Chemical Engineering
Patent and Trademark Resource Center
More information on searching for patents can be found in the Patent and Trademark Resource Center guide or by reaching out to the PTRC Librarian.
Science and Engineering Librarian
Brendan Kelly
he/him/his
Contact:
Lederle Graduate Research Center Lowrise A273
740 North Pleasant Street
Amherst, MA 01003
740 North Pleasant Street
Amherst, MA 01003
413-545-8270
Licensed Patent Databases
- CAS SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
FIRST-TIME USERS: Click Additional Information below to create an account to use SciFinder
Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases of chemistry and related scientific fields. Mid 1800's - present. Includes step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and more. - Derwent Innovations Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Patents in chemical, electrical, electronic and mechanical engineering -1963 to present. Coverage of 14 million basic inventions from 40 worldwide patent-issuing authorities. - InnovationQ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
On-campus resource only; limited to one user
InnovationQ is a tool to find patents, explore the patent landscape, and provide options for visual representation of patent data.
Open Patent Databases
- USPTO Patent Public SearchPatent Public Search is the online search interface for the US Patent and Trademark Office's three databases:
- US-PGPUB (pre-grant US patent applications from March 2001 to present)
- USPAT (US patents, searchable in full-text from 1970 to present, by classification and patent number to 1790)
- USOCR (OCR-scanned pre-1970 US patents) - EspacenetThe European Patent Office's free search tool provides access to over 140 million patent documents from around the world.
- Google PatentsGoogle Patents indexes patents and patent applications from 100+ patent offices, including full-text documents from the US, Canada, Europe, China, Japan, South Korea, WIPO, and more.
- PATENTSCOPEThe World Intellectual Property Organization's patent database includes published full-text International Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applications, patent documents from many national and regional patent offices, and non-patent literature.
