French/Italian 572 - Basic Methods of Teaching Foreign Languages
Books in the Five College Libraries
This tool lets you search all of the physical materials and most (but not all!) of the digital materials in the UMass Amherst libraries and the other Five College libraries. This includes:
|journals||ejournals and full-text articles|
|films on DVD, VHS, Blu-ray, etc.||streaming films|
|audio on CD and other formats||streaming audio|
|physical special collections materials||digitized special collections materials|
Limit a search to books
After you run a Discovery search, you can limit by format on the left hand side of the results page.
Selecting "Books" will show you print books and ebooks. "eBooks" will only show you ebooks.
Access a print book
If a book is located in the Du Bois Library with "Available" status, you can use its call number to locate it in the stacks (instructions).
If a print book is located at another Five College library:
- Click the title of the book in the result to go to its catalog record.
- Find the "Place Request" button on the left of the page.
You can also use the "Place Request" feature to have a book in the Du Bois Library pulled and sent to the lower level to be held for convenient pick-up.
Access an ebook
Look for the "UMass: Link to Resource" button associated with the ebook.
If an ebook is located at another Five College library, you can't access it directly; however, you can:
- Request the book or a specific chapter through Interlibrary Loan.
- Visit the campus of the library that has the ebook in-person and connect to their wifi with your Eduroam credentials.
- Go to the catalog record for the ebook.
- When you view or download the book, choose the link for the campus you are on.
Additional book collections
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowLets you search the catalogs of a large number of libraries in the US and beyond in one place. It is a useful tool for discovering books that aren't available in the Five College Libraries, which can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.Content is freely available for use by all.
- HathiTrust This link opens in a new windowAcademic library partnership providing searching and downloading of public-domain books and specialized services for text mining projects.
Please see more... below for what is available to UMass faculty, staff and students and what is available for community patrons.For anyone in the world, you can access these materials in HathiTrust:
- Search across the entire collection
- Read and view works that are “full-view”
- Search within works that are “limited (search-only)”
- Download a single page at a time from works that have download restrictions (e.g., works that are in the public domain but were digitized by Google or other vendors with contractual limitations)
- Download an entire work that doesn’t have download restrictions (e.g., works digitized by Internet Archive and other organizations, works that have been opened with a Creative Commons license)
For UMass faculty, staff and students, you can additionally access the following if you log in with your NetID and password using the HathiTrust link above:
- Download public domain works that have download restrictions (see “Can I download a whole book?” for more information);
- Create, save and share public or private collections?;
- Access copyrighted works lawfully in appropriate circumstances (see accessibility and out-of-print and brittle for more information).
Members can not view or download works that are “limited (search-only)”. See “Is it possible to view a volume that is Limited (search-only)?” for more information.
- Search across the entire collection
- Internet ArchiveInternet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more. Some of it will be duplicated elsewhere, but you can also find some real treasures here if you search carefully.
- Last Updated: Jun 2, 2023 2:42 PM
- URL: https://guides.library.umass.edu/c.php?g=1301111
- Print Page