German 697 CE - Central European Cinema
- Find Reference Works
- Find Books
- FInd Articles
- Find Film Reviews
- Use Library Databases
- Find Archival Materials
Print titles are unavailable during the COVID-19 related library closure
Look for books labeled "Online access available!"
Prexer Bajka diavetítő
Polish slide-projector from the 1960s, produced by Prexer factory. It's made out of bakelite, has closed film-forwarder-system and built-in transformer, works with 6 V, 20 W normal bulb.
Prexer Bajka diavetítő - Diafilmtörténeti Gyűjtemény - Budapest - https://mandadb.hu/tetel/286272/Prexer_Bajka_diavetito. CC BY-NC-ND - http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/4.0/
Find Reference Works
What are reference works?
Reference works can provide important contextual information and point you in the direction of additional resources. Reference sources include encyclopedias, bibliographies, filmographies, and more, each of which may be more or less well-suited to your research needs. For example, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and companions are useful for familiarizing yourself with key concepts or figures, while bibliographies are most useful when looking for resources related to a topic.
Which reference works are available through the Five College Libraries?
References guides organize different types of reference sources, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, indexes and more, into lists designed for consultation. If you are looking for a bird’s eye view of reference sources on a topic, a reference guide can be a useful tool.
- Film and television : a guide to the reference literature by Mark EmmonsCall Number: PN1994 .E44 2006ISBN: 9781563089145Publication Date: 2006If you are not sure where to begin, this guide is a great resource. This comprehensive bibliography includes bibliographies, filmographies, indexes, dictionaries, and encyclopedias among other reference resources. The topical organization makes this guide simple to navigate and annotations allow you to quickly evaluate listed resources.
Encyclopedias contain detailed information on topics that are usually listed aphetically. Consulting an encyclopedia is an effective way to familiarize yourself with key topics at the start of the research process or to clarify an unfamiliar topic you encounter.
- Cinema studies : the key concepts by Susan HaywardCall Number: PN1993.45 .H36 2013ISBN: 9780415538138Publication Date: 2013
- The film encyclopedia by Ephraim KatzCall Number: PN1993.45 .K34 2005ISBN: 0060742143Publication Date: 2005
- Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film by Barry Keith GrantCall Number: PN1993.45 .G65 2007ISBN: 9780028657912Publication Date: 2006
Dictionaries contain entries on a topic that are usually listed in alphabetical order. They are similar to encyclopedias, but entries are usually more concise, making them a useful tool for quickly familiarizing yourself with a topic.
- The Film Studies Dictionary by Steve Blandford; Barry Keith Grant; Jim HillierCall Number: PN1993.45 .B53 2001ISBN: 0340741902Publication Date: 2001
- International Directory of Films and Filmmakers by Tom Pendergast; Sara PendergastCall Number: E-Book PN1998.2ISBN: 155862533XPublication Date: 2004Online access available!
Companions are similar to dictionaries and the two terms are often used interchangeably. They contain concise entries and can help you quickly familiarize yourself with a topic.
- The BFI Companion to German Cinema by Thomas Elsaesser; Michael Wedel (Editor); Martin Wedel (Editor)Call Number: PN1993.5.G3 B45 1999ISBN: 0851707505Publication Date: 2000
- Oxford Companion to Film by Liz-Anne Bawden (Editor)Call Number: PN1993.45 .O9ISBN: 0192115413Publication Date: 1976
Bibliographies are lists of sources on a topic that can be useful because they gather relevant books, articles, and other sources in one place. Short bibliographies often include key works on a topic, while long bibliographies may aim to be exhaustive.
- The Film Anthologies Index by Stephen E. BowlesCall Number: Z5784.M9 B637 1994ISBN: 0810828960Publication Date: 1994
- Macmillan Film Bibliography by George RehrauerCall Number: Z5784.M9 R423 1982ISBN: 0026964007Publication Date: 1982
- Oxford Bibliographies: Cinema and Media Studies This link opens in a new windowExpert discussion of topics and sub-topics in the discipline, with extensive annotated lists of best books and articles.Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
- Last Updated: Jul 26, 2022 2:14 PM
- URL: https://guides.library.umass.edu/central-european-cinema
- Print Page