Skip to main content
UMass Amherst Libraries

Latin American, Caribbean and Latinx Studies

This is a guide to resources in Latin American Studies in the W.E.B. Du Bois Library, University of Massachusetts, Amherst.

Other Academic Databases

Latin American Studies can encompass the entire range of science, social science, and humanities disciplines. It's always best to tailor your searches to appropriate databases. The Databases and Collections page is very helpful--if you want to research political science in any way, you could specify that as your subject. The Research Guides by Subject page is also helpful, with pages for history, sociology, anthropology, public health, arts, music, literature, etc.

Humanities & Social Science databases

Historical Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present.

JSTOR
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.

Academic Search Premier
A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.

 

Humanities International Complete
Journal articles in archaeology, classics, cultural studies, arts, philosophy, history, linguistics, and literature, plus literary magazines, 1975-present.

Project Muse
Scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses; searchable by journal issue, author, and keyword, 1996-present.