Education: Research Resources
The ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) database, established in 1966 by the U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences (IES), serves as a comprehensive online resource for education-related literature. Initially created to provide access to educational research and information, ERIC has evolved to include a wide range of materials, such as journal articles, research reports, conference papers, and other educational resources.
The database is free to use if you use the government site. Two of our vendors also provide interfaces to the same information.
-
ERIC This link opens in a new window Education journal articles (EJ references) and ERIC documents (ED references), 1967-present. EDs before 1997 are requestable using the Microforms Request page and usable in the Microforms Vewing Room in the LC.A free version of ERIC is available for all to use at this link: https://eric.ed.gov/.
-
ERIC (Government Site - Free To Use)If you are an alumni or community patron, use this link to access ERIC.
-
ERIC Selection Policy (May 2024)The criteria for selecting resources that are added to ERIC. Last updated May 2024 before the major changes in June 2025.
What's in ERIC?
ERIC indexes a wide variety of journal sources. The coverage of an approved journal source is determined by an examination of three to five current issues during the source review process, but may be updated at any time. Source coverage is defined as follows:
- Comprehensively indexed journals contain an average of 80% or more education-related articles; ERIC creates a bibliographic record for all articles in every acquired issue.
- Selectively indexed journals contain an average of 50-79% education-related articles and are critical to topic area coverage; ERIC applies a manual article-by-article selection process and catalogs only the articles that conform to the standard and criteria outlined in the ERIC Selection Policy. The journals currently approved for cataloging in ERIC are listed below in blue.
It is not clear which journals are comprehensive and which are selective. The availability of records for an issue is dependent on content provided by the publisher.
Additional Coverage of Journals in ERIC
We have a subscription to Education Source Ultimate, which includes 786 of the 1,283 journals in ERIC (prior to the April 24, 2025 changes).
-
Education Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Access to over 5,000 education resources, including 3,662 academic journals with over half from countries outside the United States. Coverage spans all levels of education and includes education ethics, educational technology, literacy, research methodology and more.
What Has Been Delisted from ERIC?
In Spring 2025, 56 journals and 99 non-journal resources were delisted from ERIC. Click on the link below to see a spreadsheet of what was delisted. As of September 2025, I am slowly working on details for each delisted title and how to access it.
You can also click on ERIC: History of Changes to see what happened in 2025.
