Education

Resources for research on topics in education

Types of Article Databases

Databases are collections of information. We purchase access to several databases that contain journals and magazines where you can find articles for your research.

There are two types of databases for articles:

Subject-specific: These databases gather articles from journals about specific disciplines or topics, such as Education or Psychology. Using a subject-specific database often means you can search for very specific topics and find materials.

Good for: Finding scholarly articles on very specific topics

Multidisciplinary: These databases gather articles from across multiple disciplines. It could be a database that covers a wide variety of social sciences or it could be a database that covers a wide variety across the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.

Good for: Finding scholarly articles on your topic from a variety of perspectives from different disciplines

Best Bets: Education Databases

These are excellent education databases for starting your research on your research topic!

Education Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Access to over 5,000 education resources, including 3,662 academic journals with over half from countries outside the United States. Coverage spans all levels of education and includes education ethics, educational technology, literacy, research methodology and more.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Education journal articles (EJ references) and ERIC documents (ED references), 1967-present. EDs before 1997 are requestable using the Microforms Request page and usable in the Microforms Vewing Room in the LC.
A free version of ERIC is available for all to use at this link: https://eric.ed.gov/.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Best Bets: Multidisciplinary Databases

Social Science Premium Collection searches across 16 sub-databases that are social sciences topics such as the Politics Collection and the Sociology Collection. The Education Database listed above is included in this collection.

Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
One place to search across 16 different social science databases.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Academic Search Premier includes articles across all disciplines. It can help you find articles about your topic from the point of view of other disciplines.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Best Bet for Tracking Citations: Scopus

Scopus is an indexing and abstracting database of peer-reviewed scholarly content all of the disicplines. It can be hit and miss for topics in education.While it is not full text, you can use the Check UMass for Full Text link to see if we have full text of a specific item in another database.

Scopus is good for:

Finding highly-cited articles on a topic because you can sort by # of citations
Searching for a specific article and seeing the articles that have cited it

Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is an indexing and abstracting database of peer-reviewed scholarly content covering the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities, comparable to the Web of Science. Scopus allows for the discovery, tracking, and analysis of scholarship that includes: journal articles, conference proceedings, trade magazines, book series, books and book chapters, and patents. Use Scopus to: • Search for documents by topic, title, author, or institutional affiliation • Perform citation searches and establish citation alerts • Export citations to reference management systems • View impact metrics for authors and journals • Integrate Scopus content with ORCID profiles
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Additional Databases for Education Topics

Other Education Databases

Education Database This link opens in a new window
Articles from 550 journals in the field of primary, secondary and higher education, 1988-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive catalog of children's books, searchable by genre, age group, and subject, 1993-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Children's Literature Review This link opens in a new window
Biographical and critical essays on major children's writers and their work. Part of Literature Criticism Online.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Other Disciplines

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Articles from magazines and scholarly journals concerning masculinity, feminism, homosexuality, and gender roles, 1970-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
References, and some full text, of articles in about 120 LGBT-specific core periodicals, as well as selective articles from 1,600 more periodicals, 1950-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides full-text medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Published by the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed journal literature in psychology, behavioral science and mental health - 2,500 journal titles indexed - 2.8 million records - 1887 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Multidisciplinary Resources

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
Unique international coverage of social sciences journals, books and book chapters in over 100 languages, 1951-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Social Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles in the social sciences, 1983-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and citation tracking for journals in all the social sciences, 1900-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Find Even More Databases

We have more than 600 databases on a wide variety of topics. The spectrum ranges from databases that have a very specific topic to databases that are multidisciplinary.

The easiest way to find databases with articles on your research topic is to use the Databases A-Z List. Use the link below to go the list.

You can use the following filters to find databases based on subject and format:

Click on the Subjects filter to narrow down to a specific subject. If you select Multidisciplinary, you will get databases that cover a wide variety of publications.
Click on the Types filter and select the Articles filter. This narrows down the list to databases with articles (abstract only and full-text).
Finally, click Search.

TIPS

You can select multiple subjects. Once you've picked one subject, you can go back and select another to add.
If you use the filters, make sure to click on Clear Filters before switching to another subject and/or format.
Try exploring different subjects to find databases that have other discipline perspective on your topic. For instance, you might want to explore psychology databases if you're researching the effects of a specific learning theory.
If there's a database you want to bookmark, make sure to bookmark the link from the Databases A-Z list.

Databases A-Z
List of databases by subject and type.