Mechanical and Industrial Engineering
Library resources to support course work and research
Open Textbooks for Engineering
American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) - Engineering Libraries Division Guide to:
Theses
-
MIE Theses and Dissertations in ScholarworksScholarworks is the University of Massachusetts Amherst Digital Repository.
-
Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new windowUS and Canadian dissertations and theses from 1861 to present. Mostly full-text 1997 to present.
-
EBSCO Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window
OpenDissertations.org includes records from the British Library’s EThOS Service, the University of Florida, the University of Michigan, Michigan State University, University of North Texas, and the University of Kentucky.
-
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) This link opens in a new windowIndexes of over 3.5 million graduate-level electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs) that are freely available online.
-
Theses Canada This link opens in a new windowFull-text Canadian theses and dissertations in the Library and Archives Canada collection
Find Books in the Five Colleges Libraries Collection
- Use Discovery Search's Advanced Search
- Search for the title or author of the book or use keywords that describe your topic
- Refine your results by format: select Books and/or eBooks
- Locate your book
- eBooks: follow the UMass: Link to resource to access the full text
- Books: note the call number and location (eg. UMass Amherst Science & Engineering Library) or place a request to have the book delivered for pick-up at a UMass Library
Books for Mechanical and Industrial Engineering
Looking for background information on an unfamiliar topic? Books are a great way to become more familiar with new topics. See below for some examples of handbooks, encyclopedias, and other similar resources relevant to Mechanical and Industrial Engineering.
-
AccessScience This link opens in a new windowCovers all major scientific disciplines and offers links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations, plus specially designed curriculum maps for teachers.
-
O’Reilly Safari Learning Platform This link opens in a new windowMust login in with UMass NetID and Password
20,000 business, technology and digital media e-books from the best business/technology publishers - O'Reilly, Sams, John Wiley, Sybex, Que, Career Press, Jossey-Bass, McGraw-Hill, AMACON, Oracle Press, Microsoft and many more.
-
Design and Analysis of Experiments
by
Call Number: Only available in Print: QA 279.M66 2017ISBN: 9781119589068Publication Date: 2017 -
Encyclopedia of Mathematical Physics
by
ISBN: 9780125126663Publication Date: 2004-02-28The Encyclopedia of Mathematical Physics provides a complete resource for researchers, students and lecturers with an interest in mathematical physics. It enables readers to access basic information on topics peripheral to their own areas, to provide a repository of the core information in the area that can be used to refresh the researcher's own memory banks, and aid teachers in directing students to entries relevant to their course-work. The Encyclopedia does contain information that has been distilled, organised and presented as a complete reference tool to the user and a landmark to the body of knowledge that has accumulated in this domain. It also is a stimulus for new researchers working in mathematical physics or in areas using the methods originating from work in mathematical physics by providing them with focused high quality background information. -
Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, 12th edition
by
Call Number: Only available in print: UMass Amherst Science Reference TJ151 .M37ISBN: 9781259588501Publication Date: 2018Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Twelfth Edition. Coverage includes: Mechanics of solids and fluids, Heat, Strength of materials, Materials of engineering, Fuels and furnaces, Machine elements, Power generation, Transportation, Fans, pumps, and compressors, Instruments and controls, Refrigeration, cryogenics, and optics, Applied mechanics, Engineering ethics -
Research Methods for Engineers
by
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781107610194Publication Date: 2014-09-11Learn how to plan for success with this hands-on guide to conducting engineering research. A unique engineering perspective: written especially for engineers, and relevant across all engineering disciplines.
