Latin American, Caribbean and Latinx Studies
Librarian
University of Massachusetts
Office hours Wednesdays 3-4:30, room 325, New Africa house. Also available by appointment. I can meet via phone, Zoom, or other online venue. To request an online appointment or get any other help, please email iespinal@library.umass.edu or call:
Getting Started with Library Research in Latin American, Caribbean and Latinx Studies
This web guide is designed to assist you in using the W.E.B. Du Bois Library's Latin American, Caribbean and Latinx Studies resources.The most general starting points are on this page. See links to the left for more specific guides and resources.
Above all, don't hesitate to contact me to request a reference consultation, a bibliographic instruction session for your class, or to suggest purchasing books or other materials to add to our collection.
~Isabel Espinal, Librarian for Latin American, Caribbean and Latinx Studies.
Also visit: UMass Center for Latin American, Caribbean, & Latino Studies
Spotlight on: Latin American Studies E-books - Some are open access for *everyone*
Duke University Press Latin American Studies E-Book Collection
Over 550 titles in anthropology, cultural studies, Caribbean studies, Chicanx and Latinx studies, history, literature, film and media, politics, and many other fields, focused on Latin America. Requires UMass login.
JSTOR Open Access E-books
from El Colegio de México and the Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales/Latin American Council of Social Sciences (CLACSO)
680 scholarly books published by El Colegio de México, one of the most important academic research centers in the world. Founded in 1938, Colmex has published key books in the humanities and humanistic social sciences, yet many of these books had been unavailable for years. Over 200 titles published by CLACSO (Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales/Latin American Council of Social Sciences a network of over 100 research institutions throughout Latin America and the Caribbean committed to the promotion of scientific research in all fields of the social sciences and to enhancing scholarly exchange and cooperation within and outside the region. Freely available for anyone in the world to use.
Top online resources
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals on Latin America & the Caribbean, the US-Mexico border area, and U.S. Latinos, 1970-present. - Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new windowCitations to works published internationally on Latin America, produced by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, 1936-present.
- Informe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from 140 Spanish-language magazines and journals, 1987-present. - Latin American Studies e-Book Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Latin American Studies e-book collection includes over 550 titles in anthropology, cultural studies, Caribbean studies, Chicanx and Latinx studies, history, literature, film and media, politics, and many other fields, focused on Latin America. - Latin American Weekly Report This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News and analysis of current conditions in Latin America. Current - Oxford Bibliographies: Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Expert discussion of topics and sub-topics in Latin American studies, with extensive annotated lists of best books and articles. - Historical Abstracts Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, many in full text, and citations to books and dissertations on world history from 1450, published 1954-present. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.
