Nursing 312: Cultural Diversity in Health and Illness

A guide for student research.

Books - including eBooks!

Diversity Research Starting Points

Use our specialized library research guides to find scholarly information on issues of diversity and multiculturalism from books, journals, databases, and more.

Afro-American Studies
Education
Judaica and Near Eastern Studies
Latin American Studies
Multicultural/Social Justice Education
(Part of the Education Library Research Guide)
Native American Indian Studies
Women's Studies

More Diversity Databases

Find scholarly information on issues of diversity and multiculturalism in these library databases.

Afro-American Studies
Anthrosource
Anthrosource Virtual Issues
Asian-American Studies
eHRAF World Cultures & Archaeology
Human Relations Area Files, Inc. (HRAF) is an internationally recognized organization in the field of cultural anthropology. Its mission is to provide information that facilitates the cross-cultural study of human behavior, society and culture.
GLBT Studies
Latin American Studies
Middle Eastern & Judaic Studies
Native American Studies
UMASS Library Databases
Women's Studies

Tip for databases

After you've run a search, use the button to retrieve articles or to be taken directly to the Interlibrary Loan request page, so you can order the article if UMass does not have it.

Diversity & Social Science Databases

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, essays and government documents on native North American history and culture from pre-history to the present, 1800-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic communities in the United States. In several languages, 1965-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals on Latin America & the Caribbean, the US-Mexico border area, and U.S. Latinos, 1970-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News, business and legal sources
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles and dissertations on human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, and conference papers on sociology and related disciplines, 1960-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Nursing Databases

Online Nursing and Health Journal Databases

IMPORTANT: Accessing databases from off-campus requires log-in with your OIT user and password.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature Complete includes indexing back to 1937 of over 5,000 journals as well as full-text of over 1,300 journals, 27 books, 134 evidence-based care sheets, 360 research instruments records, 169 quick lessons and more.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Independent evidence-based information to inform healthcare decision making for medical caregivers and patients.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Nursing Journals@Ovid This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of articles from 55 scholarly nursing journals. Coverage varies by journal, but most is from the mid-90's to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database of citations to medical journal articles, with links to UMass-subscribed full text, 1946-present. PubMed includes all MEDLINE content, plus content from additional journals and books in the life sciences.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

School of Nursing Research links:
School of Nursing Research Links: This page provides faculty, students, and visitors with easy access to Internet sites for granting resources, nursing and health organizations, and nursing research journals.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines.Search by cited reference, topic, author, and more. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1900-present; and Science 1900-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Nursing Resource Center
The databases selected for searching offer a combined 3,659,236 articles and were last updated as recently as June 10, 2013

Evaluate the library class

Fill out this anonymous evaluation form and give us feedback on the library instruction by librarians Jim Craig and Isabel Espinal.