Chemical Engineering

Key Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Databases

CAS SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
FIRST-TIME USERS: Click Additional Information below to create an account to use SciFinder
Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases of chemistry and related scientific fields. Mid 1800's - present. Includes step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and more.
To use SciFinder, you must create an account using your UMass Amherst email address. Click here to create the account.

After initial account creation, available on campus or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Organic, organo-metallic, and inorganic chemistry data. Find structures, properties, synthesis possibilities, reactions and bioactivity data. Searchable by structure, substructure, reaction, text, and property data. Reaxys also searches NIH PubChem and eMolecules.
Must create an account with a UMass Amherst email address to first use the database. After initial account creation, available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Cambridge Structural Database WebCSD This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains crystal structure information, chemical, and bibliographic data for about 500,000 organic, metal-organic, and organometallic molecules.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Official Methods of Analysis of the AOAC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Standards for analytical chemists.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to engineering journal articles, conference papers, and web sites, 1884-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Finding Full Text

Citation databases do not always provide access to the full text of the articles they index. Try these steps to locate full text:

Look for links (HTML, PDF) or click to see full text options
Check that the Libraries subscribe to the journal by searching the Publication Finder for the journal title
Request an electronic copy of an article unavailable online through UMass via Interlibrary Loan

Multidisciplinary Article Databases

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines.Search by cited reference, topic, author, and more. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1900-present; and Science 1900-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an indexing and abstracting database of peer-reviewed scholarly content covering the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities, comparable to the Web of Science. Scopus allows for the discovery, tracking, and analysis of scholarship that includes: journal articles, conference proceedings, trade magazines, book series, books and book chapters, and patents.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database of citations to medical journal articles, with links to UMass-subscribed full text, 1946-present. PubMed includes all MEDLINE content, plus content from additional journals and books in the life sciences.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Open Access Preprints and Publications

ChemrXiv
ChemRxiv is a repository for unpublished preprints in chemistry, chemical engineering, and related fields. It is owned and managed by the American Chemical Society, Chinese Chemical Society, Chemical Society of Japan, German Chemical Society, and the Royal Society of Chemistry, making research available to the scientific community ahead of peer review and publication.
DOE PAGES
The Department of Energy Public Access Gateway for Energy and Science (DOE PAGES) provides free public access to Department of Energy-funded scholarly publications, 12 months after first publication.