Diplomatic reportsLatin American newspapersSpanish colonial history microfilm
Admin Sign In 

Latin American Studies 

This is a guide to resources in Latin American Studies in the W.E.B. Du Bois Library, University of Massachusetts, Amherst.
Last update: Oct 01, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/latam  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Council on Hemispheric Affairs

 

CHA logo

Weekly bulletin from the Council on Hemispheric Affairs, Washington. D.C.

 

 

Doing academic research

Magnifying glass

The links below lead to PowerPoint presentations on how to use the library more effectively. Each PowerPoint presentation will take a few seconds to load, and then it will open as a slide show. When the presentation is over, hit the "Escape" key to return to the LibGuide page.

What is a "refereed" or scholarly article?

Better book searching

How to find articles in the library

Why use WorldCat?

How to use interlibrary loan

How to read call numbers

How to cite books & articles

How to find book reviews

PDF symbolWhere are the books shelved?

PDF iconILL FAQs

 

 

 

 

 
 

Latin American Studies

Map of Latin America

This web guide is designed to assist you in using the Library's Latin American Studies resources, print and virtual.


This website has separate pages for

Latin American e-resources

Encyclopedias and handbooks

Microfilms

TV & movies

Above all, don't hesitate to contact me to request a reference consulation, a bibliographic instruction session at the library for your class, or to suggest purchasing books or other materials to add to our collection. ¡A sus órdenes!

CLACLS banner

UMass Center for Latin American, Caribbean, & Latino Studies

 

Online Journals and Articles (Requires UMass logon)

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) Articles from scholarly journals on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the US -Mexico border area, and US Hispanics, 1970-present.
Handbook of Latin American Studies Citations to works published internationally on Latin America, produced by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, 1936-present. (Open access to public)

ClasePeriódica

Indexes thousands of Latin American science, social science and humanities journals. Articles in Spanish, Portuguese, French, English, 1975-present
Informe Articles from 140 Spanish-language magazines and journals, 1987-present.
Latin American Weekly Report News and analysis of current conditions in Latin America. Current
Historical Abstracts Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present, 1954-present.
JSTOR Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageDr. Peter Stern
Contact Info:
1967 Du Bois Library
(413) 545-3967
fax: (413) 577-2565
pstern@library.umass.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Romance languages, fine arts, area studies (especially Latin America)

 

RefWorks

Refworks logo

RefWorks is a bibliographical management software which will help you organize your citations, articles, books, etc. paid for by the UMass Amherst Library, that the UMass Amherst community can access from the Library website. RefWorks collects, stores, and organizes citations from books, articles from databases, web sites, and other sources. RefWorks automatically converts citations into properly formatted bibliographies

Better than using 3"x5' index cards!

 

Index cards

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait