This is the "Home" page of the "Nursing 312: Cultural Diversity in Health and Illness" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nursing 312: Cultural Diversity in Health and Illness  

A guide for student research.
Last Updated: Aug 15, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/nursing312 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books - including eBooks!

Check out our Books and eBooks page.

Diversity Research Starting Points

Use our specialized library research guides to find scholarly information on issues of diversity and multiculturalism from books, journals, databases, and more.

More Diversity Databases

Find scholarly information on issues of diversity and multiculturalism in these library databases.

 

Tip for databases

After you've run a search, use the button to retrieve articles or to be taken directly to the Interlibrary Loan request page, so you can order the article if UMass does not have it.

Diversity & Social Science Databases

  • Bibliography of Native North Americans
    Covers books, essays, journal articles, and government documents on native North American history and culture from pre-history to the present, 1800-present.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Full-text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic communities in the United States. In several languages, 1965-present.
  • Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
    Articles from scholarly journals on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the US -Mexico border area, and US Hispanics, 1970-present.
  • Lexis Nexis Academic
    Massive database of US and international newspapers; case and statutory law and law reviews; business periodicals, 1980-present.
  • Social Services Abstracts
    Bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    References to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, and conference papers on sociology and related disciplines.

Nursing Databases

Online Nursing and Health Journal Databases 

IMPORTANT: Accessing databases from off-campus requires log-in with your OIT user and password.

  • CINAHL
    Current Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature includes journal articles and other material on nursing and allied health fields, 1982-present.
  • Cochrane Library
    Evidence-based information about medical treatments and therapies, designed for medical caregivers and patients.
  • Nursing Journals @ Ovid
    A searchable full-text collection of articles from 55 scholarly nursing journals. Coverage varies by journal, but most is from the mid-90's to present.
  • PubMed
    National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database of citations to medical journal articles, with links to UMass-subscribed full text, 1966-present.
  • School of Nursing Research links:
    School of Nursing Research Links: This page provides faculty, students, and visitors with easy access to Internet sites for granting resources, nursing and health organizations, and nursing research journals.
  • Web of Science
    Provides a search by cited reference, topic, author, and more for articles in almost all important English-language journals. Social Sciences 1956-present; and Science 1900-present.
  • Nursing Resource Center
    The databases selected for searching offer a combined 3,659,236 articles and were last updated as recently as June 10, 2013
 

Evaluate the library class

Fill out this anonymous evaluation form and give us feedback on the library instruction by librarians Jim Craig and Isabel Espinal.

 

Introducing RefWorks

RefWorks

Put all your references in RefWorks, create quick and easy bibliographies, build your knowledgebase.

1. Set up your account by clicking on the RefWorks link on the library homepage. From the RefWorks info page, choose "RefWorks Login & New Account Set up." From the login page, choosse "New to RefWorks? - Sign up for an Individual Account." Note: You get to choose your own username and password - make them easy to remember!

2. Get your journal article citations into RefWorks
Most databases have a way to export citations into RefWorks directly.

3. Get your book citations into RefWorks

Books from the UMass Catalog

  1. Within RefWorks, go to the search menu on the left side top and choose "Online Catalog or database"
  2. In the next screen, under "Online Catalog or Database to Search" choose "University of Massachusetts Amherst." If you have a specific title or author, go to the advanced search at the bottom and run your search.
  3. Your results will appear in a separate window or tab. choose the title(s) you want to import to your RefWorks account and click on "Import."

Books from WorldCat (includes UMass books)

  1. Go to www.worldcat.org
  2. Conduct a search.
  3. Click “Cite” in the on the page for an individual book title.
  4. Choose "Export to Refworks."
  5. Log into RefWorks.


If you need more help or info on RefWorks, check out the FAQs.

© 2016 University of Massachusetts Amherst.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip