Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

Library resources to support course work and research

Finding current prices in trade journals

Business Source Complete
Business journal articles, company reports. Description: Peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, and business magazines. Company SWOT reports.

Current prices for bulk industrial chemicals are often reported in trade journals such as Chemical Weekand ICIS Chemical Business(formerly Chemical Market Reporter). Search the journals by limitng the publication name and then adding the keywords. Search for the name of the chemical or the chemical abbreviation and keyword terms such as "price" and "production."

Try these business databases to search the trade journals:

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content type: Business journal articles. Description: ABI/INFORM is the library's largest online full-text business journal collection. 3,000 business periodicals - peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, business magazines, 1960 - present, including the Wall Street Journal, 1984 - present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Finding Products and Pricing

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content type: Business journal articles. Description: ABI/INFORM is the library's largest online full-text business journal collection. 3,000 business periodicals - peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, business magazines, 1960 - present, including the Wall Street Journal, 1984 - present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
BuildingGreen Suite This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Directory of green builders. Articles, case studies and product listings for sustainable building, green design, and land use. 1992-current. Also: peer-to-peer discussions, blogs, RSS feeds and the online version of Environmental Building News newsletter.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

THOMASNET.com
Engineers' and buyers' choice for finding trusted suppliers. The only free platform designed for sourcing components, equipment, MRO products, raw materials and custom manufacturing services.

Chemical Prices

SciFinder Web
Provides links for commercial producers of many chemicals.
BuyersGuideChem
5221 chemical suppliers from 109 countries. The companies come from all continents - Europe, Asia, North and South America.
Chemexper
Fisher Scientific
Includes lab equipment and bio products
Sigma-Aldrich

Finding Historical Chemical Prices

ICIS
Finding historical chemical prices can be a challenge. If these resources do not provide the infromation needed try searching in the trade journals for historical prices.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Comprehensive reference guide with articles on topics in chemistry and chemical engineering; searchable by article keyword (topic) or article title. Current.