Market & Industry Resources

Consumer Research

eMarketer PRO

Geography: Global

Includes market research reports, industry data, and charts and analysis for everything digital, including eCommerce, social media, mobile devices, and more. Coverage is both US and global.

Insider Intelligence This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

ReferenceUSA

Geography: US & Canada

Contains comprehensive, accurate, and up-to-date information on more than 60 million U.S. and Canadian businesses. Use this database to identify sales leads, find business opportunities, locate business profiles, and conduct competitive analyses. Search selection criteria include Company Name, Executive Title, Business Type, Sales Volume, Employee Size, and more.

Click here to view a tutorial for this database.

Data Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

SimplyAnalytics

Geography: United States

A database of demographics and consumer information that generates tables and maps for the US according to factors of population, race, age, income, employment, education, and more. Includes access to SimmonsLOCAL for market research data, business demographics, and consumer behavior data.

SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Mintel Academic

Geography: United States

Includes consumer lifestyle reports that discuss purchasing motivations and product/brand preferences across consumer segments such as Affluent Customers, Baby Boomers, Men, Millennials, Multicultural, Teens, and Women. Market research reports cover consumer-focused industry categories that include Automotive, Beauty & Personal Care, Drink, Food, Health & Wellbeing, Travel, eCommerce, and more.

Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Internet Resources

Consumer Expenditure Survey (BLS)

This program "provides data on expenditures, income, and demographic characteristics of consumers in the United States". Data are collected by the United States Census Bureau for the Bureau of Labor Statistics via two surveys. These data are primarily used to inform the reporting of the Consumer Price Index. The Consumer Expenditure Survey is the "only Federal household survey to provide information on the complete range of consumers' expenditures and incomes".

Data.gov Consumer Data Catalog

The "open data" site for the U.S. Government, this site pulls together free data sets related to consumers.

The Pew Research Center

Pew is a non-partisan think tank, focused on social trends, U.S. politics, media & news, Internet & tech, and more. It contains a wealth of free information about demographics, consumer characteristics, analysis and other valuable research.