Libraries Ask Us

Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

Library resources to support course work and research

Find articles & research papers

Use these article indexing databases to search for research articles.

Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to engineering journal articles, conference papers, and web sites, 1884-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Use to access many UMass online journal subscriptions.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

You can access Google Scholar with UMLinks buttons from outside the UMass Amherst IP range ("off campus") by two methods:

1. Access Google Scholar through the Library web site by using this link.
2. Go to generic Google Scholar.
a. Click on "Settings."
b. Click on Library links.
c. Type in "University of Massachusetts" or "UMass Amherst" (or a few other variations).
d. Check "University of Massachusetts Amherst - UMass Check for Full Text" and Save.
e. You will be asked to authenticate somewhere along the way to full text.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database of citations to medical journal articles, with links to UMass-subscribed full text, 1946-present. PubMed includes all MEDLINE content, plus content from additional journals and books in the life sciences.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Scitation This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The leading journals and conference proceedings from the American Institute of Physics (AIP) Publishing. Topics include: Acoustics; Astronomy/astrophysics; Atomic/molecular physics; Biological physics; Energy; Geophysics; Materials science; Mathematical physics; Nanotechnology; Nuclear physics; optical physics; Particle physics; Physical chemistry; Plasma physics; Quantum mechanics; Rheology and fluid dynamics; Statistical physics.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an indexing and abstracting database of peer-reviewed scholarly content covering the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities, comparable to the Web of Science. Scopus allows for the discovery, tracking, and analysis of scholarship that includes: journal articles, conference proceedings, trade magazines, book series, books and book chapters, and patents.

Use Scopus to:
• Search for documents by topic, title, author, or institutional affiliation
• Perform citation searches and establish citation alerts
• Export citations to reference management systems
• View impact metrics for authors and journals
• Integrate Scopus content with ORCID profiles
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines.Search by cited reference, topic, author, and more. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1900-present; and Science 1900-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

SAE Mobilus
Society of Automotive Engineers publications UMass Amherst Libraries provides access to:
- SAE Digital Library Historical Standards GV (SAE Historical Ground Vehicle Standards 1927 - present)
- STAPP Car Crash Conference Technical Papers (1966- 2017)
- SAE e-Journals
- AEI Digital Library (Automotive Engineering International magazine)
Transportation Research International Documentation (TRID)
Combines the records from the Transportation Research Board's Transportation Research Information Services and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre's International Transport Research Documentation databases. TRID provides access to more than 1.2 million records of worldwide transportation research

Find News

Use these databases to find news and trade journal articles.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content Type: Business journal articles, company reports. Description: Peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, and business magazines. Company SWOT reports. Includes the Harvard Business Review, Volume 1 (1922) to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.