French/Italian 572 - Basic Methods of Teaching Foreign Languages
Databases of articles
There are two types of databases for articles:
- full-text - these allow you to read articles in their entirety
- index or abstracts - these only show you citations for articles.
If you can't read a full article, request it through Interlibrary Loan.
Interlibrary Loan is a free service where the UMass Amherst Libraries reaches out to other libraries that do have the article you want and have it sent to you as a PDF. If you are very thorough in filling out the request form and include information such as the ISSN of the journal in which the article appears, you may receive a copy in as little as a few hours. There are no limits on how many articles you can request.
Best bet databases
Since the study of second language acquisition is interdisciplinary, the databases that you will find most useful have varying disciplinary foci including linguistics, literature, education, and psychology.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Education journal articles (EJ references) and ERIC documents (ED references), 1967-present. EDs before 1997 are requestable using the Microforms Request page and usable in the Microforms Vewing Room in the LC.
A free version of ERIC is available for all to use at this link: https://eric.ed.gov/.
- Linguistics Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for articles in the scholarly journals of linguistics, 1985-present. - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts - LLBA This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the scholarly literature of linguistics and related fields from 1994 to present. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to journal articles and other scholarly literature on literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics, folklore, and (since 1996) film, 1920s - - Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses; searchable by journal issue, author, and keyword, 1996-present. - PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Published by the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed journal literature in psychology, behavioral science and mental health - 2,500 journal titles indexed - 2.8 million records - 1887 to present.
Additional databases
Depending on your research topic, you may wish to explore databases from a wider range of scholarly perspectives.
- Databases A-ZThis page allows you to quickly filter databases by subject, content type, and vendor/provider.
