Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMass Amherst Libraries

Marketing & Industry Resources

Company Information

Mergent Intellect

Geography: Global

Public and private (when available) company information for companies worldwide. This database is particularly useful for building lists of companies and for investigating hierarchical parent/subsidiary relationships. Data for Mergent comes from Dun & Bradstreet (D&B) and Hoovers.

Click here to view a tutorial for this database.


ReferenceUSA

Geography: US & Canada

Contains comprehensive, accurate, and up-to-date information on more than 60 million U.S. and Canadian businesses. Use this database to identify sales leads, find business opportunities, locate business profiles, and conduct competitive analyses. Search selection criteria include Company Name, Executive Title, Business Type, Sales Volume, Employee Size, and more.

Click here to view a tutorial for this database.


UniWorld (American and Foreign Companies with Global Operations)

Geography: Global

This searchable directory of US and foreign companies includes information about companies substantial overseas operations. Search by geographic location, industry, sales, employees, and keyword.


MarketLine Advantage

Geography: Global

Provides macro-level socioeconomic and demographic data for countries worldwide, both historical and forecasted. Includes company SWOTs, company overviews, industry profiles, case studies, country analysis, news, and more.

Click here to view a tutorial for this database.


Nexis Uni

Geography: Global

Comprehensive coverage of news, government, business, medical, and legal topics. Formats included are newspapers, magazines and journals, company financial information, industry and market news, case law, law reviews, and more. Use Nexis Dossier (Click Menu found at the top left, then choose Company Dossier) to find a company, create a list of companies, or compare companies using balance sheets, income statements and ratio information.