Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMass Amherst Libraries

Marketing & Industry Resources

Industry Research

IBISWorld

Geography: United States and Global (not individual countries)

Industry Reports and Risk Rating reports on over 700 industries, organized by NAICS code. In-depth analysis includes insights on operating conditions, SWOT analysis, forecasts, major players, trends, and more. Use the left navigation tabs within a report to easily browse each section.

Click here to view a tutorial for this database.


Plunkett Research Online

Geography: United States

Market and industry trend analysis with a broad, top-level of 35 industry sectors. Includes in-depth trend analysis, statistics, associations lists, and more. Also features tools for jobs seekers.


BCC Research

Geography: US & Global

Market reports on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology worldwide. Provide market intelligence, five-year forecasts, statistical and analytical data, market share, industry structure and dynamics, and more.


Mergent Intellect: First Research

Geography: US, North America, and Global

Features knowledge tools including Industry Profiles, Call Prep Sheets, and State & Province Profiles that are essential for call preparation, learning a company's key business issues, and clear and timely industry intelligence. Provides 400+ industry profiles, industry revenue growth forecasts, and up-to-date news and social content.

From the Mergent Intellect homepage, click on First Research. A new window will open, and click on Submit to access the database.


FitchConnect

Geography: Global

A global intelligence database, featuring Country Risk & Industry Research which includes global, regional, and country risk assessments, analysis, and expert intelligence on over 20 industries across 200+ countries and territories. Industry reports feature 5-year forecasts and in-depth analysis of current risks and future opportunities, as well as SWOT analyses.

Click here to view a tutorial for this database.


Internet Resources

Includes links to economic data from the Census Bureau, including The Economic Census.  Also contains business characteristics, business & workforce dynamics, economic data and economic indicators.

Provides county, state, and national level business data, including number of establishments, payroll (annual and first quarter), employment numbers, and industry-specific statistics.

BLS provides information profiles for over 100 national industries. Profiles include statistics and reports on labor-related topics, such as business costs, employee benefits, and occupational outlook and forecasts. Industries are broken down into 12 supersectors, based on North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes. They are: Construction, Education & Health Services, Financial Activities, Government, Information, Leisure & Hospitality, Manufacturing, Natural Resources & Mining, Other Services, Professional & Business Services, Transportation & Utilities, and Wholesale & Retail Trade.