.
c. Type in "University of Massachusetts" or "UMass Amherst" (or a few other variations).
d. Check "University of Massachusetts Amherst - UMass Check for Full Text" and Save.
e. You will be asked to authenticate somewhere along the way to full text.
Historical Abstracts Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, many in full text, and citations to books and dissertations on world history from 1450, published 1954-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, and conference papers on sociology and related disciplines, 1960-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Finding media articles in specific sources

Finding Media articles from sources suggested by Professor Pierre:

· Jezebel Magazine

· Ms. Magazine

· New York Times Gender & Society

· Science Daily

· Discover

· Washington Post Health and Science section

· Mother Jones Magazine

· Nature

Databases for popular magazines & newspapers

Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Several hundred U.S. alternative newsweeklies, covering issues like the environment, labor, public policy, and the peace movement, 1970-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Boston Globe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Massachusetts' newspaper of record, 1980-present. Recent content is fully digitized from Jan 1, 2008 (Vol. 273) - present (delayed 3 months).

Users must limit their search to "full text" on the left side of the screen to make sure they only get results that include the Full Text. Without the limiter, the "abstracts" will be indexed as well.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic communities in the United States. In several languages, 1965-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Contemporary news from around the world. Focusing on newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, video, and podcasts from today to the 1980s.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
New York Times Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NYTimes.com Academic Pass users have access to the New York Times from 1851 to present, plus all multimedia, and to the NYT smartphone app.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Creating an Account
For instructions on how to create a account valid for four years with your UMass email, please visit this guide for step by step instructions.
Readers' Guide Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for articles from popular periodicals from the U.S. and Canada, 1890-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Middle East Newsstand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 30 current, full text newspaper French and English language newspapers from the Arab world, Israel, and the subcontinent.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.