Libraries Ask Us

Latin American, Caribbean and Latinx Studies

This is a guide to resources in Latin American Studies in the W.E.B. Du Bois Library, University of Massachusetts, Amherst.

Latin American databases

Latin American and Latinx Studies Databases and Online Collections at UMass

Subscription databases (require UMass ID to access):

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews, many in full text, relating to United States and Canadian history and prehistory, 1954-present. Includes U.S. Latinx history and historical articles on the relations between US and Latin America.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publications, with images, of the US Hispanic community from earliest times to the 1990's.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, New World Slavery and more through 18th and 19th century Caribbean newspapers. Contains 66 newspaper titles from 22 islands between 1718-1876.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Contemporary World Music This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Tracks from current pop and traditional labels around the world.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Europa World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia and directory of the world's countries in ALL continents, despite misleading title. Substantive coverage of government, demographics, history, and much more. Current.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
Represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals on Latin America & the Caribbean, the US-Mexico border area, and U.S. Latinos, 1970-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Historical Abstracts Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, many in full text, and citations to books and dissertations on world history from 1450, published 1954-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Informe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from 140 Spanish-language magazines and journals, 1987-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Latin American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thirty five searchable newspapers from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere, 1805-1922.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Latin American Studies e-Book Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Latin American Studies e-book collection includes over 550 titles in anthropology, cultural studies, Caribbean studies, Chicanx and Latinx studies, history, literature, film and media, politics, and many other fields, focused on Latin America.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Latin American Weekly Report This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News and analysis of current conditions in Latin America. Current
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Music from America and elsewhere on the Folkways label. Listen for free and download for a fee. Playlist option available.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
World Development Indicators Online This link opens in a new window
World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources - presents the most current and accurate global development data available, including national, regional and global estimates. Coverage from 1960 to present.
Content is freely available for use by all.
World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of archival primary sources and current statistics, articles, reports and more on people, places and topics related to Latin America and the Caribbean.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Subscription databases (require UMass ID to access): (The following database link is broken and we 'e investigating restoring access.)

ClasePeriódica
Indexes thousands of Latin American science, social science and humanities journals. 1975-.

Free, open-access databases

Open Access Latin American and Latinx Studies Databases and Online Collections

CLASE. Citas Latinoamericanas en Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades
Social Sciences and Humanities database produced by Dirección General de Bibliotecas, UNAM
PERIODICA (Indice de Revistas Latinoamericanas en Ciencia/Sciences)
Science database produced by Dirección General de Bibliotecas, UNAM
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Citations to works published internationally on Latin America, produced by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress since 1936.
Latin America Open Access Portal
Access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America. The portal provides access to working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials from the "deep Web." Typically, this content is published by research institutes, non-governmental organizations, and peripheral agencies that are not controlled by commercial publishers.

SCIELO: Scientific Electronic Library Online
Open-access social science & scientific journals from Latin America

Hemeroteca Digital - Hispanic Digital Library
Public access to the digital collection of historical Spanish press items housed in the national library of Spain, with an initial collection of 143 newspapers and periodicals. The range of titles has been growing, and there are currently 2,371 titles, which is over 67 million pages.

Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina, El Caribe, España, y Portugal (Redalyc)
Provides fulltext access to journals about Latin America in the social sciences and the humanities. Mainly published in Latin America, Spain and Portugal.

World Bank Data Catalog

Includes the full World Development Indicators (WDI), Global Development Finance (GDF), Africa Development Indicators (ADI), along with several other World Bank databases such as Global Economic Monitor, Education Statistics, etc.

Red CLACSO
"Virtual library"; open-access portal to social science reports from the Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales.

Oxford Latin American Economic History Database
"The Oxford Latin American Economic History Database (OxLAD) contains statistical series for a wide range of economic and social indicators covering twenty countries in the region for the period 1900-2000. Its purpose is to provide economic and social historians worldwide with a systematic recompilation of available statistical information in a single on-line source. "

Digital Library of the Caribbean
"The Digital Library of the Caribbean (DLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections."

Portal to Brazil
"The BRAZIL PORTAL is a comprehensive news aggregator. It covers Brazilian foreign and national affairs as well as environmental, economic, social, scientific and political issues in Brazil. The PORTAL is a non-partisan, independent project of the Brazil Institute of the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars.

COMPLUDOC. Base de Datos de Artículos de Revistas

Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera
"The Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera is a steadily growing repository containing a previously unavailable subset of Princeton’s Latin American Ephemera Collection as well as newly acquired materials being digitized and added on an ongoing basis."

More open access resources

More open-access resources can be found in the Spanish & Portuguese Libguide page.

Other Search Tools

Center for Research Libraries This link opens in a new window
Catalog of CRL's large collections of primary source material in the humanities and social sciences, some in full text. Emphasis on non-U.S. materials. Available through ILL.
Content is freely available for use by all.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The combined catalogs of most U.S. libraries.
Content is freely available for use by all.