Skip to main content
UMass Amherst Libraries

Latin American, Caribbean and Latinx Studies

This is a guide to resources in Latin American Studies in the W.E.B. Du Bois Library, University of Massachusetts, Amherst.

Internet resources

World Wide Web

Latin American Network Information Center
The leading megasite for Latin American studies, maintained at the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies, University of Texas Austin. Absolutely essential gateway to thousands of important academic and government sites in Latin America.

Internet Sources for Latin America
An extensive guide to Internet sources for Latin America, based at New Mexico State University, and maintained by Molly Molloy, a pioneer in online resource gathering for Latin American studies.

Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean
UN commission website with extensive economic and social information from Latin America.

Latin American Statistical Sources
Cornell-maintained website with links to national data and statistical websites within Latin American nations.

Political Database of the Americas
The PDBA offers centralized and systematized information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the region. A collaborative project between Georgetown University, the OAS, and FLACSO-Chile.

World Bank: Documents & reports
Search the publications of the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development

Zona Latina: Latin American Newspapers
Hundreds of newspapers from Latin America online.

English-Language Newspapers in Latin America
Links to newspapers from the region in English.

Digital Library of the Caribbean
The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
"
Over 34,000 individual slaving expeditions between 1527 and 1866 that have been identified and verified to have actually occurred make up the Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database. Records of the voyages have been found in multiple archival sources which are listed in a variable in the dataset. These records provide details about vessels, enslaved peoples, slave traders and owners, and trading routes."

The World Fact Book
Geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, transnational issues. Produced by the Central Intelligence Agency.

Pew Hispanic Center
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" in Washington, DC that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. The Pew Hispanic Center conducts and commissions studies on a wide range of topics with the aim of presenting research that at once meets the most rigorous scientific standards and is accessible to the interested public.

U.S.-Mexico Security Cooperation Portal
An initiative of the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars's Mexico Institute, this website hosts dozens of papers & reports on U.S.-Mexican border relations & issues.

Central American Political History Database
"Historical database of the heads of state of the five Central American countries of Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua, plus the heads of state of the defunct Central American Federation."

Spanish Paleography Digital Teaching and Learning Tool
"...an online interactive resource to assist users in the learning of the deciphering and reading of manuscripts written in Spanish during the early modern period, roughly from the late 15th to the 18th century."

Cultural magazines of Latin America
"This collection contains retrodigitized cultural magazines from Argentina, Chile, Cuba, Ecuador, Peru and Puerto Rico dating back to the period between 1880 and 1930." Digitized by the Ibero-Amerikanisches Institut, Berlin.