Education: Research Resources
Getting Started
Need help getting started with researching using the libraries?
Try the Getting Started With Library Research Guide for Education!
Your Librarian
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
154 Hicks Way
Amherst, MA 01003
Welcome to the UMass Education Research Guide!
Please contact Education Librarian Jennifer Friedman for help with homework assignments, thesis or dissertation preparation, special projects or any questions about using the UMass Amherst Libraries. Appointments can be scheduled for research consultations, reference questions, or assignment assistance. Please email Jennifer to request an appointment. For more options for help (including chat and more), see the link below.
What's Available On This Guide?
The sections on the left (or above if you're on mobile) have more information about the following topics:
| ERIC | All about the ERIC database, including changes to coverage in 2025 |
| Education Source Ultimate | All about the Education Source Ultimate database, including instructional videos on using the new interface and advanced functionality |
|
Find Articles |
Covers best bets for education databases, other databases with education resources, and how to find more database in all disciplines. |
|
Find Books |
Find print books from our libraries and 5 College libraries, eBooks, open access textbooks, and print materials from other libraries across the globe. |
|
Find Reference Works (Encyclopedias, Etc.) |
How to find reference works, such as encyclopedias and handbooks. |
|
Find Theses & Dissertations |
How to find dissertations in our collections and from across the world. |
|
Find Grey Literature |
Defining and finding sources of grey literature. |
|
Evaluating Information |
Use this section to learn about three different methods for evaluating what you've found when researching, as well as what peer review is and why it's important. |
|
Writing & Citing |
Check out this section to learn about academic integrity, citation styles, and how to use Zotero to capture citations and organize your research. |
|
Scholarship of Teaching & Learning (SOTL) |
Resources specifically about the scholarship of teaching and learning. |
|
Course Web Pages |
This information may be outdated and will eventually be changed. |
|
Getting Help! |
Help! If you’re stuck on any aspect of your research or you want to find out if the Libraries have a specific service to any question at all, click on this section to find out where to get help! |
Browse the Shelves
Most education books can be found on Floor 20 of the Du Bois Library. Education book call #s are:
| Call # Starts With | Subjects |
| L | Education (General) |
| LA | History of Education |
|
LB |
Theory and practice of education |
| LC | Special aspects of education |
| LD | Individual Institutions - United States |
| LE | Individual Institutions - |
| LF | Individual Institutions – |
| LG | Individual Institutions - Asia, Africa, Indian Ocean Islands, Australia |
| LH | College and school magazines and papers |
| LH | Student fraternities, |
| LT | Textbooks |
Use the link below to see the more detailed classification schedule and what topics are covered for each area.
-
Library of Congress Classification OutlineThe letters and titles of the main classes of the Library of Congress Classification. Click on any class to view an outline of its subclasses.
