Keep your research organized
Put all your references in RefWorks, create quick and easy bibliographies, build your knowledgebase.
Finding Books
To find books at UMass, you have two options.
1. Start with the general search box on the library home page, www.library.umass.edu.
Advantages:
- This catalog gives you access to libraries and collections throughout North America and beyond! It starts with UMass but does not limit you to our catalog.
2. Or, use the Five Colleges Library Catalog.
Advantages:
- This catalog lets you search in some very specifc ways, for example, by Library of Congress Subject Heading. Be as specific as possible in your searching. Start with a subject search (use keyword if subject yields no results). Search by author, title, subject, keyword, call number, journal title, etc. For materials on a specific subject, enter your term(s) into the Subject or Keyword search boxes. See below for some examples of relevant subject headings in Native American Indian Studies.
Research Guides for Classes
![]()
Research guides for specific classes
Anthropology 270: North American Indians
Comparative Literature 791N: Native American Indians & Contemporary Graphic Narrative Arts (by Peter Stern, librarian for Art & Architecture)
Honors 392X: Visions & Revisions: Literary Non-fiction in Social History
Article Databases
Try out these databases, comment on them and rate them too!
- Bibliography of Native North AmericansCovers books, essays, journal articles, and government documents on native North American history and culture from pre-history to the present, 1800-present.
- Ethnic NewsWatchFull-text articles from the newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic communities in the United States. Citations can be exported directly to RefWorks.
- America: History and LifeCitations and abstracts for journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews relating to United States and Canadian history. Citations can exported directly to RefWorks.
- Smithsonian Global SoundMusic from the Americas and elsewhere on the Folkways label. Includes many American Indian cultural groups.
NEW BOOKS!
Books recently acquired by libraries in the Five Colleges on Native American Indian Studies.

Librarian |
Contact Info W.E.B. Du Bois Library University of Massachusetts 154 Hicks Way Amherst, MA 01003 413-545-6817 iespinal@library.umass.edu Send Email About Me: Reference & Research Assistance Desk hours, Spring 2013: Mondays 12:30-2 & Wednesdays 9-11. In New Africa House: Tuesdays 1-2:30, room 323. Also available by appointment. |







Loading...
