Chinese 670/691A Research in Chinese Studies
Start here:
- Historic newspapers published in China available Open Access onlineCollaborative effort to compile separate sources into one list.
Historical Newspapers - Chinese
- Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese NewspapersThis is an open access (no subscription) database sponsored by the Center For Research Libraries & maintained by Eastview The collection contains over 290 titles and over 450,000 pages of content during the period (1911-1949).
- Shen Bao Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The first newspaper in China with a Chinese editorial staff, 1872-1949. Established in 1872, Shen Bao (申報, historically transliterated as Shun Pao or Shen-pao) was the most influential and longest lasting commercial newspaper before the establishment of the People’s Republic. Published until 1949, Shen Bao was uniquely a newspaper for Chinese readers, written by Chinese reporters. During its existence, Shen Bao gradually shifted from a conservative to a more liberal perspective, and played a pivotal role in the formation of public opinion in the imperial period and into the tumultuous beginnings of modern China. - People's Daily (Ren Min Ri Bao) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Chinese newspaper of record, 1946-present.
Historical Newspapers - English language
- Historical Newspaper: New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of The New York Times, with coverage from 1851 to three years ago. - Access World Research Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of U.S. and global news sources, including printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. - Historical Newspaper: Boston Globe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Massachusetts' newspaper of record, 1872-1991. Additional content is added yearly.
Users must limit their search to "full text" on the left side of the screen to make sure they only get results that include the Full Text. Without the limiter, the "abstracts" will be indexed as well. - Historical Newspaper: Washington Post This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper of record of the U.S. capital, with coverage from 1877-2007. - Historical Newspaper: South China Morning Post This link opens in a new windowEnglish-language newspaper published in Hong Kong, with coverage from 1903 - 2001
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953)Includes the North China Herald (1850-1941), Chinese Repository (1832-1851), Chinese Recorder (1868-1938) and many more.
