Chinese 670/691A Research in Chinese Studies

Journals published in China

China/Asia On Demand (CAOD) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nearly all journals in China, with coverage across all regions of Asia, including articles, theses, dissertations, patents and conference proceedings.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
China Academic Journals 中国期刊全文数据库 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index of Chinese scholarly journals. UMass has a subscription to access the full text of articles in Section F, Humanities, beginning in 1994. Other articles may be requested through interlibrary loan. English and traditional Chinese interfaces are also available, please contact the library for links.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

National Social Sciences Database 国家哲学社会科学学术期刊数据库
Free database of government-funded Chinese social sciences journals. Coverage varies, but includes in all cases 2012+. You need to register as an individual (free) and then you can read/download these open access articles. There is much overlap with CAJ, but you should use both.
PubScholar (中国科学院)
Launched by the Chinese Academy of Sciences, PubScholar offers millions of academic papers, journal articles, dissertations, and patents.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts - LLBA This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the scholarly literature of linguistics and related fields from 1994 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to journal articles and other scholarly literature on literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics, folklore, and (since 1996) film, 1920s -
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters relating to Asia and Asian Studies, 1971-present
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Arts and humanities journal literature from 1975 to present. Searches by author, topic, cited reference and more.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

中文期刊篇目索引 Periodical Index search
Index to articles published in Taiwanese journals since 1990. This is not full-text. You will need to fill out interlibrary loan requests for articles you want to read.
more...less...
We have a print index covering 1960-1982. UM East Asian Reference ; AI19.C5 T3

東洋学文献類目 (Bibliography of Oriental Studies)
This index is done in Japan, but the articles come from journals published in Asian countries, including Japan. Language of the database is Chinese. Data is dated, so FYI.
CiNii
Index to scholarly articles published in Japan. Many citations include English titles and abstracts. Some articles are available for free (look for the tag IR or Open Access).

香港中文期刊論文索引
Remember to use traditional characters. Generally citations only, but a few full-text articles.
中文科技期刊數据庫
You can do searching here and then copy the journal title and paste into our library catalog or Worldcat to check for holdings information. Also includes many open access journals.